The White Company Reviews | Glassdoor

The White Company Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 128 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
The White Company CEO Mary Homer  (no image)
Mary Homer
22 Ratings
  1. "Sales Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The White Company part-time

    Pros

    Good team and learned a lot about customer service.

    Cons

    Work hours varied a lot from 20 hrs to 35 hrs as I worked part time so every week was different, which made it hard to plan ahead.

    The White Company2018-09-21
  2. Helpful (9)

    "I'd rate it 0"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The White Company part-time

    Pros

    Generous staff discount Great staff support and ethos from everyone accept management

    Cons

    I have never worked in such a negative environment. A place where all staff dread their days in work. A place where staff continue to walk out and rather be unemployed. I have watched staff be bullied for their appearances, being forced to apply more makeup, had nasty comments about their clothing, comments to staff about their smell and also their class. On top of all this, I have never worked in an environment where there is so much bullying and gossiping about personal and private issues, amongst the "higher" members of staff about the staff members that actually pull their fingers out and work. The store is a place where customers are judged immediately upon entrance to the store by management on what they wear, what designer brands they have on, their ethnicity and from this are labelled as they “don’t belong in here” and staff are told to follow then around like prey. This is NOT a store that welcomes all, it is very prejudicial environment. You are continuously monitored by management via CCTV and ridiculed for things we did not do sufficiently or to the managers taste, frequently making it his mission to give staff recorded conversations for the most trivial of things, but you are never praised for the good. Forced to come in on days off and work overtime sometimes never being asked just having the rota changed and expected to be able to do it regardless of plans and already having worked over contracted hours. Occasions like this are met with questions such as “what are your plans”, “are they important”, “you can re-arrange”. No matter how private or important you were still expected to disclose information on your plans or appointments and give management a sufficient enough reason not to work, a lot of the time these reasons dismissed and still made to work regardless. This was so that others could take a half day as management have no respect for a working life balance, or your life outside of its doors. Unless of course you are of supervisor or management level. Not only as a store I have had negative experiences with their Pay Team and HR Department. I have had rightfully owed wages withheld and fiddled when I left employment. Something that the manager had made known with other staff members that he was going to do. The White Company is wrong on every level from top to bottom and back to front. My advice for anyone researching this place as a possible new job. Stay unemployed.

    Continue reading
    The White Company2018-10-01
  3. "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The White Company full-time

    Pros

    Good discount for catalogue products

    Cons

    none for me so far

    The White Company2018-08-29
  4. "Very high expectations but not necessarily with training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The White Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, but no bonus

    Cons

    Very nice products and nice customer based

    The White Company2018-08-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The White Company part-time

    Pros

    Amazing discount Clever Christmas bonus scheme for new employees - if you stay for the whole of your contract you recieve a higher rate of pay given as a lump sum at the end Nice people to work with Rotas available a month ahead of schedule Excellent products, easy to sell

    Cons

    Greater support needed for delivery orders - wasn't covered in the training and a vital part of the role Management keen to sit back while customer assistants are on the shop floor covering the majority of the work - can cause problems when overrides/support are need on the till

    The White Company2018-08-16
  6. "Great staff discount"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The White Company full-time

    Pros

    Great staff discount, at 50%

    Cons

    You don’t get discount on sale items and don’t get paid double on national holidays

    The White Company2018-08-15
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Please don't forget your shop floor employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Covent Garden, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The White Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good discount flexible shifts if required never had a problem with booking holidays/ doctors appointments

    Cons

    pathetic bonus once a year no bonuses for the team - very hard to motivate no incentive no clear career progression for anyone even customers get something: xmas vouchers, free candles- the team gets absolutely nothing no training

    Continue reading
    The White Company2018-08-02
  8. "Customer Service Agent - Christmas Temp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Northampton, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The White Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are good, good training, discount, receiving great feedback from customers as this helps you get little rewards. Had a good team leader who took over when you get that one nasty customer.

    Cons

    Shift hours and the occasional horrid customer (fussy, unreasonable and asking for the impossible complainer) who make you feel like walking there and then!

    Continue reading
    The White Company2018-07-16
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Here and There"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buying Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The White Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Quite relaxed - Everyone leaves on time - Company events are fabulous - Free fruit every day - Some people are lovely - Welcoming

    Cons

    - A lot is expected of you - Storage is really limited making sample management very difficult. - No interaction with heads of - Not very good progression - Lower pay than other companies - not very much holiday compared to other employers - Can't eat hot food at desks - Lower staff aren't appreciated

    Continue reading
    The White Company2018-07-01
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Experienced bullying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor - Full Time in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The White Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reasonable pay, beautiful products, friendly co workers, nice surroundings

    Cons

    I was really badly bullied by two managers. The managers were picking on certain staff members, presumably to force them to leave. I know many staff members at the time had complained to head office about the bullying but nothing was ever done. Store CCTV was being used by managers to monitor staff behaviour also, which made certain staff members (including myself), feel very self conscious. This job really affected my confidence and I’m really quite angry that this behaviour was allowed to continue. One of the managers devised a daily floor plan to organise staff (for instance, you could spend one hour on the tills, followed by an hour on the fitting rooms etc). I was brought to tears on one occasion where I was made to stand on the front door greeting customers in the cold for an entire 8 hour shift. This felt like a real low blow and I’m certain they were laughing at me in their office whilst I was stood there. Appalling behaviour. Many staff members walked out as they were so fed up with being bullied - this was the aim I’m sure. When I handed my notice in, one of the managers who had bullied me for over a year asked if I wanted a store transfer (I was moving to another part of the U.K.). This seemed like a cover up plan on the manager’s behalf. Gosh I’m still shocked even to this day and I’m discussing my experience with a therapist. When certain staff members left the job, they were given gifts on their last day. I was given nothing and one of the manager’s sat in an isolated office and didn’t even bother to say goodbye.

    Continue reading
    The White Company2018-08-01
Found 128 reviews