Thomson Reuters Reviews | Glassdoor

Thomson Reuters Reviews

Updated March 29, 2017
762 reviews

Filter

Filter


5.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Thomson Reuters President & CEO James C. Smith
James C. Smith
354 Ratings

762 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Marketer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Eagan, MN
    Current Employee - Marketing in Eagan, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The business model is fantastic and future faced

    Cons

    It's hard to get promoted

    Advice to Management

    Either do away w/ the levels or find a way to promote more people...it costs our business a lot of money to let qualified people leave and come back just to get a higher salary and a new title.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 28, 2017 – Analyst, Recruitment Brand and Channels

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We thank you & congratulate you on your 10+ years of service.


  2. "Great company to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    They really invest in their talent and customers.

    Cons

    Large company, so you have to be self-driven to move around...not necessarily a bad thing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep re-investing in products.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – Analyst, Recruitment Brand and Channels

    Thank you for your contribution. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your feedback.


  3. "Good job."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    Very laidback, and easy going job

    Cons

    Not enough work to do

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 22, 2017 – Analyst, Recruitment Brand and Channels

    Thank you for your feedback.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Project Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great staff. Wonderful collaboration. Great pay and room for advancement

    Cons

    Strategic locations all others are being downsized regardless of quality of work

    Advice to Management

    Review all employees last reviews before laying them off.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 16, 2017 – Recruiting Communications and Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We agree that when you work at Thomson Reuters, you’re partnering with the industry’s brightest thinkers. We are always looking at ways to make ... More


  6. "Great Team"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I was working with the Serengeti Tracker group at Thomson Reuters in Chicago. The entire team worked remotely, which was amazing for most team members because they saved expenses associated with commuting.

    The team was extremely laid back and we met in the office every few months or so either for recreational activities of to discuss new initiatives. In fact it's one of the best teams I have worked for as far as rapport goes.

    Cons

    The software was a legacy system which poses some challenges, but management is aware and perhaps worried about being completely antiquated and hence very open to modernizing components as per suggestions from team members.

    The working from home pitch was great, but I didn't realize you were given a desktop and a phone when you sign up, which means you can't go sit in a starbucks somewhere and code.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. Management was amazing.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 9, 2017 – Recruiting Communications and Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We're proud to have been named among the top 25 companies striving to promote a work-life balance as a part of company culture.


  7. "Field Sales, Legal"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive
    Current Employee - Account Executive
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great products, great reputation. Hitting targets = high paychecks. Management works hard to continuosly improve.

    Cons

    Adminitrative work takes so much time, interferes with selling. Rollout of changes (systems, processes etc) not timed well. Many things messy and manual..These non-revenue generating activities can be disruptive at times.

    Advice to Management

    Talk amongst yourselves when timing changes. Change is necessary for progress, but 10 changes all at the same time hurts everyone.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 9, 2017 – Recruiting Communications and Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We thank you & congratulate you on your 3+ years of service.


  8. "Great company for recovering attorneys"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    The people is this company's biggest assets. Most are willing to help you out with anything you may need and they are the most professional people I have ever worked with.

    Cons

    Legal is a mature market and it is hard to keep the business growing.

    Advice to Management

    Make your people feel valuable and let them know you appreciate them.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – Recruiting Communications and Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We agree that when you work at Thomson Reuters, you’re partnering with the industry’s brightest thinkers. We are always looking at ways to make ... More


  9. "Awesome place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Schedule flexibility: You can arrive a little later if you're willing to leave a little later
    Team flexibility: Freedom to move around other teams if you decide you would prefer something different
    Good pay: Decent salary

    Cons

    None, that I know.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – Recruiting Communications and Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We're proud to have been named among the top 25 companies striving to promote a work-life balance as a part of company culture.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Team"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Client Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I work for a great team with a culture that emphasizes success and work-life balance.

    Cons

    Lay-offs and frequent changes to team structure.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Feb 24, 2017 – Recruiting Communications and Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We're proud to have been named among the top 25 companies striving to promote a work-life balance as a part of company culture. We thank you ... More


  11. "Product associate - Intern"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Good work environment, Nice managers, Good training, Always helpful.

    Cons

    Long calls and hectic work

    Advice to Management

    no advices

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Feb 24, 2017 – Recruiting Communications and Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We're proud to have been named among the top 25 companies striving to promote a work-life balance as a part of company culture.



Showing 762 of 5,799 reviews
Reset Filters