The Vitamin Shoppe Reviews

Updated May 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
46%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
The Vitamin Shoppe CEO Sharon Leite
Sharon Leite
75 Ratings
Pros
  • "Health, good employee discount, helping people achieve their health goals(in 53 reviews)

  • "Good Employee discount and free samples from time to time(in 41 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management is checked out(in 76 reviews)

  • "No room to move up, hiring of store managers changed to outside candidates over internal associates looking to advance thier careers(in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Room for growth"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Vitamin Shoppe part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work, room for growth

    Cons

    Pay is not the best when you first start out

    The Vitamin Shoppe2020-02-09
  2. "Like the job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Enthusiast 
    Recommends

    I have been working at The Vitamin Shoppe part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, coworkers, learning along the way, convenient location

    Cons

    hours cut, nothing else really

    The Vitamin Shoppe2019-12-21
  3. "Okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Holder 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Vitamin Shoppe part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are always great at any store, the product we deal with is really cool, and the customer base is generally pleasant.

    Cons

    Upper management does not listen to store level.

    The Vitamin Shoppe2020-05-23
  4. "Typical retail setting"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager in Ithaca, NY

    I have been working at The Vitamin Shoppe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Emphasis on training and development (depends on your DM) Management experience

    Cons

    Micromanaging from Upper level management Retail store

    The Vitamin Shoppe2020-05-10
  5. "Great school gig"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholder in Eatontown, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The Vitamin Shoppe full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work is easy. The staff is usually friendly. Numerous tools to learn from. A lot of free products to take home.

    Cons

    Normal retail non-sense. Hours can fluctuate. Work-load is always determined by the store manager so best to get on their side.

    Continue reading
    The Vitamin Shoppe2020-05-05
  6. "Every District Manager Different"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Vitamin Shoppe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training. Discount. Customers. Friendships. Helpline.

    Cons

    My district had disturbed DM.

    Continue reading
    The Vitamin Shoppe2020-05-05
  7. "Work with GREAT, committed, smart people at The Vitamin Shoppe"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Secaucus, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Vitamin Shoppe full-time

    Pros

    Everyone there loves and believes in the company!

    Cons

    Tough economy is impacting sales

    The Vitamin Shoppe2020-05-05
  8. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Vitamin Shoppe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They live and breathe Brand, which has put them ahead in a very competitive market. The corporate culture was pretty cool.

    Cons

    There was bad management at some levels, but that is at most companies.

    The Vitamin Shoppe2020-04-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Micro managed and out of touch"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Keyholder 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Vitamin Shoppe part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exposure to sales, face to face customer service, easy track to managerial experience

    Cons

    Underpaid, no yearly pay increase, no 401k match, micro managed to every last detail, complete lack of self awareness displayed in every communication from corporate,

    The Vitamin Shoppe2020-05-03
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Don't bother"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholder in Niles, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Vitamin Shoppe part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Makes you want to commit suicide

    Cons

    Literally everything aside from the pros

    Continue reading
    The Vitamin Shoppe2020-04-24
Found 1013 reviews