The Village for Families & Children Reviews | Glassdoor

The Village for Families & Children Reviews

Updated 4 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
The Village for Families & Children CEO Galo Rodriguez
Galo Rodriguez
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very rewarding work with a difficult population(in 5 reviews)

  • "They serve a population that in many instances is beyond help(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Wild free for all circus where clients are allowed to do whatever they want(in 6 reviews)

  • "Never seen so much high turnover in my life(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Dream job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Village for Families & Children part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Creative team Dedicated and passionate staff Understanding and supportive management

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    The Village for Families & Children2019-05-02
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CDS in Bloomfield, CT

    I worked at The Village for Families & Children full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Children are very troubled but intelligent.

    Cons

    Lack structure at the agency

    Advice to Management

    The structure are lacking at company

    The Village for Families & Children2019-06-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Unsupportive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Village for Families & Children full-time

    Pros

    Rewarding work with population. Employees are awesome. Competitive salary.

    Cons

    Poor management and hr, some high up employees are bullies. Company claims to put client's needs first, but this is second to company needs. Management has no idea how to encourage and motivate their employees-- they engage in a fear-based tactic and write ups creating a toxic setting to work in. There is a lot of pressure in the workplace--is not conducive if you like to grow as a therapist. Two supervisors I can...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop focusing on criticizing your employees; this contributes to a fear-based culture that is toxic for any work setting, especially a mental health setting?! If employees are kept happy, your company will be happy. Also, agency trainings are basically nonexistent and not helpful. Fix that. Hire more supportive supervisors and encourage a switch for unfit pairings.

    The Village for Families & Children2019-05-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic Swamp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Village for Families & Children part-time

    Pros

    Nothing at all which is positive comes to my mind.

    Cons

    Zero room for advancement. Culture of favoritism and advancement decided solely on your ability to schmooze. Qualifications and talent are out the window. Random positions created left and right. No valid business purpose or function for these actually supporting the organization’s goals. Also bullying and harassment depending if your personality type falls outside the junior high school ‘in crowd’ organizational culture....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    What's the point really? Nothing will change if I do put any advice. You people claim you care about your employees. However the actions and behaviors you exhibit suggest otherwise.

    The Village for Families & Children2019-03-30
  5. "CDS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Village for Families & Children part-time

    Pros

    Close group of coworkers Rewarding work

    Cons

    Low pay and lots of work

    Advice to Management

    Consider the direct care workers opinions

    The Village for Families & Children2018-11-17
  6. Helpful (2)

    "It is a good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Village for Families & Children part-time

    Pros

    Staff is very supportive Training is informative and relevant outside of work

    Cons

    Low pay It can be difficult to manage children, but they grow on you and you learn to love them

    The Village for Families & Children2018-09-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "CFS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Village for Families & Children

    Pros

    Some of the people are very nice!

    Cons

    It’s a revolving door with employees

    The Village for Families & Children2018-10-10
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Clinician in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Village for Families & Children full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Room to grow within the company, so many programs to help our clients, great coworkers, tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    Can be exhausting work that requires good self care...but rewarding!

    Advice to Management

    Keep asking for feedback 👍🏼

    The Village for Families & Children2018-08-13
  9. Helpful (4)

    "worst employer on Earth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Village for Families & Children full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    absolutely nothing - everything was awful here

    Cons

    too many to list: encouraged unethical practices, narcissistic and conceited management, incompetent HR, retaliation for advocating for employee's rights, no focus on employee safety

    Advice to Management

    just quit already - you would be doing everyone a huge favor

    The Village for Families & Children2018-09-21
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Mental Health Clinician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Clinician 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Village for Families & Children full-time

    Pros

    - Great sense of team work within the programs - Ample opportunities for training and workshops to stay current and continue to grow - Opportunities to move up within the agency - Average benefit package for a non-profit - Very rewarding work

    Cons

    - Low pay for the type of work; especially in comparison to other similar agencies in the state - Work load is very demanding and often requires much more than the 40 hours a week I am paid for. Late nights are often to ensure things get done. - Upper management has no idea what it's like to be on the front lines.

    The Village for Families & Children2018-04-28
Found 68 reviews