Thomson Reuters Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Thomson Reuters Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 806 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Thomson Reuters CEO James C. Smith
James C. Smith
300 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Socially Responsible, Very understanding of unexpected life events. Smart people

    Cons

    Cost Focused, Layoffs in high cost areas are not uncommon.

    Thomson Reuters2019-09-03

    Thomson Reuters Response

    September 4, 2019Global Employer Branding Lead

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review! We appreciate your 10+ years of service!

  2. Helpful (3)

    "I was a dedicated asset to my department and the business division on a whole for 15+ years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Quick to learn, team player, invaluable asset to any position. Smart, innovative & self-motivated . Look no further to find your next employee. Here I am.

    Cons

    Unfair treatment of dedicated employees

    Advice to Management

    My manager was a complicated advisor. Cut throat & fierce in her path of success.

    Thomson Reuters2019-09-23

    Thomson Reuters Response

    September 26, 2019Global Employer Branding Lead

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your feedback.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Wouldn't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots to do Interaction with clients around the country Free Starbucks coffee daily

    Cons

    Poor management in FindLaw Unspoken expectations not shared until criticized about them Very sexist work environment by men and women alike

    Thomson Reuters2019-10-09
  4. "good location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    nice people, nice working relationship, location is good

    Cons

    hard deadline, sometimes pressure is high

    Thomson Reuters2019-09-27
  5. "Good company, can be a bit disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, freedom to do job

    Cons

    Can be a bit disorganized. Many different business units that don't always communicate effectively

    Thomson Reuters2019-09-19

    Thomson Reuters Response

    September 26, 2019Global Employer Branding Lead

    We appreciate your feedback. We have undergone a process to delayer the organization in order to make TR move faster. We have also undertaken new ways of working in order to encourage cross-functional teams so that we can better break down barriers and siloes so that we can better serve our customers.

    Show Less
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Thomson Reuters Work Experience Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Manager, Product Management in Carrollton, TX

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Many departments and openings available for transition, if desired.

    Cons

    Looking back, it was the epitome of working in the "corporate world".

    Thomson Reuters2019-09-13
  7. Helpful (2)

    "In transition, don't have a plan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creative Manager in Eagan, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Family leave. Decent pay.

    Cons

    Upper management is out of touch.

    Advice to Management

    Listen more.

    Thomson Reuters2019-09-05
  8. "Not recommended due to recent reorg"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible, 3 weeks vacation from start, may work at home depends which team.

    Cons

    Too much politics, reorg every 2 yrs or so, layoff every 2 years or so

    Thomson Reuters2019-09-26

    Thomson Reuters Response

    September 26, 2019Global Employer Branding Lead

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. As the market and our customers' needs are changing at such a quick pace, as a business, we must adapt our ways of working in order to continue to serve our customers and thrive in the marketplace.

  9. "Good Work Life Balance & travel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Account Manager 

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    Very good company with great people

    Cons

    Sometimes large territories depending on geography

    Thomson Reuters2019-08-08

    Thomson Reuters Response

    August 13, 2019Global Employer Branding Lead

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We're proud to have been named previously among the top 25 companies striving to promote a work-life balance as a part of company culture and continue to focus on providing flexibility to our employees.

  10. Helpful (4)

    "No support resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company allows people to work remote, even people nobody knows what they’re doing from home.

    Cons

    Onboarding is poor. Presentation by anyone but Human Resources. No IT support or Human Resources support, just a call center in another country that doesn’t answer the phone.

    Advice to Management

    Improve onboarding by having actual people available to assist. First impressions are lasting. Poor company orientation sets a bad tone. Terminate IT call center. It’s no help. All employees complain. You will continue to lose talent with bad new employee orientation.

    Thomson Reuters2019-09-04
Found 806 reviews