Thermo Fisher Scientific Reviews | Glassdoor

Thermo Fisher Scientific Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2778 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Thermo Fisher Scientific CEO Marc N. Casper
Marc N. Casper
1134 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Less focus on work/life balance compared to other large companies I’ve worked for(in 173 reviews)

  • "The drama from upper management was horrible(in 83 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (22)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Applications Scientist in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - well-organized business system - great people to work with (energetic, intelligent, communicative, friendly) - easy to get and stay connected with other employees - stable company that keeps long-term goals in mind - company encourages personal and career development - a lot of opportunities to move up and/or lateral within the company - excellent employee benefits - very ethical company (strong emphasis on...

    Show More

    Cons

    - amount of PTO allotted could be better - no incentives for waiving employee benefits - company is trying to incorporate more flexible work options (in working progress)

    Advice to Management

    My management team is doing great. They are highly responsive and they care about employee dynamics/moral. Keep up the good work.

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2018-12-31

    Thermo Fisher Scientific Response

    January 2, 2019

    We are thrilled to read your review and all the positive feedback! Thank you for being a part of the exceptional team we have, committed to our mission of making the world healthier, cleaner and safer.

  2. "Its a fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chelmsford, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. Company is doing very well. - Flexible and lots of company benefits - Many very skilled and experienced professionals - Friendly environment - A great deal autonomy to work on what you want - Growing company and you feel the sense of really contributing towards something - Great managers - Top of the line global reaching products

    Cons

    - You dont get your own office

    Advice to Management

    I think employees could benefit from a fitness centre or at least discounts from gym memberships

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-06-15
  3. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembler in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    lots of opportunity to learn, great culture, great people, great leaders

    Cons

    overtime depends on demand, so it can get pretty busy

    Advice to Management

    keep being cool

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-06-05

    Thermo Fisher Scientific Response

    June 6, 2019EBM Consultant

    Thanks for the awesome review. We have so many growth opportunities for our colleagues and an amazing culture - glad you agree!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is great at taking care of its people. There are many great benefits and programs you can use, and management is there when you need them.

    Cons

    Working on an off shift can be difficult if you have a family (though it can also be beneficial, if you're going to school and need time during the day, for example).

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-06-02

    Thermo Fisher Scientific Response

    June 3, 2019Sr. Recruiter

    Your review of your experience with us is greatly appreciated. We are pleased that you have enjoyed yourself with Thermo Fisher Scientific and trust you will continue to have a positive experience with us.

  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Kalamazoo, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work, they care for employees

    Cons

    Such a large organization you can get lost.

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-06-05

    Thermo Fisher Scientific Response

    June 6, 2019EBM Consultant

    Thank you for your review and we really do strive to care for our colleagues - professionally and personally. Our organization is quite large on a global scale, which can be challenging to navigate, but it offers endless opportunities for growth!

  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good benefits, employees care about others success

      Cons

      i have not yet experienced any cons

      Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-06-04

      Thermo Fisher Scientific Response

      June 6, 2019EBM Consultant

      Welcome to the team and great to read you are enjoying our talented colleagues and comprehensive benefits. Glad to have you with us!

    • "Awesome company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Procurement Specialist in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Benefits are great. 6% match on 401k, good healthcare, they really care about internal growth and personal development. Good PTO to start too.

      Cons

      Its easy to feel lost in the huge machine that is Thermo Fisher.

      Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-06-05

      Thermo Fisher Scientific Response

      June 6, 2019EBM Consultant

      We value our colleagues and supporting them with exceptional benefits. Thank you for the positive feedback and hope you continue to grow with us!

    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Site Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      The employees are great to work with.

      Cons

      Stressful at times but well worth the time.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work

      Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-06-03

      Thermo Fisher Scientific Response

      June 6, 2019EBM Consultant

      We value your feedback and are sorry to see you leave. We are glad you enjoyed your career with us and appreciate your dedication during demanding work periods!

    • Helpful (1)

      "Good on Resume"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time

      Pros

      Nicely run company, good on resume.

      Cons

      Pay should be so much better, resulting in higher than necessary turnover.

      Advice to Management

      Pay your employees more.

      Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-05-29
    • "Lots of potential"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Great growth company for learning and community value

      Cons

      Highly politically decisions and actions

      Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-05-30
    Found 2778 reviews