Thomson Reuters Reviews in New York City, NY | Glassdoor

Thomson Reuters New York City Reviews

Updated March 25, 2017
692 reviews

Filter

Filter

New York City, NY Area

3.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Thomson Reuters President & CEO James C. Smith
James C. Smith
226 Ratings

692 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Senior Evaluator"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Evalutor in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Senior Evalutor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Work Balance, Excellent Management, Room For Growth

    Cons

    Mostly male environment, Frequent reorganizations

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 22, 2017 – Analyst, Recruitment Brand and Channels

    Thank you for your contribution. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and our CEO, Jim Smith, recently announced that Thomson Reuters has committed to reaching a minimum of 40% female ... More


  2. "Decent company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Truly nice people; very supportive culture

    Cons

    because people are so nice, they often don't give real feedback

    Advice to Management

    spend more time with staff to get a real view of the world

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 22, 2017 – Analyst, Recruitment Brand and Channels

    Thank you for your contribution. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and are also working on a Management Training program to help build management skills. Thank you again for your ... More


  3. "Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good work life balance, Pay reasonably good if you are senior

    Cons

    Constant restructuring, Top heavy, Getting competed out by others

    Advice to Management

    Make tough choices

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 28, 2017 – Analyst, Recruitment Brand and Channels

    Thank you for your review - we are always looking at ways to make improvements & candid feedback is the best way for us to understand the areas where we need to focus.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "obervations of a large company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    benefits, flexible work arrangements. ad hoc

    Cons

    large company is too cumbersome to address issues in real time. also little room for growth. and you're expected to be available off hours even when you're not scheduled.

    Advice to Management

    Concentrate on the productive people working for you.


  6. "Poor leadership"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Work life balance is good. Good salary. Health care was ok. Work from home when needed. There really isn't too much more than this.

    Cons

    Layoffs every year. Back stabbing corporate culture for those who want to advance. Bonus payouts were never what was promised when I was recruited for the position.

    Advice to Management

    You're doing it wrong. Improve your products. Sub par products is not the fault of your employees but rather the decisions that you made and continue to make.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 28, 2017 – Analyst, Recruitment Brand and Channels

    Thank you for your contribution. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your feedback.


  7. "Former employee review"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Picture Sales in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Head of Picture Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    World class news organization. Opportunity to know talented people including journalists, colleagues and clients and learn so many things.

    Cons

    Often there can be too many cooks in the kitchen.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on clear paths, core values and don't be distracted by industry changes.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 16, 2017 – Recruiting Communications and Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We agree that when you work at Thomson Reuters, you’re partnering with the industry’s brightest thinkers. We are always looking at ways to make ... More


  8. "Producer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Producer in New York, NY
    Current Contractor - Producer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters as a contractor (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Not too stressful. Decent benefits, and reasonable management. Stories go to all across the world to many broadcasters and on-line clients, so big exposure.

    Cons

    Little ownership of stories, most of the time your name gets lost under company branding. Cost-cutting, news room size keeps shrinking and shrinking.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company overall. It's large scale stands in the way of innovation but if one works hard, it normally pays off."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Very international. Very diverse environment. Invests well into graduates. Due to its scale one can rotate from one job to another and get to know many different business areas.

    Cons

    Politics run deep and one needs to be aware of it and have an in. Regular layoffs are always in the back of one's mind. Unfortunately often such layoffs remove the wrong people.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to make sure to take care of its employees and ensure to keep the best talent. Also management should be aware of how political the organization is and make sure it doesn't crate inefficiencies.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 9, 2017 – Recruiting Communications and Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We thank you & congratulate you on your 8+ years of service. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your ... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Work Life Balance, Shoots Self In Foot"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Company offers very competitive benefits. Also offers reasonable hours, good work/life balance, flexible hours, working from home.

    Cons

    Company focuses on EBITDA and profit margin more than a sustainable business plan. Lack of single direction, lots of competing, poorly funded initiatives.

    Advice to Management

    Invest for growth.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 16, 2017 – Recruiting Communications and Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We're proud to have been named among the top 25 companies striving to promote a work-life balance as a part of company culture. We are always ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Account Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    The people were fun, good vacation plan, above average pay

    Cons

    Constantly changing business model, managers that don't understand the department the business, constant management restructure/changes because of new business plans, they lay off people every quarter when they don't make the numbers.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be so short-sighted and worrisome about quarterly numbers and instead give long-term plans a chance to work. Too much change, too often.



Showing 692 of 5,789 reviews
Reset Filters