Things Remembered Reviews | Glassdoor

Things Remembered Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 532 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
Nelson Tejada
111 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Single coverage during shifts or very few employees(in 74 reviews)

  • "No breaks, and frequently my managers refused to give me a lunch break on 6(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "worked here 3 seasons engraving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Engraver in North Jackson, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Things Remembered full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    fun time goes fast flexible scheduale

    Cons

    need to keep work better organised

    Things Remembered2017-09-30
  2. "Loved company but got rid of too many good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Things Remembered full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Full time employees have open opportunities to have overtine when it's busy or understaffed. If you're well trained you can be transferred to different locations to help out and make more money. There's so many ways to benefit in training if you're up for it. Engraving is exciting and fun if you actually train properly.

    Cons

    You're sometimes given empty promises for promotions. Staff beneath you can be very disrespectful so you need to keep a tight leash on them. Always keep an eye on your payroll it will affect your next week's scheduling.

    Things Remembered2019-04-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Easy going, fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Saint Peters, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Things Remembered part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It was a very easy seasonal job an the training was handled very well. The manager is knowledgeable and understanding- definitely one of the most charismatic and level headed managers I've ever had

    Cons

    I was told I would be hired for seasonal work (December - January) and I was only worked 1.5 weeks and not given any more hours despite being led to believe I would be working more.

    Advice to Management

    Be more upfront about the hours you can offer seasonal workers

    Things Remembered2019-03-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Company is safe... for now."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Things Remembered

    Pros

    Great customers. The days go by fast when busy. Lots of great benefits for full time employees. Engraving is fun. Flexible scheduling. Customers are always #1 priority and the company really stands behind that.

    Cons

    Single coverage. Several hours on your feet without even a break or a chance to use the restroom. Many of the store managers have a “my way or the highway” way of thinking. LOTS of good, hardworking people let go... many employees that gave their life’s work to this company laid off with a very small severance package, if any at all. Company isn’t around for the long haul. A little more than 150 stores were recently saved...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your good employees are currently scared. They say they are sticking with the company but several are seeking new employment. Do something.

    Things Remembered2019-03-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Ehh could do better company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Things Remembered part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Discount on merchandise Learn to engrave Work alone

    Cons

    Pay was basic with everything you had to do Work alone

    Things Remembered2019-03-14
  6. Helpful (3)

    "It will never change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Things Remembered full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    The ability to customize unique gifts

    Cons

    After a bankrupcy and restructure they will never learn. They kept many home office people they should have let go. They laid off people that knew how to perform and only left a few good people.

    Advice to Management

    You still have major leadership issued you let people that truely loved TR be a part of your laid off group, now your stuck with leadership who has never delivered...Good luck with that...meanwhile its time for a new company. So i will do my job but look for a company who doesnt Cut off their own legs.

    Things Remembered2019-03-19
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Things Remembered part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun people to work with Satisfying work

    Cons

    Lack of regional and global leadership.

    Things Remembered2019-03-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Highland Heights, Cuyahoga, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Things Remembered full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I can't really remember anything positive

    Cons

    Lack of qualified leadership and lack of innovation

    Things Remembered2019-04-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "No"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Things Remembered part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible if fully staffed and you work alone.

    Cons

    Working sing coverage when busy.

    Advice to Management

    They closed am not surprised.

    Things Remembered2019-03-07
  10. "Great Company<3"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Things Remembered full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Create customized gifts for each customer Great teamwork Fast pace work environment

    Cons

    You can work alone at times

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Things Remembered2019-02-16
Found 532 reviews