The Treehouse Internet Group Reviews | Glassdoor

The Treehouse Internet Group Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
The Treehouse Internet Group CEO and Founder Larry Janesky
Larry Janesky
0 Rating
  1. "Fun, Positive Place to Develop a Career - Great Support and Team Spirit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Account Manager in Seymour, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Treehouse Internet Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Arrived new to the country and with some time out of the digital marketing industry, but the company have such a welcoming and nurturing environment, that I picked it up quickly and got stuck in. Days were busy and full, but not stressful. They offer extensive training. Really knowledgeable colleagues. Give you plenty of time and support to succeed. Offer excellent social activities, have a flexible working hours arrangement and based in a nice, scenic area. Awesome convention held each year - superb education and smashing food! Management is approachable and actually gives a sh#t about the employees (even the junior minions!). Fun, Positive Place to Develop a career at: Great Support and Team Spirit.

    Show More

    Cons

    Company is growing rapidly (client portfolio), of which is outpacing the employee base, so the work can be a bit much. This is small and will be dealt with once more team members join I feel.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing with training, social activities and employee development.

    The Treehouse Internet Group2017-10-18
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Treehouse Internet Group full-time

    Pros

    Hires recent graduates, average starting pay

    Cons

    Cultish company culture, boring work, high turnover rate, CEO is an old out of touch self centered libertarian trash human being

    The Treehouse Internet Group2018-06-18
  3. Helpful (13)

    "Company with Potential to be Top Workplace in Connecticut Ultimately Hamstrung by Poor Management & Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Treehouse Internet Group full-time

    Pros

    Pros: Let me start off by saying that even though this is going to be a scathing and brutally honest review, there are without a doubt some positives that make the Treehouse a great place to work (and provide it with the foundation to potentially be great). The People While no job is without its conflicts, tensions, and outliers, there is no question that the majority of the people that comprise the Treehouse Internet Group are an absolute pleasure to work with. I have made friendships and ties here that go way beyond the workplace and I am certain they will last for years to come. The people are genuine, friendly, and willing to provide you with guidance the moment you walk through the door (that will unfortunately be lacking from other sources). Your coworkers take a genuine interest in who you are and are actually fun to talk to and socialize with. The chemistry that I encountered while working in multiple teams over my tenure was truly unique, and I know will be incredibly difficult to replicate throughout other places of work in my career. The Laid Back Work Culture/Environment The Treehouse hosts one of the most laid back cultures that I have ever encountered in my career (sometimes to a fault - will be addressed in the cons section). You are allotted 3 flex hours a week and are allowed to make them up at your convenience. The bosses are not breathing down your neck to make sure you arrive to work on time or are desperately meeting deadlines (which leads to incredibly low levels of stress). The dress is also incredibly casual (jeans, sweatshirt, and sneakers are all acceptable). It's these aspects that really work in the Treehouse's favor, setting it in stark contrast with the typical corporate environment. Personal Growth If you are particularly interested in a career in client services or digital marketing, the Treehouse is a great place to absorb large amounts of knowledge in a short period of time. Individuals who are driven by personal growth can find themselves exposed to a wide variety of digital channels if they are bold enough to take the initiative. Coworkers are more than willing to cross train on skills and practices that they are well versed in, and the Treehouse's large client pool allows you to be exposed to certain projects, operations, and procedures that are carried out on a massive scale without inherent performance expectations or job risk.

