The White Company "staff discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

The White Company Employee Reviews about "staff discount"

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 128 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
The White Company CEO Mary Homer  (no image)
Mary Homer
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Beautiful products with a very generous staff discount(in 14 reviews)

  • "Good staff and good environment, lots of opportunities(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Head office received complaints from this person yet nothing was done(in 6 reviews)

  • "The manager picked on specific members of staff and bullied them until they left(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "staff discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 

    I worked at The White Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount, calm environment, good products

    Cons

    Bad management, no career opportunities

    The White Company2019-06-13
  2. "50/50"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The White Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Whilst working at The White Company, you receive great hourly pay and a 50% staff discount on all the lovely products (bar sale), and there are always opportunities for overtime. Supervisors and other Sales Assistants are a pleasure to work with.

    Cons

    Pleasing the manager is a very difficult task and there seems to always be an issue with the way you work. There is no uniform allowance so you must wear your own black smart clothing, which is a bit of a grey area as it is difficult to always agree with management in regards to what is professional and what isn't. Also, sometimes you are given overtime without any communication beforehand.

    Continue reading
    The White Company2019-03-26
  3. Helpful (9)

    "I'd rate it 0"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The White Company part-time

    Pros

    Generous staff discount Great staff support and ethos from everyone accept management

    Cons

    I have never worked in such a negative environment. A place where all staff dread their days in work. A place where staff continue to walk out and rather be unemployed. I have watched staff be bullied for their appearances, being forced to apply more makeup, had nasty comments about their clothing, comments to staff about their smell and also their class. On top of all this, I have never worked in an environment where there is so much bullying and gossiping about personal and private issues, amongst the "higher" members of staff about the staff members that actually pull their fingers out and work. The store is a place where customers are judged immediately upon entrance to the store by management on what they wear, what designer brands they have on, their ethnicity and from this are labelled as they “don’t belong in here” and staff are told to follow then around like prey. This is NOT a store that welcomes all, it is very prejudicial environment. You are continuously monitored by management via CCTV and ridiculed for things we did not do sufficiently or to the managers taste, frequently making it his mission to give staff recorded conversations for the most trivial of things, but you are never praised for the good. Forced to come in on days off and work overtime sometimes never being asked just having the rota changed and expected to be able to do it regardless of plans and already having worked over contracted hours. Occasions like this are met with questions such as “what are your plans”, “are they important”, “you can re-arrange”. No matter how private or important you were still expected to disclose information on your plans or appointments and give management a sufficient enough reason not to work, a lot of the time these reasons dismissed and still made to work regardless. This was so that others could take a half day as management have no respect for a working life balance, or your life outside of its doors. Unless of course you are of supervisor or management level. Not only as a store I have had negative experiences with their Pay Team and HR Department. I have had rightfully owed wages withheld and fiddled when I left employment. Something that the manager had made known with other staff members that he was going to do. The White Company is wrong on every level from top to bottom and back to front. My advice for anyone researching this place as a possible new job. Stay unemployed.

    Continue reading
    The White Company2018-10-01
  4. "Great staff discount"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The White Company full-time

    Pros

    Great staff discount, at 50%

    Cons

    You don’t get discount on sale items and don’t get paid double on national holidays

    The White Company2018-08-15
  5. "fairly chill job with good discount"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The White Company part-time

    Pros

    good staff discount chill working environment

    Cons

    pay is better in other retailers difficult to get holidays off

    The White Company2018-05-12
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Messing around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The White Company part-time

    Pros

    Staff discount, lovely customers, lovely products

    Cons

    Management messed me around all the time and one was very mean to other members of staff. It appeared quite cliquey, I constantly felt that I was being discussed behind my back by management.

    Continue reading
    The White Company2018-03-04
  7. "Could care less about staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The White Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good staff discount, nice customers, friendly teams

    Cons

    Rude management, low wages, inconsistent rotas- last minute changes and intimidation if you do not comply with last minute changes. Senior management are always looking for someone to blame for something.

    Continue reading
    The White Company2018-02-22
  8. "Great Brand to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at The White Company

    Pros

    Great staff discount and amazing people!

    Cons

    Office facilities could be better.

    The White Company2017-04-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "IT support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The White Company for more than a year

    Pros

    sample sales were good. staff discount good

    Cons

    IT team too small and inundated with requests. IT always struggling to complete requests. under invested and under staffed meant a constant struggle.

    The White Company2017-03-20
  10. "My Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Advisor in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The White Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful products with a very generous staff discount. My role is varied and I feel I have the right level of support and guidance from my line manager. A very friendly team of people all who want to get on and work well together to achieve the same goals. The dedication and commitment from people is second to none.

    Cons

    Transparency. There is sometimes a lack of communication and transparency when it comes to keeping people / teams in the know and you can sometimes get the feel of everything is a bit cloak and dagger. However this isn't just specific to The White Company - I feel a lot of organisations fall foul of this from time to time.

    Continue reading
    The White Company2017-01-17
Found 128 reviews