The UPS Store Customer Service Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

The UPS Store Customer Service Associate Reviews

Updated Mar 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
The UPS Store CEO Tim Davis
Tim Davis
9 Ratings
  1. "Customer Service Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Dickson City, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The UPS Store part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Co-Workers, easy, fun, laid back, good job

      Cons

      Sometimes boring but not that bad

      The UPS Store2018-10-29
    • "Processing packages and people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Associate 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The UPS Store part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Fast paced, on your feet all day, lots of customer interaction

      Cons

      Short-staffed most of the time with lines of frustrated customers backing up

      Advice to Management

      Schedule appropriate staff at the busiest times of day and week

      The UPS Store2019-03-30
    • "Fun place to work and grow"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Katy, TX
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The UPS Store full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Gained experience performing many different tasks. Fun work environment. Owner and management laid back, yet respected by workers.

      Cons

      No health or life insurance benefits.

      The UPS Store2019-02-09
    • "Customer Service Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Matthews, NC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at The UPS Store part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      flexible, fast-paced, fair, good pay, interesting

      Cons

      small staff, hard work, rude customers, detailed, don't agree with the company culture

      The UPS Store2018-10-22
    • "Really varies by the amount of store traffic."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Las Vegas, NV
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at The UPS Store for less than a year

      Pros

      Most customers, the regulars, are cool and not fussy. Decent life balance, but not if you have to report six days a week. The owner will deal with UPS, as they are franchises, but UPS seems to be poorly run, treats franchise owners like dirt ... and your owner is likely to take that out on you.

      Cons

      Pay is low, and the amount of upward mobility tends to be zero.

      Advice to Management

      Stop treating franchise owners like absolute dirt.

      The UPS Store2018-07-08
    • "Great Position"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Boulder, CO
      Recommends

      I have been working at The UPS Store part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great Manager's Support, flexible schedules, nice atmosphere

      Cons

      Some periods of work are extremely busy

      The UPS Store2018-04-30
    • Helpful (2)

      "Customer Service Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Associate & Cashier in York, ME
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The UPS Store part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Each day was different, things people ship are interesting. The store I worked at the Owners were very flexible, and they expected flexibility from associates. I learned a lot working for them, and not just about the business, but how to treat employees. They were good to me, and everyone who worked there with me.

      Cons

      Customers could be difficult, but that's the nature of working in retail. Owner and Manager would take over if a customer got to be too difficult (I guess that's a Pro though)..

      The UPS Store2018-01-29
    • Helpful (3)

      "It's Hard to Write a Review for The UPS Store"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Sacramento, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The UPS Store part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Each store is independently owned, so you might get a really good manager

      Cons

      Each store is independently owned, so you might get a really bad manager; clientele, overall, is pushy, impatient, and demanding (not unlike the clientele for most other customer service jobs); POS, MBM, CMS and all the other software you have to use on a daily basis is difficult to navigate, and tech support is terrible; quarterly corporate visits are a waste of the store's time and money (representatives are rude and...

      Show More
      The UPS Store2018-01-16
    • "Just one thing..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Fort Benning, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The UPS Store full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      *Well, I like my coworkers alright and the customers are good where I work. *Offers some challenges. (You got to figure out what will work and sometimes you have to make something work) *When you get a hang of it, it's not that hard. *My job feels pretty safe and stable as far as jobs go.

      Cons

      *Each store is different (may or may not be a con) *There is a lot to learn. *Likely no benefits (the stores are franchises, so there may be an owner that will give benefits). *There isn't really any way to make a career out of it, unless you get lucky and become a manager some where or if you buy a store.

      Advice to Management

      My management at the store that I work at is pretty good.

      The UPS Store2017-10-29
    • Helpful (1)

      "Not the best job, but not the worst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Jacksonville, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The UPS Store part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      It's always neat to see the different odd/unusual items customers bring in to pack and ship. It's a pretty relaxed place to work, not usually stressful, and having easy going coworkers makes it better. Customer interaction is simple and the job is straightforward and mindless.

      Cons

      Poor store owners can really break the job. I don't feel that myself or any of my coworkers are paid nearly enough for the work we do. Store owners tend to not want to hire full time employees because they don't want to pay for the benefits they would have to pay.

      Advice to Management

      Pay your employees more fairly. Don't take advantage of the work they do and the time they decide to this job.

      The UPS Store2017-05-19
    Found 30 reviews