KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

The Washington Post

Engaged Employer

The Washington Post

Add a Review

The Washington Post Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Aug 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 535 reviews

4.3
91%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
The Washington Post CEO and Publisher Frederick J. Ryan Jr.
Frederick J. Ryan Jr.
242 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of The Washington Post and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee

    My experience before the .com moved downtown with the paper was great, full of opportunities.

    Apr 14, 2012 -  in Arlington, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best part of working for the Post was at wpni before it folded with the paper. WPNI was a great place to work and offered a lot of opportunities. At WPNI you felt like you made a difference and had a say.

    Cons

    The biggest con working at the post was upper management. The communications and leadership was extremely poor. Once Don Graham stepped down things have seemed to go down hill.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    The Washington Post Response

    The Washington Post Team

    Thank you for the review and feedback. We have a commitment toward growth and making The Washington Post a great place to work for all. Thanks for your feedback about management. This year, we started The Leadership Project, a series of ongoing development opportunities for all leaders across The Post. We’d love to hear more specifics about your feedback. Feel free to e-mail us: life@washpost.com. Thank you for allowing The Washington Post to be part of your career journey!

  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Thinking of working at The Washington Post in advertising?

    Feb 21, 2010 - Account Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Large company. Competitive base salary, decent benefits. Office location in the middle of NW DC. Instant name recognition with the local area and nationwide.

    Cons

    No one makes any money outside of their base salary, outrageous quotas, unrealistic activity metrics, upper management oblivious to competitions prices and puts no money into new products or improvements. No prospecting allowed (yes, even for a sales position) instead you are provided a list of existing clients that you are to treat as prospects. Upper management lacks any kind of actually selling experience but relies on an outside sales trainer that has no idea of what the actual conditions are for the account managers. In turn, wasting hundreds of thousands of dollars on training with no return on investment.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful

    The Washington Post Response

    The Washington Post Team

    Thank you for your review and feedback. We have a commitment toward growth and making The Washington Post a great place to work for all. We’d love to hear more specifics if you are finding these issues still today. Feel free to e-mail us: life@washpost.com. Thank you!

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    GREAT CARING COMPANY!

    Nov 17, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very caring and understanding during these times during the pandemic. Promotes a healthy work and life balance. Upper management is always will to offer training and help to become successful in your position

    Cons

    Pay and benefits could be better!

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    The Washington Post Response

    The Washington Post Team

    These are indeed unprecedented times especially as we continue to work from home since March. A team meets daily to make sure we're supporting the team during the pandemic. We're glad you see and feel that. Thanks for being part of The Washington Post team!

  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not for PoC or Women

    Apr 3, 2019 - Developer in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Looks good on your resume

    Cons

    This place has an issue retaining people of color and women that they acknowledge but don’t do anything about. Specifically in engineering the senior management and C Suite have created an environment where if you vocalize issues with process (there are tons) you are outcast and pushed out of the company. It is very much an old boys club and unless you’re a white man there is no chance of you rising to any management or upper management position. Of all the teams there, there are maybe 3 good teams with good managers. The rest have terrible managers, there’s no sense of community, leadership or mentorship. There’s no good system to move teams because your ability to move teams is based on your managers review, and if your manager is not good then your chances of going to an internal team are low. This also limits your chance for the very frugal annual raise as well. HR doesn’t properly handle these situations, they have aided in managing out of several PoC and women employees. Since management opportunities only exist for a select few there is a very competitive toxic work environment. Don’t reccomend for anyone jr - mid level. I think this place is only barely doable if you’re super senior and can handle the terrible work environment and have the know how to untangle the mess that is the majority of the code bases. The only culture here is “if you’re silent about your pain they will kill you and say you enjoyed it”.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful

    The Washington Post Response

    The Washington Post Team

    Thanks for sharing your experience working at The Washington Post. We take feedback seriously as we work toward being a great place to work for all. We need people from all backgrounds to join The Washington Post to innovate media and technology. We will look into your feedback and would appreciate any additional information you can provide. Feel free to confidentially e-mail us at life@washpost.com.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Workplace That Generally Values Employees

    Aug 20, 2021 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people make this place, such a talented + thoughtful group of people to work with. Great opportunities to advance your career if you want it.

    Cons

    Diversity in upper management/C-Suite and practicing what we preach is an issue with the company. It appears they are working on it, but some actions fell pretty short (e.g. acknowledging Juneteenth as a holiday in 2020 when it was convenient, but failing to uphold this the following year was very disappointing). The pay also falls below competitive rates for engineering teams.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great starting off point, not the best for advancement.

    Feb 26, 2011 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The namesake carries significant weight. Great DC location. Also a great resume builder. Utilize operating database systems that are transferrable.

