Thomson Reuters Lead Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Thomson Reuters Lead Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Thomson Reuters CEO James C. Smith
James C. Smith
27 Ratings
  1. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice place to grow and best place to learn.

    Cons

    Nothing much as of today.

    Thomson Reuters2019-06-01

    Thomson Reuters Response

    July 30, 2019Global Employer Branding Lead

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We thank you and congratulate you on your 5+ years of service!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Doing more with contractors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice bonus year after year

    Cons

    Management moving to more and more contract programmers

    Advice to Management

    Research how effective the use of contract help really is

    Thomson Reuters2019-06-25
  3. Helpful (12)

    "Should have left years ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Eagan, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, such as in-house food options, physical therapist, convenience store, Caribou Coffee, shuttle service for the enormous parking lot and ability to work remotely. If you are a female technologist, you will have a distinct advantage over males, because of the effort to provide equality in this area and because there is a shortage of females in technology. Diverse workforce. Enjoy working with... people from many backgrounds and ethnicities.

    Show More

    Cons

    Fear of getting laid off every October. The company hires a bunch of people throughout the year, only to layoff a bunch at the end of the year. This cycle has gone on for at least 10 years and it brings uncertainty and fear to employees. This is not good for the culture and promotes negativity and poor company reviews (like this one). And no, I did not get laid off recently. Bonuses are a joke, unless you are... a new employee, or move around in the company. I had employees reporting to me who were given a bonus that was 4x what I received in 2018, despite receiving the same level of performance rating that I was given. No changes were made this year, even after I complained. Loyalty to the company means nothing to management. Employees are not important, they are just numbers. Reviews are purely subjective and hopefully your manager likes you enough to get a good review. No clear path for getting promoted, and moving to different departments is difficult. The only reason I stuck around was for the Pension Plan, but they managed to cut me off by moving me over to the new company that was formed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees fairly. Reward loyalty. Bring equality to bonuses.

    Thomson Reuters2019-03-18

    Thomson Reuters Response

    March 20, 2019Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your feedback - we are always looking at ways to make improvements & candid feedback is the best way for us to understand the areas where we need to focus.

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Ok company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Carrollton, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is pretty good Good Training Opportunities Good Insurance & decent 401K incentives

    Cons

    Appears to be more willing to outsource jobs instead of hiring and keeping full-time US talent Raises are scarce or low Being promoted takes an eternity

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to figure out how to keep stable leadership in place.

    Thomson Reuters2019-03-20

    Thomson Reuters Response

    March 20, 2019Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your contribution. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your feedback.

  5. "Awesome place to work !!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Carrollton, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance over here.

    Cons

    Some of the departments are being outsourced to consulting companies.

    Thomson Reuters2019-03-04
  6. "Lead software test engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Test Engineer in Eagan, MN

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good culture and good employees

    Cons

    Large company and hence slow moving.

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent.

    Thomson Reuters2018-11-28

    Thomson Reuters Response

    November 29, 2018Global Employer Branding Lead

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We thank you and congratulate you on your 10+ years of service.

  7. "Lead software engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Hoboken, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Full stack software engineer in Microsoft technologies.

    Cons

    There is no drawbacks as I know

    Thomson Reuters2018-06-29
  8. "Thomson Reuters - FindLaw"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Some interesting projects.

    Cons

    Large organization moves slowly. Put too many restrictions to itself

    Thomson Reuters2018-01-04
  9. "Lead Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lead Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters

    Pros

    Great people, professional environment Great work location. Room for advancement if you put in the time and effort. God salary and advancement potential.

    Cons

    Some in management are in over their heads. They tend to hire friends for management positions instead of promoting from within.

    Advice to Management

    Fire the losers. Develop the product line.

    Thomson Reuters2018-01-17
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Development Engineer in Eagan, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is good Most departments work on the latest and greatest technology

    Cons

    They are not a tech company so you will building software by putting together other technology from 3rd parties for the most part. Pay is below average They do not make exceptions even to retain the best talent. They do not attempt to hire and retain the best.

    Advice to Management

    Hire and retain the best by doing whatever it takes.

    Thomson Reuters2017-08-20
Found 72 reviews