The Vitamin Shoppe Reviews

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
The Vitamin Shoppe CEO Sharon Leite
Sharon Leite
137 Ratings
Pros
  • "Helping people with their health and wellness(in 54 reviews)

  • "You learn a lot from working here and as long as you have a team that you can trust then things run very smoothly(in 46 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lack of communication from upper management(in 80 reviews)

  • "And turnover where I have been is very high, 3 store managers and 2 district managers within the last year(in 53 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of The Vitamin Shoppe and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      I Love VS! Great place to work!

      Feb 26, 2021 - Health Enthusiast in Arlington Heights, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My fellow employees are awesome, supportive, and I enjoy coming to work!

      Cons

      No cons. I love this company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place to grow

      Mar 15, 2021 - Sales Associate/Key Holder 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing culture, love to work here.

      Cons

      None. I love working here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Solid Job with room for growth

      May 11, 2021 - Sales Lead in Fort Collins, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They hire from within, so if you want to grow your career the Vitamin Shoppe is a great place.

      Cons

      The pay isn't terrible for retail but yearly raises could be better.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Helping People but not Yourself

      Apr 20, 2021 - Store Manager in Virginia Beach, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learn a ton about Health and Wellness Great customer interactions Lots of free samples Reasonable Retail Hours compared to some other companies Great health care cost reductions of you use their screenings

      Cons

      Corporate as it gets Delusional Upper Mgmt Pretend to actual care about their employees but fall short on action No hazard pay for covid On your feet alllll day You will be mopping and doing merchandising that PT should do Pay is mediocre and bonuses are long shots most months New owners are extremely SJW If you get a bad DM your life will be stressful Never enough payroll hours for your team If you have a life crisis don't expect any sympathy but they have some support channels.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      My experience

      May 5, 2021 - Health Enthusiast in Chesapeake, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work with a wide range of supplements and you get to learn more about others that you may not have heard of before.

      Cons

      Customer service based work. That being said there are a wide variety of customers, some of which you'll have an unpleasant experience with. Those make for very memorable stories, so possible pro.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company, great leadership team, great culture

      May 2, 2021 - Human Resources Assistant Manager in Chester, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -female CEO & Lots of women in c-suite positions -leadership team is great -company really looks out for non exempt population

      Cons

      -401K has no guaranteed match

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      work-life balance

      Apr 29, 2021 - Key Holder in Newport, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had a great manager who was very supportive of my second job/school schedule. Benefits available at 30 hours.

      Cons

      The store was a bit slow but we had a great crew

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Assistant manager

      May 3, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best company I ever worked for.

      Cons

      Nothing to complain about honestly.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fun

      Apr 21, 2021 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team work I plays a major role

      Cons

      Non it’s a solid place

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company solid job

      Apr 13, 2021 - Sales Lead in North Haven, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discount clean work environment decent pay

      Cons

      None to note except not being able to focus on sales because of other tedious mindless tasks

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,204 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Vitamin Shoppe Job Seekers

    Store Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at The Vitamin Shoppe? Share Your Experiences

    or