The UPS Store Assistant Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

The UPS Store Assistant Manager Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
The UPS Store CEO Tim Davis
Tim Davis
10 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Place to work..... With the right franchiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Cumming, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The UPS Store part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Franchise allows for family atmosphere and close-knit work groups.

    Cons

    You can get into a mess with the wrong store owner.

    Advice to Management

    none

    The UPS Store2018-04-11
  2. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Spring, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The UPS Store full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours were very flexible and reasonable

    Cons

    Management could use better training on people skills

    The UPS Store2018-11-20
  3. "great part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Newtown Square, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours, small staff, good for relationship building

    Cons

    slow during certain seasons, no room for growth

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    The UPS Store2018-04-25
  4. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Toledo, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The UPS Store for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with the public.

    Cons

    Low pay. No chance to grow.

    The UPS Store2017-11-13
  5. "Easy and fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The job is easy work, the customer relationships are the greatest. Typically a 9to5 with a Saturday every now and then. Holidays off.

    Cons

    It is independently owned, so if the owner doesn't know much then it will be difficult to do your job without being micro managed. As a manager I'm salary based so I'm expected to work over time without pay.

    Advice to Management

    Happy employees means happy customers, and in turn more money being spent at your location. Take care of your employees.

    The UPS Store2017-09-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Don't be fooled your not working for UPS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store for more than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed my schedule and my co-workers.

    Cons

    Very low pay and lots to learn, way more then you would expect. At my location we do, mailboxes, shipping, printing service, notary services, faxing, making of business cards, packing, USPS services, package drop offs, processing of ATT & Comcast equipment returns and more. Your trained to do so much yet get paid so little.

    Advice to Management

    Let UPS buy you out and have it be run like a FedEx Office store. Employees there are FedEx employees tried and true.

    The UPS Store2017-08-22
  7. "Fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    learned customer service skills customs declarations computer use office duties

    Cons

    no benefits no growth opportunities not enough hours

    Advice to Management

    i do not have any advice for the management

    The UPS Store2017-07-11
  8. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager/Bookkeeper/Personal Assistant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The UPS Store for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed going to work, my employees were great, small group to work with.

    Cons

    long hours, no medical and little room for advancement

    The UPS Store2017-05-19
  9. "Great Part-Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Hours, Simple Work, Decent Pay

    Cons

    Customer Service, Retail, Lots of Down Time

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on employee training and development

    The UPS Store2017-05-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience with wonderful owner, manager and coworkers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Flower Mound, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great customer service experience, wonderful staff. Teaches an array of different services and teaches you to balance priorities for simultaneous customers.

    Cons

    Rare negative customer interactions. Limited advancement opportunity due to franchise. Pay is limited also due to franchise, you will have to move on for advancement.

    The UPS Store2017-03-17
Found 36 reviews