Thomson Reuters Reviews | Glassdoor

Thomson Reuters Reviews

Updated July 21, 2017
847 reviews

Filter

Filter


847 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Client Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Company has great life work balance & flexibility and warm culture. People are great and willing to help each other

    Cons

    Very large and somewhat flat organization. A lot of time figuring out who does what and where to go to find the right teams.


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great staff. Wonderful collaboration. Great pay and room for advancement

    Cons

    Strategic locations all others are being downsized regardless of quality of work

    Advice to Management

    Review all employees last reviews before laying them off.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 16, 2017 – Recruiting Communications and Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We agree that when you work at Thomson Reuters, you’re partnering with the industry’s brightest thinkers. We are always looking at ways to make... More

  3. "Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I was working with the Serengeti Tracker group at Thomson Reuters in Chicago. The entire team worked remotely, which was amazing for most team members because they saved expenses associated with commuting.

    The team was extremely laid back and we met in the office every few months or so either for recreational activities of to discuss new initiatives. In fact it's one of the best teams I have worked for as far as rapport goes.

    Cons

    The software was a legacy system which poses some challenges, but management is aware and perhaps worried about being completely antiquated and hence very open to modernizing components as per suggestions from team members.

    The working from home pitch was great, but I didn't realize you were given a desktop and a phone when you sign up, which means you can't go sit in a starbucks somewhere and code.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. Management was amazing.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 9, 2017 – Recruiting Communications and Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We're proud to have been named among the top 25 companies striving to promote a work-life balance as a part of company culture.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Schedule flexibility: You can arrive a little later if you're willing to leave a little later
    Team flexibility: Freedom to move around other teams if you decide you would prefer something different
    Good pay: Decent salary

    Cons

    None, that I know.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – Recruiting Communications and Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We're proud to have been named among the top 25 companies striving to promote a work-life balance as a part of company culture.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Client Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I work for a great team with a culture that emphasizes success and work-life balance.

    Cons

    Lay-offs and frequent changes to team structure.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Feb 24, 2017 – Recruiting Communications and Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We're proud to have been named among the top 25 companies striving to promote a work-life balance as a part of company culture. We thank you... More


  6. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orangeburg, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orangeburg, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great life-work balance, people are energized, eager for challenge.

    Cons

    A lot of changes in the recent years.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Jan 25, 2017 – Recruiting Communications and Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We agree that when you work at Thomson Reuters, you’re partnering with the industry’s brightest thinkers. We are always looking at ways to make... More


  7. "Joining TR was the Best Career Choice I Ever Made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Carrollton, TX
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Carrollton, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great management and professional. High-quality knowledge. Great respect for work/life balance. Treats you as an adult which in turn build trust and respect from me. A great desire to push forward with new technologies. Starbucks and Cafeteria in the office. Ping pong table on the first floor, I believe. Yoga and a Gym as well, I think.

    Cons

    No covered parking. Traffic is bad on Midway near that building during most hours. Getting out of the parking lot is also quite difficult

    Advice to Management

    Continue to trust us to get the job done and we'll keep pulling through for you. :)

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Jan 12, 2017 – Recruiting Communications and Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We're proud to have been named among the top 25 companies striving to promote a work-life balance as a part of company culture.

  8. "Senior Tax Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Tax Accountant in Philadelphia, PA
    Former Employee - Senior Tax Accountant in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time

    Pros

    Great Company to work for. Upper Management care about it's Employees. They understand Work ... Life Balance. Also great Benefits

    Cons

    Work Load was heavy and Deadlines were Strict

    Advice to Management

    Find ways to Streamline and Document processes

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Jan 12, 2017 – Recruiting Communications and Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We're proud to have been named among the top 25 companies striving to promote a work-life balance as a part of company culture.


  9. "Professional teams and ethical oganization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Boston, MA
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    All the team members and supervisors I've been working with were so professional with highly executive forces.

    Cons

    I do hope I could spend more time in the organization and get opportunities to work with the marketing department, which will make my tasks more aligned with the CS group.


  10. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing Intern in Eagan, MN
    Former Intern - Marketing Intern in Eagan, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Had a ton of access to executives and a strong relationship with my manager where I could ask many questions and look for improvements. Strong leadership and great culture!

    Cons

    Huge company and hard to grasp the whole concept of the company.


Showing 847 of 6,222 reviews
Reset Filters