Thomson Reuters Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Thomson Reuters Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 16 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Thomson Reuters CEO James C. Smith
James C. Smith
248 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Richardson, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible team, fun tasks to do, and interesting problems to solve

    Cons

    Not much guidance at first and not a clear task list

    Advice to Management

    Have a better work plan laid out for new interns

    Thomson Reuters2019-09-03
  2. "software engineer intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer Intern in Eagan, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters for less than a year

    Pros

    I got paid and got to put something on my resume

    Cons

    Company kind of moves slow.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more money for entry level salary.

    Thomson Reuters2019-09-23
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Big company with very good benefits and values.

    Cons

    Some positions need to be in the hub (very few). So, relocation is required.

    Advice to Management

    Plenty of organizational changes

    Thomson Reuters2019-09-22

    Thomson Reuters Response

    September 26, 2019Global Employer Branding Lead

    Thank you for your review and for joining Thomson Reuters this year!

  4. "Learned a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good learning and people are willing to help

    Cons

    Greedy people who are not loyal to employees

    Advice to Management

    Be loyal to full time employees. Your products will suffer if you get cheap contractors.

    Thomson Reuters2019-08-07
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Not sure how they're still around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home when needed

    Cons

    Poor managers who only look out for themselves.

    Advice to Management

    You should lay yourselves off. You get rid of everyone who knows what they're doing. You keep fools

    Thomson Reuters2019-07-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Comprehensive benefits. Professional environment. Well-funded projects. Opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    Does reorganizations almost every year. Major decisions are made far above the heads of most workers, for reasons they cannot control. Matrix management is confusing and interferes with cohesion.

    Advice to Management

    People are more than just headcount.

    Thomson Reuters2019-07-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Quality Assurance Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    TR is a great place to develop skills in SDLC. I enjoyed working with the teams and many individuals.

    Cons

    The impact of untimely layoffs.

    Thomson Reuters2019-07-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Doing more with contractors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice bonus year after year

    Cons

    Management moving to more and more contract programmers

    Advice to Management

    Research how effective the use of contract help really is

    Thomson Reuters2019-06-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great location, and people

    Cons

    to many layoffs so watch out

    Advice to Management

    stop having so many layoffs

    Thomson Reuters2019-06-07
  10. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice place to grow and best place to learn.

    Cons

    Nothing much as of today.

    Thomson Reuters2019-06-01

    Thomson Reuters Response

    July 30, 2019Global Employer Branding Lead

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We thank you and congratulate you on your 5+ years of service!

Found 641 reviews