The UPS Store Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Store Manager

The UPS Store Store Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
The UPS Store CEO Tim Davis
Tim Davis
15 Ratings
  1. "Best left unsaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The UPS Store full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customers are interesting and fun to deal with

    Cons

    Owner can be a bit single minded at time

    Advice to Management

    Same as any other Management job

    The UPS Store2015-01-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity to get a lot of helpful information if you plan on becoming a franchise owner or even a UPS employee.

    Cons

    If think you can make a career out of being a store manager then think again. Once you reach a certain point in your franchise owners company the next option is to be a owner yourself and that is very difficult.

    The UPS Store2014-11-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Fair experience with low pay is a very kind way to describe my employment with this franchised company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The UPS Store full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The store was in a hotel so the atmosphere and professionalism were great. I was included and treated as a department manager and that was great.

    Cons

    The owner made me feel like a pee-on, gave me the leeway to operate in a way that works best for me, then scream at me for doing so. The owner promised bonus' and raises based on sales but reniged and then fired me when I addressed my concerns.

    Advice to Management

    Corporate should mandate something formal in regards to mangers sales bonus.

    The UPS Store2014-10-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "If you can multi task this is the job for you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I like the interaction I get with all my Customers, The hours are great for me Banker hours and no weekends, Plus I do make OK money. My schedule can be very flexible if need be. My Owner is OK about that. I do receive 5 sick day and 7 paid holiday's if they land on my work days, I also negotiated for 1 week paid vacation instead of a raise one year. Plus I only have to work with 1 or 2 other people which takes...

    Show More

    Cons

    There is just to much stuff that the Company wants you to learn and do. Also because the Stores are Franchises theres no real peaks, no medical, dental, and the least amount of employees as possible, to keep down overhead. for 10 yrs it was the owner and I, now both of my shoulders and wrist are messed up from all the repetitive work of sorting and distributing of boxholder mail, now there are more employees so I don't...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Show loyalty, Because when you give loyalty your employees will work harder for you. Show appreciation for the hard work employees give you, because we really do work hard, tell them when they're doing a good job. And alway show respect to employees and their feelings, even if you don't understand. Because in the end your employees are the backbone of your income. Nowadays Owners and upper management forget that little...

    Show More
    The UPS Store2014-08-28
  5. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Morrisville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    time to yourself Customers working with few people owners

    Cons

    working with few people owners sometimes

    The UPS Store2014-08-13
  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for! Learn a lot about logistics and running a small business. Also learn how to interact with people.

    Cons

    It can get stressful at times, especially when there is a rush. Software might be hard to learn at first, but it does get better.

    The UPS Store2014-08-06
  7. "Depends on the owner and district"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The UPS Store full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I was lucky enough to have exceptional owners to work for. They weren't able to pay what they wanted but I always felt appreciated. No working crack-of-dawn mornings, late nights or Sundays. We were also lucky to have good owners around us who helped out w/questions and a terrific district manager.

    Cons

    So, so, so much to learn. After 5 years, including 3 years as store manager, there were still situations that I had to solve and had never seen before.

    Advice to Management

    The royalty rate is astronomically high which makes profits harder to make. The stores are typically too close to one another and they aren't always in the right areas. Not a lot of room for advancement unless you become a store owner. No benefits. Such is the life in franchises.

    The UPS Store2014-04-03
  8. "Always something different an incredible work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Ponca City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The UPS Stores are each privately owned and operated. The small "family like" environment makes for a great place to work with flexibility for many occasions. The Christmas "Peak" Season is fast paced and nothing short of exciting.

    Cons

    Time off for more than a day or two at a time can be very difficult to come by. The staffing of at the locations is often 4-6 people and those individuals are needed on a consistent basis. Being that these are small franchised stores there is not much room for advancement.

    The UPS Store2014-03-21
  9. "Up sell and Cross sell store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Safe environment and working hours are good

    Cons

    No benefits as independently owned

    Advice to Management

    Offer some Sales Commission

    The UPS Store2014-02-16
  10. "Franchise Business - Your Mileage May Vary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store full-time

    Pros

    Doing something different every day, great interactions with regular customers and fun problem solving. The business model is a good one.

    Cons

    Independently owned stores mean that some (like mine) are run poorly or the owners are a bit crazy and unprofessional. Be careful to interview your boss just as much as they interview you.

    Advice to Management

    Far more frequent checks of older stores. Our store follows practically NONE of the franchise rules.

    The UPS Store2013-10-17
Found 54 reviews