The Vitamin Shoppe Reviews | Glassdoor

The Vitamin Shoppe Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 915 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
The Vitamin Shoppe CEO Sharon Leite
Sharon Leite
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "Terrific culture based on Health and Wellness, mutual respect and appreciation(in 34 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours and you learn a lot(in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work life balance, poor upper management(in 65 reviews)

  • "Store managers work crazy hours to negate ridiculous payroll budgets, unrealistic sales goals(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Friendly Work Environment & Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Information Coordinator in Secaucus, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Vitamin Shoppe full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    2 weeks in to my new role and couldn't be happier. My colleagues are extremely welcoming and super helpful.

    Cons

    None that I can think of at the moment.

    The Vitamin Shoppe2019-02-11
  2. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Vitamin Shoppe part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It pays more than min wage

    Cons

    You do not make commission

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    The Vitamin Shoppe2018-12-26
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle Management in Secaucus, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Vitamin Shoppe full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is OK 40 percent off private label

    Cons

    Overall lack of direction in the business. Trying to do everything but doing nothing well. Constant turmoil, turnover and turf battles at upper levels. Nasty culture of fear emanating from a few arrogant and over-empowered executives. Financial targets pulled from thin air, eliminating chance of bonus in 2019. Absurdly broad non compete agreements sprung on middle managers to keep them from jumping ship.

    Advice to Management

    Replace key leaders who are creating a toxic culture every day. Stop changing direction every 3 months. Decide on a business strategy and empower your talented teams to carry it out.

    The Vitamin Shoppe2019-04-15
  4. "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Vitamin Shoppe full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great customers, great store team, some flexibility in scheduling

    Cons

    constant change in executive leadership which causes constant operational changes that don't always make sense. low payroll, low pay for amount of work

    Advice to Management

    stop the identity crisis that we have been in for the past 5+ years. involve tenured store managers when making decisions that impact us at the store level. Send executives to work a day in the life of a SM for a month or two in order to streamline processes.

    The Vitamin Shoppe2019-04-12
  5. "Good Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Vitamin Shoppe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good training. Nice people. Discount. Free supplements.

    Cons

    Hard to move up in company.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within more often.

    The Vitamin Shoppe2019-04-09
  6. "It was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in McAllen, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Vitamin Shoppe full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Discount, eye candy. Meet new people

    Cons

    No work life balance, poor upper management.

    The Vitamin Shoppe2019-03-23
  7. "Cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health Enthusiast 

    I worked at The Vitamin Shoppe part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The best part is building a relationship with customers.

    Cons

    Decent pay, few hours, over worked and under paid

    The Vitamin Shoppe2019-04-05
  8. "GREAT!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Vitamin Shoppe part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and dedicated company

    Cons

    Need to be flexible with your schedule

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    The Vitamin Shoppe2019-03-20
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Holder/Shift Supervisor in Lawrence, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Vitamin Shoppe full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great people awesome hours and awesome customers

    Cons

    Nothing really...... everything about the job was pretty cool

    The Vitamin Shoppe2019-03-19
  10. "Great company and I really enjoyed working there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Vitamin Shoppe

    Pros

    Culture was great. Really enjoyed PEC

    Cons

    Often short staffed. Needed more hours.

    The Vitamin Shoppe2019-03-11
Found 915 reviews