The Works Stores Reviews | Glassdoor

The Works Stores Reviews

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
The Works Stores CEO Kevin Keaney (no image)
Kevin Keaney
73 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work is fast paced but interesting and our regular customers are fantastic(in 14 reviews)

  • "Staff discount, great team and training(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Regional managers are nasty to staff and area managers etc are too scared(in 11 reviews)

  • "It’s like only head office are allowed to think we just have to do as we’re told(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company, really trying to make a difference!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Works Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been here for 6 months now and I can honestly say that the time has flown by. Of course, some days have been harder than others, but none have been a chore. I have had the privilege of working on some great projects, with great people. The Works is really trying to make a difference for all of their employees, but as with many companies with multiple locations it can be a challenge to roll everything... out to everyone. The ethos of being a family business at heart is still very prevalent. I am excited for what the next 6 months and beyond will bring.

    Show More

    Cons

    I Can't think of any.

    The Works Stores2019-10-09
  2. "I feel important and appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Support 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Works Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic ethos, fantastic team and fantastic manager

    Cons

    I can not think of any

    The Works Stores2019-10-09
  3. "Good Team, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at The Works Stores part-time

    Pros

    Good team, good products and good training

    Cons

    Very poor senior management, lots of pressure

    The Works Stores2019-10-21
  4. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Works Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    generous holidays, sociable work hours

    Cons

    poor salary, poor staff discount

    The Works Stores2019-09-21
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Works Stores full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lovely staff, great stock and love merchandising

    Cons

    Unrealistic tasks with staffing

    The Works Stores2019-08-16
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Purchase Ledger Clerk in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Works Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lovely company to work for

    Cons

    i cannot think of any

    The Works Stores2019-08-12
  7. "Managers focused on numbers not people...high staff turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Works Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    small staff discount, it is just a job, better off in Tesco

    Cons

    You don't get the lunch break you should, management more focused on the computer screen rather than staff, people come and go every week, stay away

    Advice to Management

    People are not numbers. It is a prison environment, not a working one

    The Works Stores2019-09-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Works Stores full-time

    Pros

    Fun products and customers Amazing colleagues Always something new and you never get bored

    Cons

    To much taking, unrealistic work load and time lines. Irish stores dont have half the benefits as the English stores

    The Works Stores2019-08-07
  9. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Gillingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Works Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone makes you feel welcome. Was my first job, and they were so good to me and helped me out with everything. I was studying for my A Levels at the time and they were so flexible about this, my exams etc. Couldn't recommend it higher for a first job, or even those who love retail

    Cons

    Work itself can be monotonous

    The Works Stores2019-07-25
  10. Helpful (2)

    "LOVE, LOVE, LOVE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Works Stores full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people all that care are passionate Fantastic product Rewarding daily You can use your own creativity Directors are all approachable Sales ideas are shared Great staff discount Team incentives which can be won if you want to win Its hard work but aren't all jobs meant to be

    Cons

    It is what you make it. Those that are negative and don't realise that it's retail and about driving sales, so of course your not there to just sit down!

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what your doing

    The Works Stores2019-07-11
Found 110 reviews