Thomson Reuters Reviews | Glassdoor

Thomson Reuters Reviews

Updated April 29, 2017
5,561 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

5,561 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Experience working at Thomson"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Services Representative in Ann Arbor, MI
    Current Employee - User Services Representative in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Career opportunities, development oppportunies, diversity, building friendships

    Cons

    Micromanagers, some managers/teams lack transparency, teams are "ok" with status quo, managers/leaders aren't always on the same page, some managers are more controlling than empowering.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging. Stop misleading employees to think you trust them but yet micromanage everything that's done. Empower, trust, support, guide employees to accomplish goals/tasks rather than micromanaging everything. This isn't all managers but this applies to some.


  2. "Great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Found it to be very employee friendly

    Cons

    Nothing specific that can be shared


  3. "Nice company to work at"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Specialist in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    very structured and organized, good benefits, reasonable working hours and excellent working environment

    Cons

    too many layers of decision making

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 30, 2017 – Analyst, Recruitment Brand and Channels

    Thank you for your feedback.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Team Coordinator"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Coordinator in Eagan, MN
    Former Employee - Team Coordinator in Eagan, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good camaraderie, benefits, flexibility

    Cons

    Sometimes high expectations from management

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 30, 2017 – Analyst, Recruitment Brand and Channels

    Thank you for your contribution.


  6. "VP"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Saint Paul, MN
    Current Employee - Vice President in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Engaging, challenging and interesting work. Flexibility in work hours. Dedicated team members.

    Cons

    Currently experiencing a rather large transformation in cleaning up technical debt and positioning for growth resulting in poor internal service (e.g. employee onboarding) and less than ideal resource planning

    Advice to Management

    Pick 1-2 key goals and do them well before moving on. Focus will enable success. Trying to do 8 things at the same time just means you are going to to 8 things less than average.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 30, 2017 – Analyst, Recruitment Brand and Channels

    Thank you for your feedback - we are always looking at ways to make improvements & candid feedback is the best way for us to understand the areas where we need to focus.


  7. "Summer Intern"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer Intern in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Summer Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Helpful Management, willing to help.

    Cons

    -Have to be very proactive in order to get things done. This includes approaching managers and asking them for further responsibility, which can be intimidating.

    Advice to Management

    N/A


  8. Helpful (1)

    "View from Rochester, NY"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Rochester, NY
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    flex time and work life balance
    certainly busy at times, but overall low stress. not a constant pressure cooker.

    Cons

    currently undergoing extreme cost cutting measures, moving a lot of work to India and Russia.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 24, 2017 – Analyst, Recruitment Brand and Channels

    Thank you for your contribution. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your feedback.


  9. "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Center Manager in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Technical Center Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Excellent pay, decent benefits, flexible work arrangements.

    Cons

    Nothing that doesn't affect any other large global company as well.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 24, 2017 – Analyst, Recruitment Brand and Channels

    Thank you for your feedback!


  10. "Was a great but getting less so."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Rochester, NY
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Flexible work environment. Good work/life balance. Interesting projects and very smart co-workers. Overall the company treated me very well.

    Cons

    Ongoing budget tightening and limits on capital investment since the Reuters 'merger'. Core markets of Legal and Financial are not what they were before the 2008 crash; and may never be again. Drive to offshore North American jobs is accelerating. Layoffs technology groups for the first time. Overall don't feel good about where the company is heading.

    Advice to Management

    Stop letting good people who know your business go. Offshoring is not the answer and cutting your way to profitability doesn't work. Find a way to leverage you North American employees to address new growth markets.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Apr 10, 2017 – Analyst, Recruitment Brand and Channels

    Thank you for your feedback - we are always looking at ways to make improvements & candid feedback is the best way for us to understand the areas where we need to focus.


  11. "Great company to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    They really invest in their talent and customers.

    Cons

    Large company, so you have to be self-driven to move around...not necessarily a bad thing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep re-investing in products.

    Thomson Reuters Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – Analyst, Recruitment Brand and Channels

    Thank you for your contribution. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your feedback.


Showing 5,561 of 5,920 reviews
Reset Filters