The UPS Store "no benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

The UPS Store Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 880 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
The UPS Store CEO Tim Davis
Tim Davis
202 Ratings
  1. "Good job in a small business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The UPS Store full-time

    Pros

    Boss was nice and helpful, most of the regular customers are very nice and friendly.

    Cons

    No benefits, the pay isn't very good, each store is franchised which means you aren't actually an employee of UPS

    The UPS Store2017-06-02
  2. "Great job with flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at The UPS Store full-time

    Pros

    *Able to work around another job or other commitments *There's always something to do *Depending on management it's usually a really laid back atmosphere

    Cons

    *The pay is usually not the best *Not much grow opportunities *No benefits (depending on management, but most times no benefits)

    Advice to Management

    It all varies on location, I've worked for The UPS Store franchise for over 4 years and have worked at several different stores. How management runs their store will be the determining factor on a great experience or not.

    The UPS Store2017-04-12
  3. "Good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The UPS Store part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Great college part time job.

    Cons

    No room for growth/moving up in the company. No benefits

    The UPS Store2017-03-27
  4. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The UPS Store

    Pros

    Franchise owned store, locally owned small business, my specific store was not open holidays/sundays. Our store had a staff of 4 people.

    Cons

    Ceiling to where you may go in company, no benefits, bad training ethic (franchisee did not train new employees), bad attitude

    Advice to Management

    Implement required training and secret shoppers

    The UPS Store2017-03-26
  5. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store full-time

    Pros

    Great hours , safe work enviroment

    Cons

    Low pay and no benefits

    The UPS Store2017-03-27
  6. "Not too bad depending on the owner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The UPS Store full-time

    Pros

    Got paid by the hour and not salaried

    Cons

    No benefits, No sick days, these perks are at the discretion of the owner

    Advice to Management

    work these things into your budgets

    The UPS Store2017-03-21
  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY

    I have been working at The UPS Store part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Environment, team, location, ownership is great, great customers.

    Cons

    small store, no benefits, no expansion.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing

    The UPS Store2017-02-17
  8. "Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Team Leader in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The UPS Store full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The job itself is great. It is constantly changing and evolving. You are able to communicate with many different people with very different needs.

    Cons

    No benefits. No raises. No time off. No one accepts responsibility for errors. Often feel as though I have to gouge the customer. No paid overtime.

    Advice to Management

    Give employees motivation to stay and work for you

    The UPS Store2017-01-22
  9. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The UPS Store part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is a wonderful connection that you build with members of the surrounding community. Oftentimes, you come to befriend many customers. The work can be very rewarding.

    Cons

    No benefits. None. Pay is not very high.

    Advice to Management

    Let managers be mangers- do not micromanage or make associates feel as if a side has to be chosen ( manager vs. owner). Let the managers know what is going on- they are there to help the business grow and to ensure world class customer service is always provided.

    The UPS Store2017-01-07
  10. "Avoid working here, if you can."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Center Associate in Washington, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The UPS Store part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Coworkers were great - Flexible schedule

    Cons

    - Bad management. Micromanaging and a good amount of judgment of employees went on here if the manager didn't feel you were doing something exactly as she thought. Always felt like I was being watched and judged. - Low pay, no benefits - Annoying tasks like having to pack peoples' boxes/packages for them - Inconsistencies with charges of services, depending on the service

    Advice to Management

    Chill out!

    The UPS Store2017-01-21
Found 880 reviews