Thomson Reuters Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Thomson Reuters Director Reviews

Updated 19 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Thomson Reuters CEO James C. Smith
James C. Smith
56 Ratings
  1. "good place to work. nice people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    nice team and good work-life balance

    Cons

    No clear company and product strategy

    Thomson Reuters2019-01-27

    Thomson Reuters Response

    January 28, 2019Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We're proud to have been named among the top 25 companies striving to promote a work-life balance as a part of company culture.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Solid company - but many ways to get better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Director in Eagan, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity because change is constant. Work with many top tier third party vendors. Tons of great people to work with at all levels.

    Cons

    Decisions and direction from senior leaders often done in a vacuum. Alot of work being farmed to 3rd parties, even when our experience generally hasn't been great.

    Advice to Management

    Stop listening to the vendors and consider more closely if the mix of 3rd party, contracted and internally provided services is benefiting the mission.

    Thomson Reuters2019-09-15
  3. "Working at TR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director, Finance in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interesting work. Good team.

    Cons

    Roles are not well defined.

    Thomson Reuters2019-06-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Marketing Management 

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    Took advantage of my legal background

    Cons

    Not innovative. Relies too much on flagship product.

    Thomson Reuters2019-02-13
  5. "Overall, solid experience with consistent revenue growth opportunity."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive management, able to work independently without micro management.

    Cons

    Salary remained flat long term

    Thomson Reuters2019-01-21

    Thomson Reuters Response

    January 28, 2019Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We thank you & congratulate you on your 5+ years of service.

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Sr. director of Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director Finance in Eagan, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people, culture. Pay for performance,

    Cons

    Always downsizing, fear of layoffs,

    Advice to Management

    Stop the constant restructuring

    Thomson Reuters2018-10-21

    Thomson Reuters Response

    October 26, 2018Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We thank you & congratulate you on your 8+ years of service.

  7. "TR is a big company which acts like a big company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Relatively stable environment and plenty of opportunity to advance.

    Cons

    Expect an annual reorg where you very possibly will have a new boss.

    Thomson Reuters2018-10-25

    Thomson Reuters Response

    October 26, 2018Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your contribution. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your feedback.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Long way to GO, send so called LEADERSHIP to TEAM 101 basics."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Coppell, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brand, international presence, recurring legacy product revenue.

    Cons

    Lack of basic LEADERSHIP 101

    Advice to Management

    At minimum do basic LEADERSHIP training.

    Thomson Reuters2018-10-14

    Thomson Reuters Response

    October 16, 2018Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your contribution. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your feedback.

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good products and ideas. Many nice people who work very hard.

    Cons

    Terrible management and execution. Yearly layoffs in the fall -- hiring in the spring.

    Advice to Management

    Fire everyone in Eagan, MN. Jobs for life with poor performers being handed around. Their salary is lower so no replacing in New York or London. Culture training was joke. Constant freezes on travel and hiring.

    Thomson Reuters2018-09-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Work Life Balance Considered But Not Honored"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Carrollton, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Camaraderie, Innovation, the employees. The well-established people are good people and it is an honor to work with them.

    Cons

    Short-sighted at times budget wise to make goals.

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget the people when trying to meet goals. They are the ones that will carry you through.

    Thomson Reuters2018-06-09
Found 149 reviews