Thomson Reuters "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Thomson Reuters Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8265 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Thomson Reuters CEO James C. Smith
James C. Smith
2,747 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Decent foot in the door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits package. Good work environment. Good place to get a start in the tech field, especially if you have no prior experience. You will grow professionally and learn how to network yourself. Everyone is supportive and helpful. Most managers (Team Leaders) are supportive as well.

    Cons

    For being a tech company, the tech is lacking. Seems like people who make the decisions dont really know what to look for. I personally found it literally impossible to move positions, which is why i left. I found myself getting more and more responsibility as well as developing new tools for the company and never being monetarily compensated. My title and pay was the same as the first day i walked in the door.... Operations only seems to care about meeting some quota or fulfill some about of "butts in seats". They dont really care about adequate training. You will need to be comfortable learning on the fly in some what high pressure situations. Especially during busy seasons. You can end up being deployed right into a busy season and get hammered. They look to advertise a "leverage internal talent" approach to hiring which i found to be absolutely not true. Some managers are great, others are terrible. Its the luck of the draw who you ger placed with. There doesnt seem to be any regulations on manager performance. From what ive heard, some managers can be a nightmare. Any manager ive had was great though.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Follow through on what you promise to your employees Stop trying to sell your dated products and invest in modern tech Leverage internal talent before outside hiring Dont over-cram your employees with responsibilities and not compensate them.

    Thomson Reuters2019-09-12
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Support Associate in Carrollton, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    •The managers are transparent with the workers •Management are respectful •Work environment is business casual (we can wear jeans everyday)

    Cons

    •Hours during busy season can be rough (There will be 6-day work weeks) •Clients can prove to be difficult at times •There is a learning curve to this job •Some co-workers don't treat this job with respect

    Advice to Management

    •There are some places within Support that needs attention (For example International) •Please raise the bar for the new hires back to getting at least an Associate's degree

    Thomson Reuters2019-09-02
  3. "General thoughts..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Attorney Editor in Eagan, MN
    Recommends

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great teammates and work environment. Highly competent manager. Encouraged to explore other job positions within the company, including participation in job rotations. Mentoring available.

    Cons

    Seemingly constant corporate restructuring. Technology not always as good as expected.

    Thomson Reuters2019-08-30
  4. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great work environment. Work life balance

    Cons

    Career Growth is limited.

    Thomson Reuters2019-04-12

    Thomson Reuters Response

    April 22, 2019Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We thank you & congratulate you on your 10+ years of service.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to work but"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Analyst in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Enjoyable local working environment and median pay

    Cons

    Management needed to stop being firefights and move into more of proactive mindset, the company went through moving IT staff to 3rd party twice which has lead to dissatisfaction of employees and confusion.

    Thomson Reuters2019-03-22

    Thomson Reuters Response

    April 5, 2019Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your feedback - we are always looking at ways to make improvements & candid feedback is the best way for us to understand the areas where we need to focus.

  6. Helpful (5)

    "Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Culver City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work environment and free donuts every Friday

    Cons

    Management has favoritism with employees especially during layoffs the best works are terminated and the favorites are kept. This company is not the same anymore... I am looking to get out not a stable place to work anymore.

    Thomson Reuters2019-03-14

    Thomson Reuters Response

    March 20, 2019Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your contribution. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your feedback.

  7. "Great for work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work environment with challenging work. Relaxed atmosphere that is diverse.

    Cons

    Average salaries and bonus structure.

    Thomson Reuters2019-01-23

    Thomson Reuters Response

    January 28, 2019Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We're proud to have been named among the top 25 companies striving to promote a work-life balance as a part of company culture.

  8. "Sr FA - TR Eagan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Eagan, MN

    I have been working at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work environment for staff

    Cons

    Lots of uncertainty about responsibilities with recent re-org.

    Thomson Reuters2019-01-23

    Thomson Reuters Response

    January 28, 2019Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your contribution. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your feedback.

  9. "Front End Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Developer in Philadelphia, PA

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, smart coworkers, good salary

    Cons

    Can be a bit quiet

    Thomson Reuters2018-12-20

    Thomson Reuters Response

    January 2, 2019Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your review and valued contribution. We agree that when you work at Thomson Reuters, you’re partnering with the industry’s brightest thinkers. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your feedback.

  10. Helpful (7)

    "Company overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thomson Reuters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and a good work environment.

    Cons

    Every year there are layoffs and the benefits become less and cost more.

    Advice to Management

    Work with the employees and do not treat them as an inconvenience.

    Thomson Reuters2018-12-05

    Thomson Reuters Response

    December 6, 2018Recruitment Marketing Intern

    Thank you for your contribution. We are always looking at ways to make improvements and we thank you for your feedback.

Found 8265 reviews