Thompson Hospitality Reviews | Glassdoor

Thompson Hospitality Reviews

Updated Jan 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
36%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Thompson Hospitality CEO Warren Thompson (no image)
Warren Thompson
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Absolutely no pros of this company(in 6 reviews)

  • "The company is working hard to improve services and work environment(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Management pretends to be oblivious about the unethical practices in the corporate office and out in the field(in 10 reviews)

  • "No work/life balance, full of crooks(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Work hard and smart = success for you and your company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thompson Hospitality full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    So much hard work and good works happening in this company. Thankful for all the smart, kind and compassion associates I work with each day. The future at Thompson Hospitality is very bright.

    Cons

    Positive morale is valuable to us all. Let's have a pleasant and professional attitude each day in the workplace.

    Advice to Management

    Communication is key: Address it immediately when an employee isn’t meeting a high bar. Treat people with compassion even in the hardest moments, like letting someone go, treat employees with kindness and dignity. You can’t give too much positive feedback, as long as it’s sincere; people will always appreciate it. Take a minute each day to send a positive email or make a positive comment. You can make someone’s day with only one minute of your time.

    Show More
    Thompson Hospitality2019-08-28
  2. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Outlet Market Merchant 

    I have been working at Thompson Hospitality part-time

    Pros

    Salary is comparable to area

    Cons

    Benefits Vacation Sick time off

    Thompson Hospitality2020-01-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Office Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Management in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thompson Hospitality full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Absolutely no pros of this company

    Cons

    One person controls the entire company. HR, Payroll, Culinary, Procurement, etc. Worst communication from senior management. Work life balance non existent. No promotion from within.

    Advice to Management

    No advice. No longer there.

    Thompson Hospitality2019-11-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Catering/Retail manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thompson Hospitality full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great concepts Great top tier leadership

    Cons

    Middle management communication System and process unorganization Human resource operations slow, unhealthy, unorganized Poor pay scale and subpar benefits

    Advice to Management

    Continuous training Corporate trainers and a better on boarding process Upgrade and reorganize the human resource department completely

    Thompson Hospitality2019-10-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Worst company I've ever worked for..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Director in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thompson Hospitality full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None I can think of.

    Cons

    Low pay, awful senior managers, micromanaging.

    Advice to Management

    Let the staff do their job and quit micromanaging....

    Thompson Hospitality2019-08-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "The job was good just need higher pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Thompson Hospitality

    Pros

    Where I work for the company at was a college so the was good for me be cause I was out for the summers.

    Cons

    I just think it should’ve been higher pay raises.

    Advice to Management

    My management was good to me.

    Thompson Hospitality2019-06-13
  7. "Don’t work there. This is a garbage place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Caterer in Lincoln University, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thompson Hospitality full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None. This is the worst place to work

    Cons

    Always disrespectful Poor pay Bosses were liars Mistreatment

    Advice to Management

    Don’t over work your staff. And pay your full time the same wage as part time employees. Management is poor as well

    Thompson Hospitality2019-05-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "The worse job I ver had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thompson Hospitality

    Pros

    There are no pros at all!

    Cons

    This company has a horrible working environment, they don't respect the employees, they are cheap in everything that they do. Do yourself a huge favor and don't work for them.

    Advice to Management

    Please respect your employees and provide decent working conditions.

    Thompson Hospitality2019-03-01
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Food Court for students and faculty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Itta Bena, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thompson Hospitality full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Quality,Quantity and quick. Working different events all through the year

    Cons

    Not enough workers, not enough variety, more from salad bar

    Advice to Management

    Promote more within each institution. Make more visits to each and everyone of your business ventures. Stop turning your noses up looking down on others. Greet everyone with a smile.

    Thompson Hospitality2018-12-29
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Should have taken a hint from the reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail in Reston, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thompson Hospitality for less than a year

    Pros

    Visually nice lobby and breakroom

    Cons

    I have worked for numerous corporate offices in my career and never experienced a company that was in so much disarray as Thompson Hospitality. The retail food group flys by the seat of their pants and makes desicions very hastily without thinking things through. No one seems to like their job and i constantly heard people venting and saying such negativity about the company. Especially from the top. I left the company at my own will a few months after starting because I did not want to get myself wrapped up in the chaos. Such a toxic and clueless environment. There is so much turnover and I see why.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You should structure the top leadership differently

    Thompson Hospitality2018-10-24
Found 95 reviews