The UPS Store Store Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Store Associate

The UPS Store Store Associate Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The UPS Store CEO Tim Davis
Tim Davis
4 Ratings
  1. "Part Time Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Associate 

    I have been working at The UPS Store part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great clerk experience Great experience for customer service

    Cons

    Busy during holidays Knowing how to use multiple machines

    The UPS Store2019-06-21
  2. "Good part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Store Associate 

      I worked at The UPS Store part-time

      Pros

      Reasonable working conditions and good management

      Cons

      Long hours on your feet

      The UPS Store2019-06-03
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great, Friendly Work Environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Store Associate 

      I worked at The UPS Store part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      -Flexible hours, especially for college students -Friendly staff -Adequate training

      Cons

      -Understaffed at times, especially during winter busy season

      The UPS Store2019-03-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "Poor management/work environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Store Associate in Phoenix, AZ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at The UPS Store part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Always variety in every work day

      Cons

      Lack of follow through from manager

      Advice to Management

      Don't make promises you can't keep, follow through on what you said you would do, train your people correctly the first time

      The UPS Store2018-09-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good hours, but low pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Associate in Petaluma, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The UPS Store part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The store owners and the manager are kind people. The hours of operation for most stores offer a normal daytime schedule with Sundays off.

      Cons

      Low pay and limited advancement. It's crazy during Christmas time.

      Advice to Management

      Please pay employees more. There are many other retail jobs that don't require as much knowledge and have higher pay.

      The UPS Store2018-06-24
    • "Slow work environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Store Associate in North Richland Hills, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at The UPS Store part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - A slow work environment can be good or bad depending on your outlook. A pro is that it gives you time to adequately service and connect with customers and learn how to use the POS. - UPS Stores are independently owned so they make up their own rules for certain things. The one I worked out gave out bonuses for various things such as a sale or renewal of a PO box. - There isn't a lot to learn, so after probably...

      Show More

      Cons

      - Slow work environment means you spend a lot of time sitting around. You better learn to like your coworkers. - The POS is easy, but there are a lot of options you HAVE to read out to customers about how they could mail a package.

      The UPS Store2018-06-04
    • "Not A Bad Gig, Unless You Work For Stores in Southside Richmond, VA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Center Store Associate in Richmond, VA
      Recommends

      I worked at The UPS Store part-time

      Pros

      Job is fairly simple/easy, peak is challenging but not as overwhelming as they make it seem. You can become a notary and make an extra $100-$400/mo. Good if you're in school. Get to meet some awesome customers, and get to know cool mailbox customers.

      Cons

      No really position to move up, unless you become a manager...but it really just ends there. Depending on the owner, can be overused. Southside RVA stores, mostly owned by the same people. Micro-manage, takes things too personal, is dramatic/manipulative/impulsive. With the right owners and good management, it's not a bad job at all. Audits can also be really intense, depending on the auditor...they can be super picky.

      The UPS Store2018-02-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "AWFUL"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Store Associate in Lees Summit, MO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at The UPS Store part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Flexible hours. Which could also be seen as a con because there was no schedule they just told me to show up when I could.

      Cons

      -No training -I was told to "mess around with the register until I figured it out" -Condescending managers -I am a male and I found the way the male managers spoke to the female workers horribly condescending. -Unhelpful managers -Asking a question integral to helping a customer would yield no response. -Unprofessional managers -Spoke poorly about customers with other customers

      Advice to Management

      "Go mess around with the register" is not how you train someone

      The UPS Store2017-10-16
    Found 22 reviews