The University of Kansas Health System Reviews

Updated May 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
84%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
The University of Kansas Health System President and Chief Executive Officer Bob Page (no image)
Bob Page
137 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay with great bonus shifts, many career growth opportunities, great benefits(in 30 reviews)

  • "Good benefits with opportunity to grow if you are under the right management team(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes the upper management seems a little detached from what some of the challenges may be for those on the floor, housekeeping, etc(in 8 reviews)

  • "Point system, compensation for added job duties(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A great place to work at"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Patient Account Representative in Kansas City, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The University of Kansas Health System full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked under a great Supervisor

    Cons

    The benefits could have been better

    The University of Kansas Health System2020-04-11
  2. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The University of Kansas Health System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, benefits and team based environment

    Cons

    Parking, had to walk very far and pay for parking. Leadership was a bit all over the place, lots of changes and lack of clear communication for how fast it was growing.

    The University of Kansas Health System2020-05-04
  3. "Great Company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN in Kansas City, KS
    Recommends

    I have been working at The University of Kansas Health System full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers and support from floor management. Easy to build positive relationships with numerous individuals in various roles. Everyone has done a great job during the pandemic to help ALL employees to the best of there ability - huge kudos to all the management and those involved in making this happen. Interesting cases and a great way to build your knowledge base as this hospital gets a wide- array of cases.

    Cons

    Sometimes the upper management seems a little detached from what some of the challenges may be for those on the floor, housekeeping, etc. This does account for occasional changes and policies that poorly effect those on the front lines. I do not believe it is done maliciously though - it is a business and I am sure there are a lot of things going into it that we are not privy too.

    The University of Kansas Health System2020-04-29
  4. "Great company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The University of Kansas Health System part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great staff to patient ratio at my particular location leads to greater customer service and reviews as well as greater employee satisfaction. Both staff and customers seem happier than at most hospitals that I've either visited or worked for. Patients definitely appreciate the more in depth care that the staff are able to give.

    Cons

    Where I work, there is not as many staff as a whole, so if someone can't come in to work it is harder to get a replacement and then it can become pretty busy.

    Continue reading
    The University of Kansas Health System2020-04-12
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Recommends

    I have been working at The University of Kansas Health System full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay with great bonus shifts, many career growth opportunities, great benefits

    Cons

    Some management is poor and that will not change unfortunately, points system when sick or not being able to work

    The University of Kansas Health System2020-04-11
  6. "Good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Youth Care Specialist in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The University of Kansas Health System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You’ll get good experience here

    Cons

    There is a lot of inconsistency with management

    The University of Kansas Health System2020-04-09
  7. "Patient Service Representatives"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Service Representative in Mission, KS
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The University of Kansas Health System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company itself is great to work for. Good benefits with opportunity to grow if you are under the right management team. The people I worked with was great.

    Cons

    I hate to right bad reviews but the truth must be told about this dept I was under. I was in the Call Center as a Patient Service Rep. This unit was a bad experience. Training was really no training, they micro-managed your day to day schedule. Supervisors and management was not really helpful. They try to hold you back from moving to other depts within KU. They just have a don't care attitude and the calls are non-stop. Good luck if you decide to apply for this role.

    Continue reading
    The University of Kansas Health System2020-03-15
  8. "Wonderful culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Medical Assistant in Kansas City, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The University of Kansas Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the culture of KU's health system! Compensation is wonderful.

    Cons

    The shuttle service from parking to campus adds about 30 minutes to my commute.

    The University of Kansas Health System2020-02-27
  9. "ER RN"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Emergency Department RN in Kansas City, KS

    I worked at The University of Kansas Health System full-time

    Pros

    Really good team work and education.

    Cons

    It is a really hectic, busy ER.

    The University of Kansas Health System2020-02-27
  10. "Excellent Organization"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Asset Management Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The University of Kansas Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health Benefits and Pay were excellent.

    Cons

    Seems to be hard to be terminated. As a result there are some bed apples working there.

    Continue reading
    The University of Kansas Health System2020-02-21
Found 258 reviews