The Village Family services Reviews | Glassdoor

The Village Family services Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
28%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Village Family services CEO Hugo Villa
Hugo Villa
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Unicorn Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at The Village Family services full-time

    Pros

    Good work, great benefits, helpful co-workers and general positive environment. Employees are cared about by management. My experience has been very professional yet approachable; it is a fun environment but it is what you make of it. I see it as a gem of a company where the CEO and COO continue to make time to get to know employees, despite the company's fast growth.

    Cons

    However, it is still a nonprofit and "resources are limited" is an accurate statement.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    The Village Family services2015-11-19
  2. "Mental Health Rehab Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Village Family services full-time

    Pros

    Great teaming effort, always felt supported by other co-workers and supervisors. Program models reduce workload. Friendly management.

    Cons

    Space is not conducive to work, sharing offices.

    The Village Family services2018-12-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Therapist in North Hollywood, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Village Family services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Too many supervisors but no supervision .

    Cons

    Very unethical and unprofessional. Very poor management.

    Advice to Management

    Before hiring please make sure you have the right staff to train the new hire first.

    The Village Family services2018-06-23
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Unprofessional Supervisors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Worker in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Village Family services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co workers rock! Flexible work schedule.

    Cons

    Unprofessional Supervisors and directors that play favorites, supervisors yell at you when upset, long hours of work 50-60 hours, no opportunity for additional job training/ growth, not enough office space to accommodate all employees and documentation always being lost my administration.

    Advice to Management

    Train and choose your supervisors better, compensate employees for the extra hours worked, and obtain more office space / equipment.

    The Village Family services2018-01-04
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Don’t be deceived."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The Village Family services

    Pros

    Pretty good pay. I worked temp so I won’t be able to tell you about benefits

    Cons

    Lack of communication. My manager was extremely hard to get along with and I felt that there were no other higher ups that I could confide in, very immature atmosphere and passive aggressive behavior.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t just promote people based off of college experience alone. Check and see if they have the personality and attitude to be a great leader of whatever department they are in.

    The Village Family services2017-12-29
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Choose wisely before signing your employment contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Various in North Hollywood, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Village Family services full-time

    Pros

    Good health benefits, supportive of school goals supportive of the families they service. If you need experience it's a great place to start but not meant to stay long term.

    Cons

    Promoted not based on work ethic or performance rather on alliances with higher management. Unrealistic expectations, bill service, bill service, bill service. They don't support professional growth and limit where you can transfer to. Don't expect a yearly raise or bonus. It's just like high school gossip & clicks.

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent and treat all ur employees as equals.

    The Village Family services2016-11-30
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Training Coordinator in North Hollywood, CA

      I worked at The Village Family services full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great work they do for the community

      Cons

      Being that it is a Non-Profit, resources are limited

      Advice to Management

      N/A

      The Village Family services2015-07-20
    • Helpful (2)

      "Phone Screener"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at The Village Family services full-time

      Pros

      Great Benefits and some employees are pretty nice.

      Cons

      A lot of gossip, immature people, not much of a professional place.

      The Village Family services2015-04-16
    Found 8 reviews