Theranos "free food" Reviews | Glassdoor

Theranos Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated 29 Aug 2017

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
47%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Theranos CEO David Taylor
David Taylor
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pay, environment, free food, phones and computers(in 18 reviews)

  • "Great colleagues, free meals, decent benefits(in 11 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (79)

    "One of the best companies I have been in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - S Mechanical Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Theranos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    What i love most about my job is the cutting edge research. I feel challenged, like the people i work with ... They are the best in the business. The fantastic compensation and perks and the free food are the cherry on the cake.

    Cons

    Can't really think of anything. I am almost completing a year here and so far the going has been good.

    Theranos2013-04-01
  2. Helpful (17)

    "Phlebotomist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Theranos

    Pros

    Beautiful place to work. Free food. Great people.

    Cons

    Too many things hidden from employees. Company was struggling to figure out their many accusations and avoiding lawsuits.

    Theranos2017-08-30
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (11)

    "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Theranos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, flexibility, nice people and enviroment

    Cons

    Unstable leadership, long hours, and uncertain future

    Theranos2017-08-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Lab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Theranos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, environment, free food, phones and computers. Room to advance

    Cons

    Lots of hours and flexibility is a must

    Theranos2017-05-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Theranos full-time

    Pros

    Free food, great colleagues, great location

    Cons

    Management and communication issues. Long hours

    Theranos2017-02-28
  7. Helpful (65)

    "Scam, and poor management since the beginning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Theranos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    See what other reviews say: free food, pay check, great people.

    Cons

    1. Poor decision making for the company since DAY ONE. 2. 16 years into the history of Theranos, with ZERO product on the market, back to point number one. 3. No revenue = no money to sustain the company. 4. Over-hyped before the company was ready to come out, fooling investors and consumers, and giving employees false hopes to work on "revolutionary technology". 5. Adding bunch of old technologies in one box is... not revolutionary. 6. Expanding the company too much without vision! Two rounds of mass lay off won't save the company. 7. Getting into clinical testing industry without proper regulatory knowledge, hence the FDA and CMS sanction. 8. Too many law suits from investors and patients. At risk of being bankrupt. 9. The hope of getting future investors to burn their money for Theranos is slim.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    EAH would lie without a blink of her eyes, it's almost scary. Stop lying and being so fake. Honestly, I have no hope nor faith in this company at all.

    Theranos2017-01-09
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Avondale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Theranos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They found the right individuals for the right positions. Free food. Great company parties. Good pay, good PTO.

    Cons

    Hmm.. where to start? To much control with every move not allowing people to standout.

    Advice to Management

    Hopefully with the reaction of what's happened to the company there will be some positive changes in the future. I wish them well..

    Theranos2016-11-16
  9. Helpful (37)

    "SO FRUSTRATING"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Theranos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    meh, some good people but few and far between. free food?

    Cons

    no scientific integrity, not data driven (going into experiments with a wanted outcome and ignoring any data that shows otherwise), being put on projects that are clearly only PR driven, no attention to obvious glaring issues with the technology, upper management taking shortcuts, elizabeth being surrounded by spineless yes people, no direction, clear lack of respect for scientists/science within the company, no... punishment/impacts for the people who made (and still are making) horrible decisions, horrible management. attempts to bring up issues to management, consultants, HR, PMs, etc are just squashed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    restart, rebuild, restructure. may be too late to save anything though.

    Theranos2016-09-24
  10. Helpful (38)

    "Too Blind to See"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Theranos for more than a year

    Pros

    Not many. Free food and snacks. Some of my co workers were great and hard working. Others no so much. Lots of laziness and time wasting. Pay was ok but they paid you based on what you made at your last job so it was skewed. Two people working the same job get paid differently

    Cons

    Positive reviews on here are written by HR or people working here that are too blind to see what is really going on. Wake up and read between the lies. The stupid town hall meetings we have are full of so much crap. it won't be long before we are all out of jobs and on the street

    Advice to Management

    This could have been fixed long ago. Maybe by being honest, but it's too late now. So long

    Theranos2016-09-22
  11. Helpful (39)

    "2016's rendition of Enron"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Theranos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Talented people Free food A lot of autonomy depending on who you are

    Cons

    -Extremely secretive- consistenly reminded of confidentiality -Multiple teams working on the same project creating double work since assignments cannot be discussed in the open. -No accountability -Quality system enacted too late to save the company -Inexperienced PMs with too much decision making power, NO INDUSTRY EXPERIENCE -Executive management never learns from past mistakes, just rinse and repeat -Some... of the resumes of key decision makers do not align with their role within the company. Many lack any lab/medical background expertise.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Unsalvageable sadly. Most say the definition of insanity is repeating the same behavior and expecting a different outcome. No one who was responsible for sailing this company into the iceberg has been held accountable or even constructively criticized. Good luck with the next iteration of technology; it probably won't be welcomed nor trusted by the market. Theranos does not deserve to be blindly endorsed nor... trusted by anyone, especially not people with health issues.

    Show More
    Theranos2016-09-18
Found 18 reviews