Thomas Keller Restaurant Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Thomas Keller Restaurant Group Reviews

Updated Jul 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Thomas Keller Restaurant Group CEO Thomas Keller (no image)
Thomas Keller
22 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Server/Bartender in Napa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomas Keller Restaurant Group for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I loved working for this company. The food is exceptional and the staff is all great, more like a family than co-workers. I would highly recommend working here.

    Cons

    None, not one. I wish I could have stayed longer.

    Continue reading
    Thomas Keller Restaurant Group2016-10-02
  2. "Excellence in every way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Private Event Manager in Beverly Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Thomas Keller Restaurant Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    standards of excellence, attention to detail

    Cons

    none none none none none

    Thomas Keller Restaurant Group2016-09-20
  3. "Loyalty Pays Off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas Keller Restaurant Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fantastic company to work for and I'm very grateful to have the benefits I have received. 10 Days paid off in January and August. Travel, scholarships, promotions.

    Cons

    You see your friends in the industry progress faster than you. However, when you do leave it PAYS OFF. So the con...you have to put your time in. (Not really a con...couldn't think of one.)

    Thomas Keller Restaurant Group2016-08-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomas Keller Restaurant Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Was trained to train others, trained to organize work and time efficiently. Implemented the beginning of an 8 hr work day while there, which allowed us to work on other projects

    Cons

    Low salary, and a management style that encourages a "mean" attitude sometimes towards those beneath you in rank.

    Continue reading
    Thomas Keller Restaurant Group2016-06-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "HORRIBLE and SICKENING experience all around!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House in Los Angeles, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thomas Keller Restaurant Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The name looks good on paper (resume) NO pros apart from the "live and learn" type of life experience - will choose a better work environment next time around!

    Cons

    ABUSIVE work environment/abusive management/ abusive mentality all around. Chefs & managers are arrogant and MEAN! They simply feel like they own you. And will discard you on a whim. They take advantage of the staff and think it's normal. Management threatens the staff on a daily basis. They lie and manipulate to get their way. TK is just an emperor with no clothes. That's all. But most people do not see "it" for what it is. They buy into his celebrity status and feel less than - therefore accept their subservient condition. Sad, very sad indeed!

    Continue reading
    Thomas Keller Restaurant Group2016-05-14
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Retail Associate at Bakery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Associate in Yountville, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomas Keller Restaurant Group part-time

    Pros

    Great experience and worked with fun people.

    Cons

    Not equal compensation for work. 8 hours of non-stop movement at awkward hours of the day in the bakery and made $10/hr plus roughly $30 tips a day.

    Thomas Keller Restaurant Group2015-10-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Brand will get you everywhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender/Server in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas Keller Restaurant Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well known CEO Well known brand Good benefits Flexible Nice atmosphere Good discount

    Cons

    Not much room for growing Needs more females in the work place Very frugal

    Continue reading
    Thomas Keller Restaurant Group2015-08-07
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great name horrible pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomas Keller Restaurant Group

    Pros

    Excellent benefits package, structure and room to grow.

    Cons

    Terrible pay for the hours worked

    Continue reading
    Thomas Keller Restaurant Group2015-05-21
  9. "Very extensive training, but very informative."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Thomas Keller Restaurant Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great learning experience. Good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Very strict rules and protocol.

    Thomas Keller Restaurant Group2015-05-12
  10. Helpful (5)

    "They might care about you, or not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomas Keller Restaurant Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Servers and bussers like their job. Chance to be associated with a great chef

    Cons

    See kitchen employees being treated differently than the front of house staff. I guess that's normal, but it seems weird to work for the same company but have huge difference of work/life structure...We get breaks, sit to eat, get paid fair, workload is fair, but are more like slaves...heard bathroom breaks are hard to come by, always running around..eek

    Continue reading
    Thomas Keller Restaurant Group2015-05-11
Found 33 reviews