TheStreet Reviews | Glassdoor

TheStreet Reviews

Updated Mar 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
TheStreet CEO Larry Kramer (no image)
Larry Kramer
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "TheStreet is a great place to work(in 30 reviews)

  • "They have an awesome internship program in which you can learn a ton(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Continually talk about success of businessinsider with no contemplation of why they're beating thestreet(in 13 reviews)

  • "Unless your into journalism and the stock market stay away(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Stress free"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freelance Writer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TheStreet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Casual Stress free work environment

    Cons

    Pay is bad, management is greedy

    Advice to Management

    Higher pay increases

    TheStreet2019-03-13
  2. Helpful (3)

    "No Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TheStreet full-time

    Pros

    easy access to mass transit

    Cons

    Too much "Ivory Tower" management for such a small company Bosses (not leaders) are disengaged and only meet with their level peers Communication is a joke Each group blames the other for lack of success This company is run by a minor celebrity with priorities VERY different from the board

    Advice to Management

    stop meeting every quarter to moan and complain and rather get involved with the day to day running of the company. Also, tools will not fix your problems (percieved and otherwise) people will if they are empowered to do so

    TheStreet2018-08-21
  3. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TheStreet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Access to C level suite is encouraged and often . Leadership is strong and approachable. Ideation is welcomed. Teams are small and impactful .

    Cons

    Some silo operations still take place .

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in the business and the people and you’ll win every time. Continue interacting with all levels of employees it makes people feel valued and work harder.

    TheStreet2018-06-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Marketing in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TheStreet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy to get to location

    Cons

    Office old and needs to be redone

    Advice to Management

    Refresh this company

    TheStreet2018-05-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at TheStreet full-time

    Pros

    Employees friendly and atmosphere overall is welcoming

    Cons

    Company needs better management and better appreciation of staff members

    TheStreet2018-03-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TheStreet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent staff and wonderful CEO, Chairman, CFO, HR, etc... I love it here.

    Cons

    Everything comes down to cost. We lost our paper cups, but, we did get mugs.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    TheStreet2018-02-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "deputy managing editor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in New York, NY

    I worked at TheStreet full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    minimal oversight, pretty good benefits

    Cons

    morale is super low, management is scattered and turnover is constant

    TheStreet2018-02-12
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Ideal Marketing Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TheStreet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1) Plenty of opportunities to build your own success. No micro-managers and they give you plenty of room to find your own path and build your portfolio. I came from a company whose marketing team had a stand up to begin every day and a meeting to review what you accomplished at the end of the day (never do that). Marketing leadership gives you plenty of direction but you build your own success. 2) Great pay. My... initial salary was in the appropriate salary range and they reward you when your performance merits an increase. I know people who received a raise in their 1st year at the company. This is something a lot of NYC employers could learn to do and I'm glad they reward talent and exceptional performance. 3) A ton of amazing women in leadership and a lot of talented women in every department. This isn't a new initiative, they have had a diverse team of men and women from the first day I started.

    Show More

    Cons

    1) Culture HR is almost nonexistent when it comes to company culture. The culture needs rejuvenation. There is a lot of opportunities for new blood to come in and create a fun and cohesive unit. They started monthly happy hours in 2017 (started by the CMO-she's great) but there is still a lot more that needs to be done to continue building a better culture. 2) Tech Resources The tech team needs more programmers... and talented project managers. Improving functionality of the sites will help grow leads. This will help make sales and marketing jobs easier.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1) Invest in the tech team. 2) Create company culture groups, sponsored by HR but led by employees. 3) Continue to reward employees who perform really well. 4) Do not invest in vendors without complete buy-in from that group. 5) Maternity leave and Paternity leave could be a lot better. Invest in the young talent at this company and they will reward your investment.

    TheStreet2018-01-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Look before you leap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at TheStreet full-time

    Pros

    Some good people still work there who are dedicated and have done a solid job over the years.

    Cons

    Shortsightedness as to the future editorial direction of the company.

    TheStreet2017-10-21
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Get experience in an outlet on the upswing, not the downswing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reporter in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TheStreet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can quickly filter to the top in what is now a lackluster newsroom of the leftovers. Report big stories and get nice clips but little resonance/reach.

    Cons

    Aging white, male management are increasingly frustrated with falling subs and are trying to adjust by cutting costs and pushing social media but without a strategy. No, "Post this to all your social media channels!" is not a strategy. They've now fired or scared off anyone who was moving in the right direction and are left with a core of ho-hum journalists, predominantly in NYC. Continually talk about success of... businessinsider with no contemplation of why they're beating thestreet.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get some (much) younger management and quit allowing MGMT to hire buddies from previous gigs. The site needs editors who understand and can use the Internet as it is today, not 10 years ago.

    TheStreet2017-06-08
Found 98 reviews