Thermax Reviews | Glassdoor

Thermax Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
80%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Thermax Managing Director M S Unnikrishnan
M S Unnikrishnan
167 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Slow growth, not paymasters only in energy(in 13 reviews)

  • "Seems like management missing site engineers will never know who is their boss and their is their HO , low salary , no work life balance(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Project Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Thermax part-time

    Pros

    Great company to work with

    Cons

    very competitive environment got to cope up with all

    Thermax2018-11-27
  2. "Work here if you hate yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Thermax full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    - I was originally hired because they said they built a new factory. I stayed for a year and they had no product to sell that entire time. I was forced to go on sales calls and call people knowing that there was nothing to sell. - I got hired not knowing much about sales or ion exchange resin. They will NOT train you. - I asked for sales training and pretty much got told I was stupid and couldn’t learn from going... on a few already established joint sales calls. - I was constantly talked down to in a condescending way. - They will not tell you prices for any of the products, you have to ask specifically per RFQ and if you’re lucky they’ll get back to you in a day. - They have no database for searching information or for searching products in stock. You’ll get an excel spreadsheet of in stock products once a week if you’re lucky. - If you have any sort of question be sure if you ask you will feel sorry for it. - They literally have no information internally on products and product applications which makes it impossible to learn anything or help customers. - When I put in my 2 weeks they let me go on the spot, which is normal for sales positions. They will NOT pay you for those 2 weeks even if you give notice. - They have no company credit card and when you do expense reports you are not only required to scan all receipts but also mail them in. - They have no marketing in the USA. - They have no HR in the USA, it’s in India and if you think that they might help you haa - I gave career opportunities 1 star because since they had no product I had no proof I could sell and therefore couldn’t find a different sales job.

    Show More
    Thermax2019-08-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Student Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thermax part-time

    Pros

    Excellent exposure to learning new things. Opportunity to understand many industrial concepts.

    Cons

    No such points to mention.

    Thermax2018-04-28
  4. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thermax full-time

    Pros

    Great work and learning environment; Ability to explore a number of organizational aspects

    Cons

    Too much work at times and too little at times

    Advice to Management

    Try understanding the capacity and limitations of your manpower and manage your staff work load well

    Thermax2018-03-17
  5. "Good opportunity to start career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thermax full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Open culture, lot of opportunities

    Cons

    hard work, non flexible hours

    Thermax2017-02-13
  6. "Good place to work if you are street-smart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Thermax

    Pros

    Don't get confused between being a street-smart person and a suck-up. The managers here are bad but if you are aggressive with your logic, they can be molded. Good work-life balance because of the fixed working hours

    Cons

    Vision lacking management and ever increasing internal redtape.

    Advice to Management

    Change!

    Thermax2016-12-14
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Overall performance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Development Analyst in State College, PA

    I worked at Thermax for more than a year

    Pros

    good work culture. lot to explore

    Cons

    a bit slow paced and at times lacking vibrance

    Thermax2016-10-15
  8. "Not too bad. A few changes will be benefit the employees a lot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Trainee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thermax for less than a year

    Pros

    -Pay & work balance is good -Even the daily wagers get to use the game room -Food available for all shifts

    Cons

    -Rude managers -Bureaucratic culture -HR people are very slow - Far away from the city and company does not provide transportation

    Advice to Management

    -Better work environment for interns -Have a proper internship program in place -Provide some sort of transportation. Least you can do is provide a company shuttle to the nearest bus stand.

    Thermax2016-10-25
  9. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Thermax full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great learning opportunities. Full of challenges despite 25 years of engagement Compensation commensurate with skills, competencies & experience Promotes self-drive, ease of management accessbility

    Cons

    Slower growth Focus on niche technologies alone Over-cautious business approach

    Advice to Management

    Create growth, perhaps by M&A initiatives. Try new business areas aligned with core business.

    Thermax2016-01-25
  10. "Product and Bid Management - Marketing- Sales Executiveq"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales ­ Executive Engineer in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thermax for more than a year

    Pros

    cool work culture; responsibility at a young age

    Cons

    low pay, slow growth, not for highly ambitious employees.

    Advice to Management

    Have a compensation structure for bright employees and easy promotions

    Thermax2015-10-27
Found 292 reviews