The UPS Store Graphic Designer Reviews | Glassdoor

The UPS Store Graphic Designer Reviews

Updated Apr 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
The UPS Store CEO Tim Davis
Tim Davis
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to gain experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice way to build a portfolio Great for designers breaking into the industry flexible with scheduling as long as you let management know ahead of time

    Cons

    Just because you're a graphic designer, doesn't mean you don't still have to tend to all the other responsibilities in the store. you will be tending to customers and running the register when not doing graphic work.

    The UPS Store2019-04-26
  2. "I enjoy my time working here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Graphic Designer in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Casual management Great for college

    Cons

    Management style varies SIGNIFICANTLY from store to store

    The UPS Store2018-06-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Depends on the Franchisee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Eglin AFB, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The UPS Store part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was fun Lots of responsibility depending on the store

    Cons

    I had a really incompetent Franchisee

    Advice to Management

    To my Franchisee, please stop telling your employees something then go back on it.

    The UPS Store2017-10-04
  4. "It's all about how much money you can get out of everyone that walks in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Springfield, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The UPS Store full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some nice people, got to help people, was able to use my skills.

    Cons

    Unreasonable treatment of employees, Lack of production tools required for the position.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to better understand your employees, investigate issues with employees that are not directly connected to issues. Keep promises to improve work environment.

    The UPS Store2017-07-20
  5. "Shameful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in San Luis Obispo, CA

    I worked at The UPS Store part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The hourly wage was pretty decent.

    Cons

    Tell you one thing and do the opposite.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with your employees. Trust works both ways.

    The UPS Store2017-07-12
  6. "Not Great for Graphic Designers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Mooresville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The UPS Store full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - I got to meet a lot of interesting people; famous race car drivers, NFL players, musicians, actors, etc..

    Cons

    - Low pay -No advancement -No benefits -No set breaks -No paid vacation -No paid days off; not even federal holidays. You are just out and have short paychecks. -Managment too lax on making employees to be there on time. Me and one other person would open in the morning. I was always about 20min early while the other one was always 20-40min late. The person always overslept. We would have irate...

    Show More
    The UPS Store2016-09-21
  7. "UPS Store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Graphic Designer/Store Associate in Greensboro, NC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The UPS Store for more than a year

      Pros

      Descent pay and enjoy the different challenges each day brings.

      Cons

      Job can get hectic and getting time off is hard as there are only a couple people on payroll.

      The UPS Store2016-08-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Ended up doing graphic design for the store I worked at. A lot of fun!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Washington Township, MI
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The UPS Store part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I got to work doing graphic design and I always loved seeing customers happy about my designs. You get to learn everything that you'd learn in an office setting and more. You learn a lot of different things that the ups store offers which would good to another employer.

      Cons

      UPS cares little about the franchise owners. Every store is a franchise so management may vary from store to store. If you don't make your services known to customers they'll never come there. Not many people look at the ups store as a printing business.

      The UPS Store2014-10-11
    • "good experience in ups"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Orlando, FL
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The UPS Store full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      very nice and clean environment

      Cons

      big challenge is for over seas customer have different language !

      The UPS Store2014-08-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "A friendly and excellent place to work."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Graphic Designer/Customer Service Representative in Lenexa, KS
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The UPS Store part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      All of the employees and the owner are very friendly. They encourage you to gain further education. Their customer service is outstanding.

      Cons

      Sometimes it is very busy and very fast pace. I enjoy that but some may not.

      Advice to Management

      I think the management has a good system because they hire and train quality employees.

      The UPS Store2014-07-09
    Found 14 reviews