The Tile Shop, Inc. "opportunity for advancement" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Tile Shop, Inc. Employee Reviews about "opportunity for advancement"

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 270 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Cabell Lolmaugh
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company has great benefits which was a huge element for my family(in 15 reviews)

  • "Tremendous opportunity for advancement, I jumped up from a sales associate to a manager in under 2 years, they truly rewards talent(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "cleaning, getting dirty, long hours(in 23 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is difficult but if you ask for what you need then management will accommodate you(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "opportunity for advancement"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "The Stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity for advancement Incentives for reaching quotas Managers are flexible

    Cons

    It is a subsidy type pay plan , you don’t have to pay it back but they will fire you once you reach a certain amount. Long hours and you work ever weekend including a early Saturday meeting.

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2018-04-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Used to have long hours, the company heard all the negative reviews and listened to its employees needs and changed this, now you get two days off, more vacations and more understanding from upper management about spending time at home and away from work. Great benefits, quite a bit above the standards with medical and 401K being top notch. Compensation is fair. Great work environment, with wonderful colleagues, always...

    Show More

    Cons

    There are no TRUE downsides to having this job and getting the pay that I want.

    Advice to Management

    On a corporate level the only thing that needs to improve is inventory. Store level everything is wonderful and would be hard to improve on.

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2017-03-20
  3. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company is a great place that creates advancement opportunities. It provides good benefits and the ability to make your own paycheck. Definitely a career.

    Cons

    Lack of home life but it is improving drastically.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do. Things are improving constantly

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2017-02-12
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Do not pass go. Do not collect $200 Run!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Tile Shop, Inc.

    Pros

    If you have a creative artsy side, you do get to satisfy that by designing. The Tile Shop offers great health insurance benefits as well as retirement and 401K. There is opportunity for advancement if you can hold on long enough to get to a point of promotion. Their products are beautifully made and of high quality and they offer good customer incentives.

    Cons

    I went into this position with high hopes, promises of BIG paychecks, growth opportunity, etc.… Basically, this place will suck the life right out of you. First things first, the pay structure is sketchy at best. You are promised huge paychecks and commission for your sales. The percentage is decent but what they don’t make clear or fail to tell you at all is that if you don’t keep an open “bank” of at minimum $13,000-...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would prefer to give advice to corporate. From my experience management in this area is a joke. How they manage anything is a mystery to me. Management has zero accountability. That aside, I would first propose changing your pay structure to one that will not run off good decent employees. For example, offer a legitimate base pay or salary plus commission like most of your competitors. How can you expect to keep good...

    Show More
    The Tile Shop, Inc.2016-11-20
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can build your own contractor/client base. Plenty of advancement opportunities. Have freedom to sell in your own way if you do well.

    Cons

    100%commission. Competitive nature and proliferation of stores leads to losing commissions on projects you have done all the work on. Back-orders on tile makes it harder to close deals.

    Advice to Management

    There is little to no concern for employee comforts. Many stores have a small or no breakroom. Should focus more on talent, would make customer care seem less hollow.

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2016-07-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Too Much Non-Sales Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design/Sales Consultant in Langhorne, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees were great Opportunity for advancement Receive some sales training Full benefits, 401k etc

    Cons

    Commission based yet you have to keep entire store clean, which included scrubbing vignettes and public restrooms Tile delivery unreliable, broken and late shipments Location was horrible; barely any foot traffic. Main competitor (Avalon Flooring) was directly across the street next to a Staples. TIle Shop was next to a Sleepy's. Divided highway and weird intersections made it so people had to drive past competitor...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give employees incentive to stay. Market in the area

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2016-07-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc.

    Pros

    Amazing Benefits! 401K, Vacation, Health, Dental, Vision, Legal Services, Employee Assistance Programs, Company paid Life insurance, and much more... Make as much money as you want! There is no cap to what you can earn! Company takes care of its people very well, and advancement opportunities are everywhere!

    Cons

    Advertising needs to beef up a bit. Finally starting into radio and mailers, but some billboards and commercials on bigger channels would go a long way. Most of the upper management is outstanding! However there is always one who doesn't treat people the way they should be treated and/or give them what they need to be successful.

    Advice to Management

    Keep tabs on the District/Regional managers. Not all of them are as "Store Friendly" as they seem.

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2016-05-18
  8. "Senior Design Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Design Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is not a typical sales job, it allows for creativity and working with people to achieve their design goals. It's a great fit for anyone interested in design or home improvement and is an excellent way to get started in the industry. You can build relationships with contractors and your good customer service, attention to detail, follow up, and hard work drives repeat business and the potential for big sales. It's...

    Show More

    Cons

    Just like other retail jobs, the only con is the long weekend hours but that only allows for more sales and making more money.

    Advice to Management

    I've worked in several stores and with multiple managers and see a common work ethic of dedication, ownership, and hard work.

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2016-05-11
  9. "My experience at The Tile Shop has been life changing. I have no college degree and I am earning a six figure income."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Manager in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Employee focused, excellent earnings potential, great benefits, growing company, advancement opportunities. Great leadership. Excellent product selection. Industry leader. Great benefits and paid time off.

    Cons

    The only cons I have are being open on Memorial Day, 4th of July and Labor Day. I would like us to be closed those days.

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2015-11-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work and establish a rewarding career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Tile Shop, Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Detailed training program focusing on design, sales, and customer service Customer-focused team environment Commission allows you to control how much money you make; unlimited earning potential Great management and support staff Advancement opportunities at all levels

    Cons

    Retail hours can make it tough to maintain a good work-life balance Sales can have a stressful environment at times More likely to be promoted if you are more available to relocate

    Advice to Management

    Continue to offer the support and training necessary to succeed Managers should focus more on development of staff and less on individual sales Add stock options to sales associates' compensation packages

    The Tile Shop, Inc.2015-03-26
Found 270 reviews