The UPS Store "customer service" Reviews | Glassdoor

The UPS Store Employee Reviews about "customer service"

Updated Jul 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 851 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
The UPS Store CEO Tim Davis
Tim Davis
193 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "no benefits on the ups store front(in 87 reviews)

  • "not much to move up and low pay(in 51 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "customer service"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Part Time Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Associate 

    I have been working at The UPS Store part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great clerk experience Great experience for customer service

    Cons

    Busy during holidays Knowing how to use multiple machines

    The UPS Store2019-06-21
  2. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Grosse Pointe, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    laid back atmosphere and good customer service experience. lenient around scheduling beside peak.

    Cons

    Gets very busy around peak season

    The UPS Store2019-06-21
  3. "Great Way to Gain Experience in Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Columbia, SC

    I have been working at The UPS Store full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You will learn customer service, sales, and print knowledge

    Cons

    Retail Hours, dealing with rude customers

    The UPS Store2019-05-07
  4. "Owner/operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The UPS Store

    Pros

    Own your business, customer service, problem solving, customer rapport, maintaining loyalty, repeat business, some flexibility, honestly, the list goes on

    Cons

    Micromanagement and decreased margins could be frustrating at times but you do what you can and make the most of it.

    Advice to Management

    It’s an area based franchise, so it’s difficult to say because not all are the same

    The UPS Store2018-12-31
  5. "College job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The UPS Store part-time

    Pros

    Learned a lot about logistics, retail, customer service etc.

    Cons

    Felt very underpaid for the amount of training I went through and how much business I did for the store.

    The UPS Store2018-12-20
  6. "Family businesses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Store Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The UPS Store part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Gain experience in customer service and work closely with owners

    Cons

    Low pay and no benefits

    The UPS Store2018-10-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Started out great, gradually declined. Each is individually owned though. Some owners are helpful and kind."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The UPS Store full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -Room for advancement, over some time of being there, of course: I worked at the same store and for the same owner for about 8 years, and went from lowest person in the store (Sales Associate) to the Store Manager. -Enough work to keep us pretty busy and steady -I had a lot of regular customers that I got to know, they were really sweet -Pay was alright for not having a college degree or anything

    Cons

    -My particular store owner seemed a little on the bi-polar side; “You guys really need to step up and focus on sales, and numbers are terrible...” etc. and literally the next day “you guys are so great, so lucky to have you working for me...” okay, which is it? -I saw my store owner 2, MAYBE 3 times per year, didn’t offer much help or support. - No benefits or PTO for vacations or sick days. -Would not get paid for...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t throw your employees under the bus to customers and other managers, especially when the customer was in the wrong. You lost some really good employees because of that. Just take better care of your employees in general.

    The UPS Store2018-09-16
  8. "Used to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lakewood, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The UPS Store part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy work. Common sense.

    Cons

    Rapidly going downhill. High turnover. Management hires friends instead of more qualified people. Customer service isn’t what it used to be.

    Advice to Management

    Wake up!

    The UPS Store2018-05-20
  9. "Easy job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The UPS Store part-time

    Pros

    Easy customer service work. Usually something to do.

    Cons

    Christmas is a little hectic, can be boring

    The UPS Store2018-02-05
  10. Helpful (3)

    "It's Hard to Write a Review for The UPS Store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Each store is independently owned, so you might get a really good manager

    Cons

    Each store is independently owned, so you might get a really bad manager; clientele, overall, is pushy, impatient, and demanding (not unlike the clientele for most other customer service jobs); POS, MBM, CMS and all the other software you have to use on a daily basis is difficult to navigate, and tech support is terrible; quarterly corporate visits are a waste of the store's...

    Show More
    The UPS Store2018-01-16
Found 851 reviews