    Cons

    Lack of opportunity for advancement. Lack of communication with upper management. Not really into mentoring subordinates, or grooming for higher positions.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    The Washington Post Response

    The Washington Post Team

    Thanks for taking time to write a review. We love hearing about our employees’ positive experiences. We've passed on your feedback to our team. If you have anything else to add, feel free to email us: life@washpost.com. Feedback is how we grow into being a great place to work for all employees. Thanks for choosing to be part of The Washington Post team!

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    The Washington Post is a vibrant organization open to change.

    Feb 23, 2014 - Assignment Editor in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Senior management is open to new ideas and willing to allow employees to experiment and try new ideas. The prestige and history of the Post is hard to replace.

    Cons

    I wish there was more diversity in upper management and those identified as 'star' reporters, but the organization is aware of those issues and is attempting to address is.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    The Washington Post Response

    The Washington Post Team

    Thank you for taking time to write a review. We love hearing about our employees’ positive experiences. We've passed on your feedback to our team. Thank you for choosing to be part of The Washington Post team!

  8. 2.0
    Former Employee

    its all in the name

    Jul 1, 2010 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pride about being at The Post. Decent work life balance.

    Cons

    No growth opportunities. Upper management has no involvement with employees. No rewards or job satisfaction

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    The Washington Post Response

    The Washington Post Team

    Thank you for your review and feedback. Sorry your experience with management was poor. We take this very seriously. This year, we launched The Leadership Project, a series of ongoing development opportunities for all leaders across The Post, to further develop strong leadership/management across the company. If you have more specifics to add, feel free to e-mail us: life@washpost.com. Thank you for allowing The Washington Post to be part of your career journey!

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    My Experience at WaPo

    Sep 29, 2020 - Yield Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, Coworkers, Communication, and Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    Upward Growth, Diversity in Upper Management

    1 person found this review helpful

    The Washington Post Response

    The Washington Post Team

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We’re glad to hear that you’ve had a positive experience overall. We would, however, like to understand your feedback concerning upward growth and diversity in upper management. While we have been working diligently to expand our diversity initiatives, we realize there is still more work to do. If you feel comfortable, we would like to get more of your thoughts on how we can improve in these areas. Feel free to confidentially e-mail us at life@washpost.com.

  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Don't trust upper management

    Aug 3, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The regular employees are usually a good bunch, creative and fun to be around

    Cons

    Upper management is seriously only out for themselves. Do not trust anyone, especially Employee Relations. If they offer you a retention bonus, RUN.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    The Washington Post Response

    The Washington Post Team

    We are so sorry you had a negative experience at The Post. We really do take this seriously and would love to hear more so we can be a better place to work for all. Email us at life@washpost.com. Thanks for letting us know and we appreciate all you did at The Post while you were here!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Popular Careers with The Washington Post Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at The Washington Post? Share Your Experiences

or

The Washington Post Careers

Cover image for The Washington Post

Headquartered in the heart of Washington, DC, The Washington Post’s award-winning Newsroom has a global presence. With reporters...More

  • WaPoEngineering
  • Client Solutions
  • Marketing
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

The Washington Post

0 days ago

Culture
Columnist Theresa Vargas’s first job at The Washington Post was as a crime reporter in Prince William County. She was drawn to the chance to tell stories about a county that was undergoing significant changes and work for a publication that values local and national news. On her best days as a columnist, she gets to witness people coming together to help someone they’ve never met because of something she has written. Theresa has seen people donate money, open their homes and write letters to officials to make life easier for someone else. She also shares deeply personal parts of her own life in her columns – whether it’s about growing up as a Mexican American on the southside of San Antonio or raising two young boys after experiencing pregnancy loss. Those pieces are never easy to put out in the world, but what makes them worth it is hearing from people who say they can relate or now feel less alone.
Shared image
Logo

The Washington Post

7 days ago

Culture
“I have been in the Digital Media space for a while now and working for such an institution such as The Washington Post is a huge privilege. It is at the forefront of journalism as well as technological innovation in the media space, which makes it such an interesting place to work for,” says Arc XP Lead Technical Account Manager Jakob Pranter. Working with European partners of Arc XP, The Post’s digital experience platform, he’s responsible for their success on the platform and supports them through the entire lifecycle of the partnership. His job powers many sites throughout Europe, reaching millions! And he gets to work on a team that’s open and helpful. #washpostlife
Shared image
See all

The Washington Post Photos

+ Add Photo
The Washington Post photo of: Eugene Meyer principles for sound journalism
The Washington Post photo of: Inspiring quotes from current and past leaders adorn the walls of the D.C. office.
The Washington Post photo of: Hanging out on the rooftop.
The Washington Post photo of: Ned the Newshound
The Washington Post photo of: 2017 DC Office
The Washington Post photo of: 2017 DC Office
The Washington Post photo of: Historic press plates are scattered throughout the D.C. office.
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

The Washington Post Job Seekers Also Viewed

Booz Allen Hamilton Logo
Booz Allen Hamilton

4.0

7,782 Reviews
Compare