Thinx Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
42%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Thinx CEO Maria Molland Selby
Maria Molland Selby
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "awful and inconsistent company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Coordinator 

    I have been working at Thinx full-time

    Pros

    getting the name on your resume

    Cons

    inconsistent and messy environment and leadership

    Thinx2019-09-13
  2. Helpful (12)

    "Believe the not so positive reviews"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Thinx full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You learn a lot. The product is amazing. Some of the fellow co-workers especially non-executive team are wonderful caring people.

    Cons

    This is tough. Everyone has their own experience based on their team and where they came from. The way the most recent positive review stated the company should make money, it's a for-profit...we all get that, but there is a difference between greed/ hunger clawing versus ignoring the silent pleas of the people who are making the product and community happen. It has the underlying feeling of being in a hedge fund sometimes. On the cover, it's all roses and fluff but lift the hood, or peek behind the curtain and you experience something different. Again this is tough not to point out the people who seem to create this mood but it is what it is. The further you are from the executive team the better your experience might be, but there are a grey cloud and the right sizing of salaries, which all large companies in NYC do on a reg. is not enough to balance the feeling you get that not all is transparent and not everyone is humble. I'm trying how to address this and not point fingers so if you do come on board just know it is not like this other places. You can learn a lot. Hack thick skin more than NYC usual. Some people are favored and some are not. You will see that quickly. It's the tough part.

    Continue reading
    Thinx2019-04-30
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Current Employee"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Thinx full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most people are nice. Benefits are decent.

    Cons

    Totally agree with other reviews- - Extremely disorganized. - Incompetent senior level managers who have no idea how to grow the business/lead the team. - Some people in leadership role are incapable of figuring out /resolve real problems. - Senior managers don’t take accountability on their mistakes. - There is no good control on budgets. - Many hardworking employees are definitely undervalued compared to talkers. - The company has failed to retain truly valuable employees. So many good people left and more are probably leaving soon!!! - The company would rather pay tons of money to contractors than paying reasonable salaries to the full time employees. - Lack of transparency on decision making. The management doesn’t value employee/ team equally. Favoritisms is quite noticeable. CEO always sides the wrong side and makes wrong decisions!

    Continue reading
    Thinx2019-04-10
  4. Helpful (9)

    "A shell of what THINX once was"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Thinx full-time

    Pros

    Passionate employees, and decent benefits.

    Cons

    - Very disorganized, poor communication across the company - No long-term strategic vision - Low employee morale - Leadership makes big knee-jerk decisions on flimsy data - Claims to be data driven, but CEO frequently makes decision based on what she thinks or what her friends say - While employees still believe in the mission, leadership is so focused on business growth that they've put the kibosh on any creative or messaging that feels "too provocative" for middle America. The brand has become boring and devoid of real heart. - CEO and other c-suite members have made comments about models being too large, "too ethnic" or not pretty enough.

    Continue reading
    Thinx2019-03-29

    Thinx Response

    April 7, 2019VP

    We are happy that you agree that we have very dedicated and passionate team--something we should all take pride in! We are proud to be creating change in a space that desperately needs changing, but this is just the beginning. The executive team is laser focused on expanding into global markets to reach every body* through innovative solutions and social change. Our strategy won’t change, but, as with any start up, the tactics that will enable us to reach our vision often change based on what we learn along the journey. We are sorry that your experience doesn’t meet your expectations.. We always aim to deliver a positive, inclusive, data driven environment and are disappointed when someone feels that we miss the mark! Thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We will use the feedback to continue to improve. Thinx HR Team

  5. Helpful (8)

    "Confused by the other reviews.."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thinx full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am confused by the other reviews- Thinx has amazing team mates (super friendly, helpful even if outside of their job scope, smart, fun to be around), great product, approachable and transparent leadership. Also, there is zero bureaucracy and very little, if any, politics. PSA to some of the other employee posts: the CEO of any company should definitely care about money (we're a for profit, high-growth consumer products company and the current leader in an increasingly competitive space, after all), but she also very much cares about the mission and its one that is very obviously dear to her. In addition, if she says something that isn't accurate or offends anyone, she owns it immediately, apologizes, and puts in place a clear plan to remedy it via training, process, policy. How many other start up CEOs are as transparent about their opportunities for improvement and as welcoming of company-wide feedback on a weekly basis? I'll wait... Regarding HR, they have recently right sized salaries, reworked any reviews/bonuses (very generous regardless, and above-market standard) that needed attention, expanded the HR team and are continuing to put effort around HR process (hiring/reviews/feedback) in general, have hired an agency to train the entire staff on diversity, among other things. I truly wonder if some of the other reviewers simply have not worked any where else in their adult lives. I certainly have, and this organization is easily one of the most welcoming, productive, mission-driven places I've been lucky enough to work at, one that is a joy to come to every day. As with any other start up, we have a ton of opportunity to put in scalable process across a variety of cross functional areas and promote better communication between them, but this is all to be expected in this type of company and at this stage. I'd suggest those who aren't happy maybe look else where for work- the job market is great at the moment, so you likely won't have an issue pursuing other opportunities. The rest of us will continue to bring awareness to period poverty, provide access and education to those in marginalized communities, and promote a more sustainable and comfortable option to manage periods and bladder leaks.

