KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Thematic

Engaged Employer

Thematic

Add a Review

Thematic Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 of over 8 reviews

4.9
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Thematic CEO Alyona Medelyan
Alyona Medelyan
7 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Innovative technology with lots of opportunities

    Jan 7, 2020 - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - technology was excellent - customer success team was top-notch. Extremely capable and willing to go above and beyond. - the product team was small but mighty

    Cons

    - no 401k matching - didn't get many of the typical Silicon Valley benefits - gym memberships, lunch, etc

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    An amazing company on its way to greatness

    Oct 4, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a innovative company, comprised of incredibly smart yet down-to-earth people (Kiwis, after all) with a technology that is truly disruptive in its space. Every day is an opportunity to work on something directly for a customer, and seeing the work you do utilized to guide decisions of some of the fastest growing and most innovative companies in the world is a great feeling.

    Cons

    None come to mind. This a fast pace environment of a high-growth, early-stage start-up. Expect to learn and grow.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Dynamic and Growing

    Sep 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, interesting problems to solve, working with world class experts

    Cons

    No real cons I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Jan 16, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Fully remote company with flexible working options - Small but mighty team, you get to wear a lot of hats - Lot of scope for growth and career opportunities

    Cons

    Small team can be both a pro and a con depending on what you’re after.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company to work for

    Jan 12, 2022 - Data Scientist in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great (small) team with direct lines of communication - People take ownership - Room for initiative, ideas, and experiment - 100% remote

    Cons

    - While startups are fun environments things do sometimes break which can be stressful.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Superb company

    Jun 25, 2021 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work flexible and employee friendly

    Cons

    I dont see any cons

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Review of working at Thematic

    Jan 21, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast-paced, startup environment. I loved the opportunity I had here to really have ownership and build something from the ground up, and be a part of a motivated, energetic and very supportive team. Ambitious and growing really fast, no two days are the same. I love that everyone's ideas are considered and valued, it is not a hierarchy, there are no barriers to getting an initiative off the ground, you just go for it. The culture is very much: experiment, learn, adapt, implement and move on.

    Cons

    Just the normal "growing pains" of a start-up with high targets, where everyone learns together as we go, if you make mistakes it's a learning experience.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great product with a smart and experienced team

    Oct 14, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love that we solve a tricky problem that lots of businesses have, we're building on top of technology that gives us a fundamental advantage over our competitors, and our product has paying customers. Ultimately, these things make me optimistic about Thematic as a company and about my work. In terms of our team, people here have many years of previous experience at places including Google and Microsoft. I'm glad we have a lot of experience to bring to bear on the problems we solve here. I like the work/life balance. I've worked at places where the phrase "work hard/play hard" comes to mind. I'd characterize this company more along the lines of work smart/enjoy life. Is that cheesy? Maybe. Point is, none of us want to create a culture of startup burnout. (Our cofounders have young children; it helps that the emphasis on sane work hours starts at the top). Aside from the above, there are a lot of great things about working at a small startup that aren't necessarily unique, but I appreciate nonetheless: we all have a lot of autonomy, we're all working towards the same goals, and we all feel the impact of our work very directly.

    Cons

    We're an early stage startup, so the satisfaction of building a new business comes with risk and uncertainty. There are days where it feels like we're facing impossible challenges, which can be disheartening.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Thematic Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Thematic? Share Your Experiences

or

Thematic Photos

+ Add Photo
Thematic photo of: Victory!  Top start-up in the world.
Thematic photo of: Auckland team get-together
Thematic photo of: Alyona and Nathan, on the red-carpet!
Thematic photo of: Just a normal Friday lunch :-)
Thematic photo of: Customer visit, flying in style
Thematic photo of: Team photo on our retreat in Hawaii
Thematic photo of: Company meeting on our retreat in Hawaii
See All Photos