Thomson Reuters Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Thomson Reuters Project Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 114 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Thomson Reuters CEO James C. Smith
James C. Smith
45 Ratings
  1. "Good job if you can get it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great customer focused organization with huge future vision.

    Cons

    Need to consider more geographic decertification.

    Thomson Reuters2019-02-01
  2. Helpful (3)

    "I was a dedicated asset to my department and the business division on a whole for 15+ years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Quick to learn, team player, invaluable asset to any position. Smart, innovative & self-motivated . Look no further to find your next employee. Here I am.

    Cons

    Unfair treatment of dedicated employees

    Continue reading
    Thomson Reuters2019-09-23

    Thomson Reuters Response

    September 26, 2019Global Employer Branding Lead

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Wouldn't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots to do Interaction with clients around the country Free Starbucks coffee daily

    Cons

    Poor management in FindLaw Unspoken expectations not shared until criticized about them Very sexist work environment by men and women alike

    Thomson Reuters2019-10-09
  4. "good location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    nice people, nice working relationship, location is good

    Cons

    hard deadline, sometimes pressure is high

    Thomson Reuters2019-09-27
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Decent place, horrible re-org"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Eagan, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    There are a fair amount of perks about working at TR; namely an above average PTO/Sick/Volunteer time; good healthcare coverage, and, at least for my team, working remote whenever we want to so long as work gets done. Comp plans are fine, but nothing to write home about, but I'd offset that with the fact that I can work from the cabin during the summers if I want to and it's not an issue.

    Cons

    There has been a significant shakeup at TR, with a couple of business units being sold off. Some teams were retained / reorged and a number of previous managers with years of experience with specific products were let go with little notice, with zero foresight into whether new management had the background or knowledge to competently take these teams and products on. The current management of these teams have zero experience with the products, and are scrambling to learn products while the teams flounder. Sales have been non-existent, leaving teams little to no work to do; morale is at an all time low, and it seems that no one in management cares enough to fix any of the above problems. If things continue in their current trajectory, TR will hemorrhage talented PMs like they've never seen, leaving already beleaguered teams woefully understaffed and lost.

    Continue reading
    Thomson Reuters2019-07-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting company, but missing a clear direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Denver, CO
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Thomson Reuters works on a lot of interesting products and services.

    Cons

    They seem to lack direction on product improvements, outsourcing, and their overall missing (information v technology). I left the company shortly before they closed a small office in Denver.

    Thomson Reuters2019-05-02

    Thomson Reuters Response

    May 16, 2019Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your contribution. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  7. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Eagan, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - flexibility - opportunities for growth

    Cons

    - income inconsistent across roles - large re-orgs

    Continue reading
    Thomson Reuters2019-04-04

    Thomson Reuters Response

    April 5, 2019Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We agree that when you work at Thomson Reuters, you’re partnering with the industry’s brightest thinkers. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people in the company

    Cons

    Change every 6 months and no time to see real results

    Continue reading
    Thomson Reuters2019-02-25
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Culver City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work environment and free donuts every Friday

    Cons

    Management has favoritism with employees especially during layoffs the best works are terminated and the favorites are kept. This company is not the same anymore... I am looking to get out not a stable place to work anymore.

    Thomson Reuters2019-03-14

    Thomson Reuters Response

    March 20, 2019Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your contribution. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Above average large company getting gradually worse to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Project Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Packed with intelligent, dedicated people, young and mature, new and established makes for encouraging, supportive work environment and teamwork. Clear goals and reasonable, regular performance assessments. Good benefits (gradually reducing under the ownership of the Thomson family) Some flexible working. Plenty of variety of jobs if you want to move around.

    Cons

    Random re-orgs and layoffs every year lead to a rather 'Russian roulette' atmosphere at times. In the 20+ years I was there we repeatedly abruptly lost some of our best people from our project teams due to this randomness. Favoritism and luck rather than talent-based advancement. Silo culture is rampant. In some offices people don't know who sits next to them if they are not in the same business unit/team. Vacation days reduced in last 10 years. Bureaucratic, slow moving, full of jargon

    Continue reading
    Thomson Reuters2017-10-17
Found 114 reviews