Theranos "free meals" Reviews | Glassdoor

Theranos Employee Reviews about "free meals"

Updated Sep 27, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
47%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Theranos CEO David Taylor
David Taylor
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pay, environment, free food, phones and computers(in 18 reviews)

  • "Great colleagues, free meals, decent benefits(in 11 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free meals"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (59)

    "Exciting, Pathbreaking technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Theranos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    An opportunity to be associated with a technology that is revolutionary and can impact the lives of millions around the world. Tremendous opportunities to learn new techniques and skills hands on. Management highly encourages the employees to diversify their skills and taken on new challenges and responsibilities as they become associated with this novel technology. No good idea goes untested and Management is extremely supportive of new ideas provided they are well thought out and have a reasonable chance of success. The executive management is very approachable and always open to comments/suggestions from employees. Truly inspiring to work in a Company founded by someone who is dubbed by many as the next 'Steve Jobs', has a star-studded Board of Directors, and is collaborating with several reputed hospitals and Medical centers around the country to make it's technology accessible. Oh and did I mention, free catered meals 3 times a day along with endless snacks and beverages!!

    Cons

    I don't consider this a downside, but given the scope and enormity of the work undertaken by this Company, it requires people who are willing to go the extra mile for the Company rather than just doing the bare minimum.

    Continue reading
    Theranos2015-04-01
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Get in, get out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Theranos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits, smart colleagues, free catered meals and food, great space to work, great mid-management

    Cons

    Impossible to move up in position, upper management is out of touch with employees

    Continue reading
    Theranos2017-09-28
  3. Helpful (37)

    "Good colleagues, but not a legitimate business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Theranos full-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues, free meals, decent benefits

    Cons

    Read WSJ, that says it all

    Theranos2017-07-28
  4. Helpful (77)

    "Huge Let Down and Disappointment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Theranos

    Pros

    A lot of investors put money into her company and she was able to hire a lot of talented and gifted people. The salary was higher than the market average and the free meals were the only thing keeping people in the building than to deal with the traffics going home.

    Cons

    300 plus employees sent home in one day. I was sad to see people leaving and crying on the way out. It's such a shame. It was hard for me to see a guy walk out of the building with the box of his belongings...that was one of the hardest thing I have seen. It was almost like a bad movie... I saw a lot of frustrations and tears. Whats even more messed up, some people knew this was gonna come down but didn't warned others that they were going to lose their jobs. Maybe it was because of the damn contract we signed stating we can't recruit our colleagues if we leave. Remember the name Theranos like "There she blows". We can call this story a unicorn gone Titanic.

    Continue reading
    Theranos2016-10-06
  5. Helpful (28)

    "All Senior Executives are Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Theranos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free catered meals (breakfast, lunch, dinner) Pretty HQ

    Cons

    Management is very secretive and the whole company isn't cohesive as a unit . Company cares a lot more about public opinion than actually improving product or taking care of patients. No 401(k) match

    Continue reading
    Theranos2017-01-12
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Unexpectedly better than what I imagined"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Theranos

    Pros

    - Probably the best I've had as far as culture goes. Fun people who seem genuinely passionate about the company and their work. - Flexible work hours (in my department, at least) - Despite everything going on in the media, things here are surprisingly normal. - Free meals 3x a day

    Cons

    - Lunches are a hit or miss. Some days, it's excruciatingly bad. - Heart of Silicon Valley, so terrible traffic.

    Continue reading
    Theranos2016-06-26
  7. Helpful (91)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laboratory Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Theranos full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was excited to work at Theranos starting out. Their spiel of being a part of something game changing was compelling. The environment described to me was very attractive; a set of independent thinkers working together to be apart of the growth of "revolutionary technology". I'm sad to say I believed every word. Catered meals are nice, however most likely a ploy to keep you from complaining about the 11 hours you've been at work. Not to mention free meals are quite common in newer companies. I regret taking this position, however it is a lesson learned.

    Cons

    If its not in writing anything promised to you is out the window. Your schedule WILL change. By schedule, I mean shifts/hours, your weekends will shift, and the work will be challenging…at times impossible with what is given to you. While there are some talented employees, they are abused. Management expects you to ask no questions, challenge nothing (this includes ideas and processes that should be addressed but are NOT) and challenge nobody. Some of the practices in place are borderline unethical. Nepotism runs rampant. It is impossible to trust any supervisor (or leader as they are called) when they have all been hired by the same person and have worked together before. Theranos does not want independent thinkers, they want employees that blindly follow orders. Expect to have no life while enjoying your 50+ hours a week at work and, in some cases, 70+ if not more. The schedules change sometimes multiple times in a day. Expect to come in on your days off to get something extra accomplished because no time was allotted to you previously on your actual work day. I have had bad management in past jobs, however I have never felt as dehumanized or as enslaved.

    Continue reading
    Theranos2015-04-13
  8. Helpful (70)

    "Great time to be with Theranos!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Theranos full-time

    Pros

    - Employee benefits (competitive salary, vacation days, free meals) - Being a part of a company that will revolutionizing the healthcare industry - Great environment with extremely friendly co-workers

    Cons

    - Fast-paced environment, but it's great to be kept busy that sitting around twiddling your thumbs - No 401k matching

    Continue reading
    Theranos2014-09-06
  9. Helpful (79)

    "Toxic Culture & Extreme Micromanagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Theranos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are generous with free meals three times a day, medical insurance options are decent, and you get 4 weeks of paid time off per year. Most of the people hired are very smart.

    Cons

    The office culture is extremely toxic. Executive leadership treats the majority of the company with little to no respect and tries to be involved in every small detail of their work. It is clear that they do not trust their employees one bit to do their jobs or know any information about the company strategy across teams. Employees are not treated as assets, they are expected to work extremely long hours, and there are hardly any options for professional development or promotions. Hiring people to help share the workload is incredibly difficult when leadership interviews every single person and will reject them for unsubstantiated reasons. People rarely stay longer than a year due to this culture, and the people that do stay are miserable.

    Continue reading
    Theranos2015-02-06
  10. Helpful (61)

    "So much potential."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Theranos full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Competitive compensation. Good health/vision/dental/401K options (and more) for you and your family, plus life insurance provided by the company at no charge. Free meals served 3x per week, 7 days a week. Unlimited snack bars all the time and always very stocked. Can call security if you want take-out in the middle of the night. Fast-paced, highly productive, upbeat attitude throughout. Very personal because it's a startup. Can see the company growing each week, which is highly encouraging.

    Cons

    Hours can be long, but that's the story with any lab position. It goes by so quickly, I hardly ever notice. It's still a startup, which means there can be lack of organization. However, there are so many bright minds that the issue is noticed and resolved as quickly as it came up. It's exciting to watch things fall into place and be a part of the company solidifying.

    Continue reading
    Theranos2014-04-03
Found 11 reviews