The Tile Shop, Inc. "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Tile Shop, Inc. Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 270 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Cabell Lolmaugh
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company has great benefits which was a huge element for my family(in 15 reviews)

  • "Tremendous opportunity for advancement, I jumped up from a sales associate to a manager in under 2 years, they truly rewards talent(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "cleaning, getting dirty, long hours(in 23 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is difficult but if you ask for what you need then management will accommodate you(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design/Sales Consultant in Round Rock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Freedom , great benefits .

    Cons

    Pay structure is based off profit not amount of sale.

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2018-12-03
  2. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design/Sales Consultant in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced industrial retail environment with great benefits and base salary. Profit share and commission.

    Cons

    It takes time to build a client list to make commission.

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2018-05-10
  3. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Great sales enviroment Great Benefits

    Cons

    No life work balance, because the long work hours and closing schedule. Low pay

    Advice to Management

    Your employees are the soul of your business, care about them by creating a work-family balance.

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2018-02-22
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great company and manager for personal growth and support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design/Sales Consultant in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As a middle aged woman with a back ground in retail apparel my experience was wonderful and I would recommend this position who wants to grow and expand their career skills. The manager at the store in Charlotte, NC was extremely supportive and sincerely cared about my growth and development. My observation was that management offers each and every employee the time, attention, and patience they need in order to be...

    Show More

    Cons

    My observation is that management is too conscientious and too tolerant of people who want to whine, complain, be deterring influences all in an effort to give each person a fair opportunity. My retail experience is that VERY few companies would go through the verbal counseling, write-ups, transferring an employee, all in an effort to rehabilitate a broken personality.

    Advice to Management

    Be quicker to discipline and rid your company of people who are negative and manipulative personalities. You can't elevate absolutely everyone and sometimes you have to cut ties when you recognize that you have a detrimental influence in the apple cart.

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2017-11-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great place, great people, great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Rare opportunity to find a company that you can make a terrific living, have great benefits, and work for a management team that wants to add value to your career. Design skills combined with sales ability can create a long lasting customer relationships, very fulfilling and rewarding career. Great health care plan, 401k and long term benefits.

    Cons

    Multi tasking to the max is a requirement. Negative Nellies will try to bring you down and hinder your success. You have to maintain the ability to rise above. Work life balance is difficult but if you ask for what you need then management will accommodate you.

    Advice to Management

    Reward those who put in the extra work and effort to be successful. This isn't little league everyone doesn't get a trophy for showing up.

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2017-11-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Used to have long hours, the company heard all the negative reviews and listened to its employees needs and changed this, now you get two days off, more vacations and more understanding from upper management about spending time at home and away from work. Great benefits, quite a bit above the standards with medical and 401K being top notch. Compensation is fair. Great work environment, with wonderful colleagues, always...

    Show More

    Cons

    There are no TRUE downsides to having this job and getting the pay that I want.

    Advice to Management

    On a corporate level the only thing that needs to improve is inventory. Store level everything is wonderful and would be hard to improve on.

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2017-03-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "AMAZING COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and pay IF you put in the work. If you want to have control over your income, this IS the place! You chose your path and corporate encourages a healthy work/life balance.

    Cons

    Yea you have to keep your showroom clean and lift a lot, but hey, no more gym fees!

    Advice to Management

    Keep improving and making THE TILE SHOP the Best in Class!

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2017-01-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great compensation, Great benefits, Growth opportunities, Promote from within, Very good training program, Support from corporate, The best Showrooms in the Industry, Huge product assortment, Warehouse help

    Cons

    Retail Hours which can mean weekends and some holidays

    Advice to Management

    More marketing would really benefit all stores.

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2016-11-14
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Uncaring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Design 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    -Employees and Manager are fun to work around -You literally design people's dream Kitchen/Bath/ Etc. -Great benefits

    Cons

    -Ghost promotions...New title, same pay -A lot of downtime (7am-10am, 6pm-9pm, plus a lot between those times) -Company refuses to advertise. Will only do it when sales staff is deep into subsidy and 60% of the store is about to get fired for lack of sales due to lack of customers. -Managers are just glorified sales people with no actual management experience. -No pay for cleaning a large showroom. You have these...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop making people sit in your stores that you refuse to advertise and not get paid. Institute either a base, or hourly pay. Reduction of commission rates would help in this. ADVERTISE. The biggest issue that I have seen in your stores are the people WANT TO WORK but do not have customers coming in the door. I have had people tell me that they never knew we existed until they saw the sign from another store across the...

    Show More
    The Tile Shop, Inc.2016-06-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sales/design consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits (especially for families), great environment, great pay.

    Cons

    It's mostly based off of commission, if you don't hit your goal then your pretty much out of luck.

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2016-01-10
Found 270 reviews