    Show More

    Cons

    While there are many positives that make the Treehouse Internet Group a great place a work, these are vastly outweighed by the inherent organizational and leadership problems that plague Basement Systems Inc. as a whole. These issues bring any potential positivity towards this company to a screeching halt. Lack of Market Rate Pay/Competitive Benefits If you are hoping that your contributions and value as an employee will lead to increased compensation, then you are in for nothing but disappointment. The Treehouse has no structure when it comes to raises outside of their flippant harping for "the yearly review structure." 90% of the time this will include a moderate 2-3% raise, even though they will most likely already be paying you 35-40% below the market rate for your salary in the area. The company will attempt to nickel and dime you over the course of your career until you ultimately force their hand by exploring another job opportunity, upon which the coffers will suddenly open magically. There is no tangible reward for hard work or production of results outside of a select few, and the overall perception among the workforce is that you can only receive meaningful compensation increases when you quit. The benefits are also nonexistent. While the Treehouse Internet Group is around 50-70 individuals, it is a subsidiary of Basement Systems Inc. which boasts over 300 employees. The fact that a company of this size does not offer any meaningful medical benefits or 401k match is astonishing (especially considering The Treehouse Internet Group alone brings in over $20 million in revenue and Basement Systems Inc. as a whole brings $100-$200 million). Even though the company prides itself on being a relaxed digital agency, they refuse to let you work from home unless there is a severe weather event that renders travel impossible. The security on site is also severely lacking - pure strangers have wandered through the campus and into buildings before, all of which signifies a complete lack of respect for the safety and well-being of the employees. Rapidly Shrinking Workforce/Increased Demand on Employees Due to the reasons that I have cited above, it is natural to expect that people would begin to exit the company as their skills, experience, and understanding grew. A number of seasoned employees leaving the organization in the past fiscal year has left the company totally hamstrung. This results in current employees being totally overwhelmed not only by the sheer volume of work, but the poor organization and delegation that comes along with it. The more tenured employees find their plates totally full trying to just maintain the status quo while new employees will find it difficult to grow into their roles as rarely anyone is available to give them the attention and coaching that they need. Inept Leadership and Organization at the Highest Level Which leads me to my final and arguably most important criticism - management. To say that management from the top down is totally lost in how to lead this company and move it forward is a total understatement. To start, employees and management at the Treehouse level are ultimately at the mercy and whims of those who sit at the C-suite in Basement Systems corporate. Despite having absolutely no understanding of digital marketing whatsoever, these three individuals will constantly insert their own judgment and beliefs into Treehouse affairs and overrule anything if it means bringing even the smallest appeasement to other Basement Systems dealers. Many of the principles that govern Connecticut Basement Systems also govern the Treehouse, which leads to a regressive environment for a digital agency in this day and age. When it boils down to it, this area of the corporation amounts to nothing more than a boys club that's existed since the beginning of the company. The CEO/Owner, while an incredibly successful and accomplished individual, is quite possibly one of the most self-centered, out of touch individuals that you will probably ever come in contact with. While it's hard to say whether the fault lies with him or the fact that he's surrounded by “yes men” who lack the spine to tell him otherwise, he has proven time and time again that he is more interested in speaking truths rather than acting on them and living them out. His only goal at this juncture is to build his brand as a revolutionary entrepreneur, and he could not be more out of touch with how people within the organization feel about him and the company as a whole. The level of idolization that takes place throughout certain areas of the organization in regards to his work/story also approaches cult-like levels at times. When it comes to management at the Treehouse itself, the state of affairs are quite bleak as well. A lot of the leadership that currently resides there has been grandfathered in since the early days of the company. Poor organization and direction has led to multiple organizational restructurings to try and make ends meet, only to have the same results time and time again. Management will often take action without fully communicating to their employees about what is happening for weeks, sometimes months. Decisions that impact the company in a massive way are made in seconds, while decisions that should take no more than a few seconds end up taking days or weeks. Half of the time you'll be left wondering what exactly it is that some of them do, and there is a huge lack of respect for the people that waste their time brainstorming to fix problems that could be easily resolved by paying people what they're worth and offering decent benefits. All in all it leads you to a totally jaded state that no matter how much promise is offered, you know for sure that it is going to end in disappointment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As the title of this review states, the Treehouse Internet Group has potential to be one of the most sought after destinations to work in the state if it was managed properly. This company is in dire need of seasoned individuals who are empowered and trusted by the C-suite at Basement Systems to take action and drive the company back on course. When all is said and done, the clients (Basement Systems dealers) and people at the top of Basement Systems Inc. drive the direction of the Treehouse, rather than the Treehouse itself. Someone needs to stand up to the CEO and actually be open and honest about situations and realities throughout this company. And above all else, this company needs to learn to pay people what they are worth - otherwise the talent will continue to exit.

    Show More
    The Treehouse Internet Group2018-03-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good company for a starting job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Assistant in Seymour, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Treehouse Internet Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Treehouse itself is a fun work environment that encourages you to have relationships with your co-workers. Ability to flex your schedule during the week is nice. No one really micromanages you during your day.

    Cons

    There is not a lot of room for upward mobility. Pretty good job to start at but will usually need to look elsewhere in order to advance your career and paycheck

    The Treehouse Internet Group2017-12-10
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Great Place to Start, Not to Stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Treehouse Internet Group full-time

    Pros

    They'll take a chance on you if you're smart and they like you, which is great for people beginning their career. Once you're in the door you have the opportunity to try a lot of different aspects of marketing, which is a great way to develop skills and build your resume. The atmosphere is relaxed and open, and there's no formal hierarchy or a million managers to report to. It's easy for different teams to work together on projects. They do things to keep it fun like bring in breakfast or have drinks on Friday afternoons.

