The UPS Store "no benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

The UPS Store Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 867 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
The UPS Store CEO Tim Davis
Tim Davis
198 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Started out great, gradually declined. Each is individually owned though. Some owners are helpful and kind."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The UPS Store full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -Room for advancement, over some time of being there, of course: I worked at the same store and for the same owner for about 8 years, and went from lowest person in the store (Sales Associate) to the Store Manager. -Enough work to keep us pretty busy and steady -I had a lot of regular customers that I got to know, they were really sweet -Pay was alright for not having a college degree or anything

    Cons

    -My particular store owner seemed a little on the bi-polar side; “You guys really need to step up and focus on sales, and numbers are terrible...” etc. and literally the next day “you guys are so great, so lucky to have you working for me...” okay, which is it? -I saw my store owner 2, MAYBE 3 times per year, didn’t offer much help or support. - No benefits or PTO for vacations or sick days. -Would not get paid for...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t throw your employees under the bus to customers and other managers, especially when the customer was in the wrong. You lost some really good employees because of that. Just take better care of your employees in general.

    The UPS Store2018-09-16
  2. "No Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store full-time

    Pros

    Quiet steady work friendly staff nice manager great atmosphere

    Cons

    No advancement opportunity No benefits No time off low pay outrageous demands of time vs home life

    Advice to Management

    Provide benefits to the employees who run your business for you.

    The UPS Store2018-09-05
  3. "Varies from store to store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    As each store is individually owned and operated, every single store can and will be different. I’ve been in the network for over 10 years and I have heard it all. Most stores will be run pretty well. If the store owner is there every day, it’ll probably be a good location with someone who genuinely cares running it (as it is their own livelihood at stake!) Half the stores now are ran by people who own multiple locations...

    Show More

    Cons

    There are often no benefits AT ALL, any time UPS corporate gets involved it will be a miserable situation, there are a million small tasks you’ll have to remember how to do (corporate retail solutions), and the technology is outdated and not user friendly.

    Advice to Management

    *** UPS Corporate*** If you’re reading this, butt out and stop making owners’ lives miserable. Buy the franchise and make it your own or let it be.

    The UPS Store2018-08-29
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Ckerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The UPS Store full-time

    Pros

    Alot of hours. Get your notar and live scan cert.

    Cons

    Franchise. No benefits. The owners dont pay overtime even if its law. Alottt of work for low pay. Steer clear

    The UPS Store2018-09-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job. Good if you like people. Some franchise owners are nice.

    Cons

    Extremely low pay. Quite likely full time. UPS itself, is really badly managed. Their reps get commission in Nevada on sales of franchises, therefore, they have an incentive to make franchise owners miserable and drive them out of business. When they take it out on your boss, your boss will be mad and take it out on employees. Most jobs will have no benefits. You are on your own.

    Advice to Management

    Advice to UPS proper. Since you're a circus anyway, and a total clown show, get it together and at least get rights to Cirque De Soleil so you can be slightly cool.

    The UPS Store2018-03-12
  6. "It depends on your tolerance level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The UPS Store part-time

    Pros

    Flexible working schedule, working with the public

    Cons

    Low pay, no benefits, working with the public

    The UPS Store2018-03-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible Franchise Owner and Heavy workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Foreign Language Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Team, Great Atmosphere, Great Air conditioning :D

    Cons

    Heavy workload for what you're paid, No advancement, and no benefits at all. in addition I had a terrible franchise owner with no adept communication or people skills. In addition, she was very nice, but her attitude was very disrespectful at times. Once she asked was I color blind, after I misread a schedule...even after she was told in my interview, I had a retina surgery...that moment actually made me leave.

    Advice to Management

    I can't advise anything, all I can say is this don't sell yourself short, the ups stores should not be ran by franchise owners in my opinion.

    The UPS Store2018-03-10
  8. "Good job for High School Graduates who are able to work full time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The UPS Store full-time

    Pros

    Customer interaction, fast paced envrioment

    Cons

    No benefits, No real career ladder

    The UPS Store2018-01-26
  9. "Print Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Print Specialist in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The UPS Store full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great customers. Always interesting.

    Cons

    Working for an individually owned/operated franchise limits benefits. No health insurance. 401K available in my particular store, but with such a low hourly rate, there's not a lot left over to invest. Not a whole lot of room to move up in a store that has 2-3 employees.

    The UPS Store2018-01-31
  10. "customer service associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The UPS Store full-time

    Pros

    nice hours and flexible hours

    Cons

    very poor management and no consistency among pricing. no benefits

    The UPS Store2018-01-18
Found 867 reviews