The Tile Shop, Inc. Reviews | Glassdoor

The Tile Shop, Inc. Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 277 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Cabell Lolmaugh
9 Ratings
  1. "Very fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Different projects to do everyday

    Cons

    You have to get used to long hours

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2019-08-21
  2. "Great mobility, great benefits. Excellent compensation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Vienna, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company pays people well for success. Commission rates very good with nice benefits package. Sal is one of the best managers I've known.

    Cons

    There's a lot to learn, can be overwhelming at first but if you hang in there after two to three months success is all but guaranteed for motivated employees.

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2019-08-21
  3. "Great store, lack of direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design/Sales Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is close to my house.

    Cons

    No traffic in the store, high turnover because it must be the employee's fault. Last time I checked it's really hard to sell to no one.

    Advice to Management

    Regional sales manager is a bully, 3 store managers in 18 months each one worse than the last. Bullying from above is not an effective management strategy.

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2019-08-19
  4. "Good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design/Sales Consultant 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Chance to design, structured company

    Cons

    Might not have a structured schedule (like all retail)

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2019-08-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A fine company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    40 hour work week Low stress mostly

    Cons

    Physically demanding Sales staff aren't incentivized to make your job any easier No apparent path for advancement past warehouse manager

    Advice to Management

    Sales managers shouldn't be chosen by ability to sell, but by competency and ability to lead a team.

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2019-08-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "So much opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great way for beginning workers to develop their product, industry and sales knowledge. You have close to 100% control over your sales and your brand, so long as you make the customer happy and the deal is closed. Company is well-known to promote from within.

    Cons

    Fights over commission, drama with coworkers and few to trust if a store's culture is wrongly developed. Constant change with corporate policy and computer systems causes a lot of headache with day-to-day processes. At the end of the day, it is still retail work. Which means-- retail hours. Working weekends is absolutely mandatory to make your sales goals.

    Advice to Management

    Stop messing with CRM. Only release an update if it is test-proven to work. Lower product prices and improve inventory control. Bring back non-recoverable draw so the work environment is not so stressful for associates. Provide better computer and management training.

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2019-08-02
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good products, internal issues."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Independence, MO
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good products, high quality tiles and setting materials.

    Cons

    Internal ethics issues concerning sales staff and lack of communication from Home Office.

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2019-07-30
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Failing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing special or spectacular just regular work benefits that almost any employer offers nowadays.

    Cons

    I don’t believe anything positive being said here. But when I read all the negative reviews, I believe every single of them.

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2019-07-13
  9. "Rewarded For Performance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Life Changing Money if you are willing to earn it. Beautiful product and showrooms to sell out of.

    Cons

    No cons other than retail hours

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2019-07-09
  10. "Best job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun company that changes lives.

    Cons

    You have to be a winner to win here

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2019-05-31
Found 277 reviews