    Show More

    Cons

    While it's a cool place to be, once you're there you realize how few opportunities there are. There are no promotion opportunities at all, they just occasionally move people laterally and call it a promotion even though everyone knows it's not. The two managers are good guys, but they don't really care about you unless you're an account manager, and they repeatedly ignore employees opinions even though management barely works with most of the teams. The difference in treatment between the AMs and everyone else is extremely frustrating. The pay is well below industry average and the benefits are awful. There's no HR department, so good luck figuring out health insurance or a 401k. The CEO Larry Jenesky has no idea what anyone in the Treehouse does other than account managers and places no value on their contributions, which is common among upper management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to and work with employees other than account managers to start. You have a great team, but you repeatedly ignore them and make them feel unappreciated. Pay people what they deserve, develop some opportunities for people to get promoted and forward their career, and get an HR department. This has the potential to be a great place, but not until management actually cares about all their employees.

    The Treehouse Internet Group2016-05-04
  6. Helpful (7)

    "No Communication."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Designer in Seymour, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Treehouse Internet Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The CEO is a seemingly great and genuine guy with plenty to teach and plenty to learn from. The office space is cool but it's not really incredible. Just odd. Some nice fellow employees and the mood tends to be good. I did learn more about SEO and web marketing.

    Cons

    The atmosphere seems at the surface level laid back, but if you actually expect anything of the sort you will be swiftly knocked down a peg. Bosses play favorites and I found myself in trouble for being 6-8 minutes consistently late while others did the same with no punishment. Some employees get special treatment. My boss told me I made mistakes but refused to show me the mistakes and help me learn how to correct them so I could improve for the future. I felt constantly singled out and scolded for things others also did. They told me I worked too slowly but never gave me more work to prove them wrong. They let everyone use YouTube or spotify or whatever they want yet worried about MY performance using them. And worst of all I was let go months after not hearing another word about what I had been in trouble for while it was apparently still a problem. Absolutely god awful communication or they just wanted to get rid of me. There are no employee guide books or solid rules so you will find yourself in trouble for dumb things that everyone else does and that you weren't told about. Too much anal bugling between team leads and managers

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with your staff. Meet with your employees. Tackle problems head on and help people overcome their mistakes and challenges. Don't meet with them months later and let them go when they are assuming everything is fine.

    The Treehouse Internet Group2016-04-19
  7. "treehouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Treehouse Internet Group full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work. Happy to get up and go every morning. friendly atmosphere. Not your average corporate work place. I am able to share my ideas and views and they are welcomed!

    Cons

    No cons, no complaints, very satisfied

    Advice to Management

    Keep advancing and trying new things!

    The Treehouse Internet Group2016-04-05
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Good place to start as long as you leave early"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SEO in Seymour, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Treehouse Internet Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The workplace is cool looking, as is the cafeteria. It's a good place to learn the basics of Internet marketing.

    Cons

    There's no path to advancement. You have zero input on how to advance your career or learn new skills. Management plays favorites and heaps all praise only on account managers. Everyone else and their ideas get ignored. The annual convention reflects this attitude. Account managers get to actually do useful things while everyone else has to waste time attending useless classes. I'd recommend working here a year at most. Most people are very underpaid. The CEO, Larry Janesky, is a cool guy but the worship of him gets borderline creepy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get a HR department and establish clear policies on stuff like PTO and working from home. Acknowledge other people besides account managers.

    The Treehouse Internet Group2016-02-20
  9. "Cool workspace, great coworkers, fun team activities, flexibility to try and learn new things."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Treehouse Internet Group full-time

    Pros

    The TreeHouse is a fast -paced, and exciting working environment . People who can work independently, are willing to champion ideas and take ownership of projects are more likely to thrive. It is a fast-growing company, and as such, they've been through some growing pains. Personally I like the flexibility you have to try and work on different things, and pursue different work experiences. I had the opportunity to add many different sets of skills to my work experience and I feel that I have room for much more. It is also a family-friendly workplace, where people understand the challenges of trying to balance work and family life.

    Show More

    Cons

    The lack of a rigid hierarchy, and the fact that everyone cooperates at the same level whether they've been in the company for many years or just started, can make some people feel that there is no growth opportunity.

    Advice to Management

    Work on creating an environment where everyone in the team can feel valued and envision a growth path for themselves.

    The Treehouse Internet Group2015-08-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seymour, CT
    Recommends

    I have been working at The Treehouse Internet Group full-time

    Pros

    In response to some of the reviews, this place does not get enough credit. Coming from my past jobs, I feel spoiled here. They actually took a chance on hiring me, with no background in the field whatsoever. I personally feel like management cares a lot about keeping the employees happy with little perks here and there. It is a growing company, therefore management is very busy more of the time. I’m very excited to see where this company goes.

    Show More

    Cons

    The hiring process is a bit lengthy and unorganized, but will probably be cleared up once we hire more people

    The Treehouse Internet Group2015-07-27
Found 17 reviews