    Cons

    The location of the office is not convenient.

    Continue reading
    Thinx2019-03-29
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thinx full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Transparent culture, high growth mode, mission driven

    Cons

    need more resources for the amount of work

    Continue reading
    Thinx2019-03-28
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Do not apply"

    1.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Thinx full-time

    Pros

    Smart, driven coworkers, dog friendly office, product discounts

    Cons

    Too many.. Thinx is a constant disappointment. Incompetent managers, disorganization on every project, CEO who cares about money more than people. Associates are underpaid and managers often take credit for their work. Overall toxic.

    Continue reading
    Thinx2019-03-20

    Thinx Response

    April 6, 2019VP

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Building a modern e-commerce startup with a daring vision is not an easy feat. THINX will always remain focused on our core values, mission, and most importantly, our people. . However, we are also a for profit company, so numbers and growth are important to all of us. We believe that positive change always begins with dialogue. In the spirit of that sentiment, we will be kicking off our Inclusion and Belonging training series starting in April. The 3-Session training is a comprehensive program that will help all of us challenge our biases around race and gender and learn how to communicate and work together more effectively. Since you are a current team member, we encourage you to talk your direct manager or the Head of HR and discuss these concerns in person. I assure you, we can work toward some resolutions. Thinx CEO

  8. Helpful (8)

    "Great Product, Lack of Vision and Leadership"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thinx full-time

    Pros

    Company has a strong mission. Product is kinda revolutionary. Lots of very passionate employees. Company has a bit of cache to it.

    Cons

    Company is super disorganized. Lot of people on the senior leadership team who should not be there. CEO and senior management don't seem to have a clear long term vision. Work environment can be a bit passive-aggressive.

    Continue reading
    Thinx2019-03-12

    Thinx Response

    April 6, 2019VP

    We agree our product is revolutionary--thanks for being part of a team that brought it to life. As a busy start-up with passionate employees, we can find ourselves taking on too much. That is why we are working to focus on our long range plan and stick to a streamlined strategy. Thank you for sharing your feedback--it only helps us improve as a company. Thinx CEO

  9. Helpful (6)

    "Learned a ton!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thinx full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Incredible team! Super motivating and dedicated to the mission. -Learned a lot about how a business works -Commuter Benefits, insurance, office snacks, furry friends allowed -Great products -Fun events

    Cons

    -Hard to communicate up -Communication down to my team was almost always non-existent which resulted in high stress situations -My team was often taken advantage of and severely understaffed -My salary was lower than rest of team and extremely low for the amount of work I was doing -Performed managerial work on top of my actual job requirements and was not compensated for it at all -Was known as 'team lead' but was not given actual title, as I left the company I was asked who on my team should be promoted to 'team lead' to replace me -Took on massive workload during all company sales that resulted in weekend and overtime work that I wasn't paid for -Others often took credit for my work -Was titled an associate but performed all job responsibilities listed under manager role -Company culture became a bit negative as I was leaving the company -Many coworkers felt they were overworked and under resourced -Was promised opportunity to grow within role or onto another role after a year, was not given any opportunity after almost 2 years -Only two senior staff members cared to step into my teams office once a week to check in or see how things were going, other than that there was barely any communication between my team and the rest of the company -There are definitely issues concerning diversity of employees as well as models that work for the company. I know many other employees have an issue with this as well and it's quite uncomfortable when it's communicated up but ignored. -There are many people in leadership roles in the company that shouldn't be. There are many employees that aren't in leadership roles that should be.

    Continue reading
    Thinx2019-03-04

    Thinx Response

    April 6, 2019VP

    Thank you for sharing about your time at THINX. We truly value all of our employees and appreciate hearing feedback, both the good and the bad. That is why we work to have an open door policy and encourage everyone to speak up with ideas and thoughts they have for the company. Additionally, we have recently introduced a new head of HR who is assisting to implement better communication and work processes. Thinx CEO

  10. "Overall, good experience!"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate 

    I worked at Thinx full-time

    Pros

    - Awesome team of women (and men) to work with and learn from - Commuter benefits, health insurance, maternity leave

    Cons

    - Difficult to receive meaningful mentorship - Often felt CX team was taken for granted and taken advantage of

    Thinx2019-01-14
Found 26 reviews