ThomasArts Reviews | Glassdoor

ThomasArts Reviews

Updated Mar 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Dave Thomas
43 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 6 reviews)

  • "While the hours are quite flexible, we are an ad agency; when the client works we work(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Work that feels like family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Farmington, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThomasArts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great people who are talented and passionate about their work -Great work environment -Constant growth and change -Giving atmosphere -Copious amounts of food...always...everywhere -Paid maternity leave for FT employees. (This is AMAZING.) There's really too many benefits to list here. Bottom line - this is a great place to work. The people are awesome, and the work is rewarding. Employees are treated generously, and management is responsive. Things aren't perfect, but they feel like family.

    Cons

    Most of the "cons" are just agency life characteristics. The work can be tedious' clients can be stressful, and the hours can be long at times. It's not for everyone, but I love it. -Management has been working hard to streamline frustrating processes as the company grows. There's still progress to be made here, but it's going in the right direction.

    Continue reading
    ThomasArts2019-01-15
  2. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ThomasArts

    Pros

    Balanced work schedule. Creative environment. Nice coworkers.

    Cons

    Seems all the decisions are made by account managers, and not the creatives.

    Continue reading
    ThomasArts2019-03-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Talented & Driven Agency | True Professionals | Growth Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThomasArts full-time

    Pros

    TA is one of the most professional, driven, caring agencies I’ve worked for. They also somehow manage to gather and retain some of the most talented and smartest individuals I’ve had the pleasure of working with. The leadership team at TA truly embodies the meaning of the word. They provide the leadership/guidance/tools to drive positive change – whether it’s related to new business, or by enhancing their employees’ day-to-day. On an individual level, leadership and management work closely with team members to ensure they are on the right professional path. And if you work hard, there is plenty of opportunity for growth. TA works with such a comprehensive mix of clients, including large, national brands. The projects are diverse and interesting. I’ve also never seen a company that prides itself more on not only the work they deliver, but the service and partnership they provide to clients. I enjoy going to the office each day knowing that I’ll not only be enjoying the work, but the people around me. Nothing is worse than a stifling, sterile professional environment. Our office is fun, light, creative and motivating. We have a good camaraderie that extends into monthly trivia, happy hours and even late-night karaoke (we’re good).

    Cons

    Workload can get tough; but it ebbs and flows. Nothing out of the ordinary for agencies.

    Continue reading
    ThomasArts2019-01-08
  4. "Not the best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ThomasArts

    Pros

    Plenty of food on holidays, party's, etc.

    Cons

    Too many layoffs because there aren't enough large clients to keep employees if one client leaves. Too cliquey for my taste.

    Continue reading
    ThomasArts2019-01-02

    ThomasArts Response

    January 4, 2019Director of Human Resources

    TA’s parties and food are indeed legendary! While we always welcome feedback, we feel the other points of this review fall short of the mark in accuracy and may reflect an antiquated perspective. TA is in an exciting growth mode and hasn’t experienced layoffs in a long time. We pride ourselves in providing stable employment opportunities with lots of growth potential. Also, we are fortunate to work with some of the country’s largest brands, including a number of Fortune 50 and 100 clients, and we have enjoyed great stability and growth in those relationships and in new business opportunities. To stay relevant and competitive, we do work hard to innovate our products and services and invest in our incredible employees.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Yes, "ThomasArts is really as great as it appears...""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Farmington, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThomasArts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Back in March 2017, a former coworker, who is now a present coworker at TA, reached out to me via LinkedIn to ask: Is ThomasArts really as great as it seems? This is how I answered him: "ThomasArts is really as great as it appears, but everyone has their own perspective/experience to build for themselves. For me, I honestly love it. I would not drive clear up from Orem for just any paycheck. Things I love: I am treated with respect, cared about personally, as well as professionally, get to be involved as a subject matter expert on huge client projects and get to work with people who have serious professional chops. All of that means a lot to me. Also, the Board (Bosses) are so thoughtful, smart, and hungry for success. I look up to them and know they are making choices that are for the good, long term growth and success of the agency and the people who work here. They don't have to care, but they really, really do. I cannot tell you how many times the agency has done something thoughtful that they didn't have to do; company lunches, holiday parties, movie tickets or other cool things on work anniversaries, being recognized in staff meetings for the great work people do, and more. They take care of their people here. I mean that. I work hard and sometimes that means long hours, but that is agency work. The difference here is that it is appreciated. [Manager's name] watches out for us on his team. He is an exceptional leader and is so smart. I respect him a lot. [Other Manager's name] is just awesome as well. He knows his stuff and is someone I look up to as well. I love our team; no pretense, just hard work and some of the best people you'll ever get to work with. I could go on and on, but like I said, you'll need to have your own experience based on your perception." If you want to be: Trusted Pushed to be the expert in your field that you want to be/should be Appreciated Cared for Valued Recognized To work on projects for huge national brand names Great benefits then yes, TA is the place for you. I recommend TA to any qualified professional friends/family of mine as jobs come available. Personal note: I drive 55 miles to get to work here 3 days a week. Due to the distance, TA has worked with me to arrange for 2 days work at home and 3 days in the office. This is an incredible benefit to me and my family. I have had this schedule for 3 years now. I am so grateful for the schedule flexibility at TA. I do get approached a couple of times a week with inquiries about other jobs or companies that are closer to my home in Orem. But I don't even need to look at them. Why? Because money is money, but a workplace that I love, doing the work I love, with amazing people and a leadership that I look up to matters to me. I need that as much as I need to make the most of a salary. I get all of that here.at ThomasArts. I am happy and set for the foreseeable future.

    Cons

    People often seem to have a difficult time with work load and long hours. This is not an issue for me. This seems to be the agency life that appeals to me; never boring, always moving, the stakes are high and the work meaningful. I give Work/Life Balance 3 stars because this is an agency; I would not give any agency more than 3 stars for that particular item. The only con for me is that I wish I were closer to work. I've had brutal 2 1/2 hour commutes on the way home. This digs into the time I get to see my family. But this is not TA's fault. I choose to live where I do because my family and extended family are in the Provo/Orem area. This is the only real con I can say that applies to me.

    Continue reading
    ThomasArts2018-09-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Overall a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThomasArts full-time

    Pros

    -Incredible day-to-day atmosphere -Free snacks and soda, plus lots of food on any given day -Casual dress code. Just don't look like you rolled out of bed -Support a culture of having fun, goofing-off and play, but with the expectation that work comes first and being lazy isn't tolerated. -Most if not all employees care about the work they are putting in -Great mentors to leash onto -They throw you into the fire -Great way to gain experience -Advancement opportunities -Leadership really does seem to care -CEO and board know your name and learn it very quick -Family focused company -Great benefits and PTO. Gym reimbursement. These "Pros" are unique in my career experience.

    Cons

    -Not a very clear process of knowing what one can personally do to get promoted. It feels like a lot of the time it's just hoping it'll happen sooner or later -Not enough 1-on-1 meetings to gain feedback. Currently only doing so once a year. Probably should be semi-annual. -Easy to fall through the cracks and feel forgotten -They throw you into the fire -If you aren't ready for it, you may struggle at first -Can be challenging to work with co-workers on the east coast -There are a number of egos that you are competing with that put down potential ideas for their own gain These "Cons" you'll see in most companies. I have experienced each of these cons throughout my different careers.

    Continue reading
    ThomasArts2018-06-25
  7. "Valued and Appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Farmington, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThomasArts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Real career growth is possible Bring ideas to the table, they are all considered Great culture of collaboration Remodeling office space Snacks, soda and benefits National Fortune 100 client portfolio Great health and insurance benefits flexible time off lots of fun, celebrations and parties

    Cons

    Workload can be seasonal, but evens out over the course of the year.

    Continue reading
    ThomasArts2018-06-15
  8. "Amazing culture and benefits with a CEO that truly cares about ALL of his people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Farmington, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThomasArts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food and drinks all of the time, Gym reimbursement, matching dollar for dollar 401K, great insurance, bonus opportunities, 11 paid holidays, and family friendly with great PTO. You get to work with extremely talented people and have fun while doing so. Work hard, play hard! They literally have a fun party for every holiday.

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours but not all of the time. The building is currently going through some renovations which is a little hard to work around but should be a great improvement once it's all complete.

    Continue reading
    ThomasArts2018-05-28
  9. "Great people, frinetic pace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copywriter in Farmington, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ThomasArts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Couldn't ask for better people to work for and with.

    Cons

    The work can be dry and the hours very demanding.

    Continue reading
    ThomasArts2018-05-14
  10. "Love these guys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Executive Management in Farmington, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThomasArts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good, talented people with great character.

    Cons

    Long hours, sometimes stressful client/work situations.

    Continue reading
    ThomasArts2018-04-17
Found 62 reviews