ThoughtSpot Reviews | Glassdoor

ThoughtSpot Reviews

Updated Mar 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
93%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
ThoughtSpot CEO Sudheesh Nair
Sudheesh Nair
60 Ratings
  1. "Product + Market + Execution = Stellar place for sales reps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Account Executive in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent product that's truly differentiated combined with an excellent sales and go-to-market execution. ThoughtSpot is an excellent place for a rep to learn, grow, and make money. It's the right combination of excellent product + mature market + sales execution. Leadership are committed and they care.

    Cons

    The work is demanding and requires your focus and diligence in every aspect. That means going above and beyond. For some people that's a con, for others it's a challenge worth meeting head on.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtSpot2019-10-05
  2. "Fun, challenging and rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There’s a lot of support from all levels of the org, even access up to the founders and CEO. The company culture is truly amazing and there’s a notion of always trying to be better because we are only 2% done. The product team, marketing, operations, customer success and many other teams work with sales to simply get things done and make the customer happy.

    Cons

    This isn’t a real big con, but being that it’s a fast growing startup, you have to get scrappy and consistently reach out for help. There are some people who expect there to be a laid out process of this is what you need to do day one. That’s not the case.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtSpot2019-10-05
  3. "Account executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtSpot

    Pros

    Very exciting space and great tech. Clear value to the worlds biggest organizations, team first culture.

    Cons

    Demanding job, but highly rewarding.

    ThoughtSpot2019-10-05
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Excellent mid tier growth company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1.)Flex time off: Having No max to the amount of days off is a huge value. ThoughtSpot has flex time off meaning you can take as many days off as your manager will approve. I personally have never seen someone get rejected for time off. You also have the flexibility to live your life when things come up. I have had a scenario for example where I needed to abruptly leave due to a emergency surgery happening on my grandfather and there was no questions asked about leaving. 2.)Unique product: ThoughtSpot is one of a kind in its ability to provide self service analytics via search at scale. This was the primary reason for TS being named a leader in the Gartner Magic Quadrant. 3.) Rapid Growth = Opportunity: Since ThoughtSpot is growing so fast, there are new roles/titles regularly being added. Promotions from within are the norm for ThoughtSpot employees that excel in their past and current roles. I have seen many of my colleagues including myself be promoted in the 11 months I have been with ThoughtSpot.

    Cons

    1.) Change: When you are growing fast you have to be nimble and nimble means change. Many consider change bad because its a shock to the system when something changes from the norm. ThoughtSpot is constantly changing the way it operates and though it is necessary for continued growth it can be frustrating in the moment. 2.) Abrupt Departures: ThoughtSpot does a great job of training and providing resources to its employees, but not performing is not tolerated. I have worked in environments where it seem like colleagues could do anything(or nothing) and still have a job... This is NOT the case with ThoughtSpot. Whether it's not performing or being more of a hassle then you are worth, I have seen a couple of people be abruptly let go without prior notice. At least this was the impression.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtSpot2019-09-05
  5. Helpful (7)

    "High growth but dig deep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Founders have successful track record of building and IPO exits. Company has taken on massive rounds to solve a very hard problem in the market.

    Cons

    The company has great buzz, but this is not a start up. Those days are gone. With the amount of funding, it's all about scale and the scale of the company has ruined the sales culture. Selling is equally about the mission and belief, trust is broken. Number of reps over plan and making $$? Churn is expected but here is another level.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtSpot2019-10-04
  6. "ThoughtSpot - An Awesome Place with Awesome People."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people... Everyone here works so hard and is a part of a bigger dream. That's what I love about this place. Management lets you be an adult as long as you take care of your stuff. And the leadership is transparent with you, and keeps you involved in our larger goals and the progress we're making with them.

    Cons

    It still has it's start-up mentality, so sometimes your role or responsibility will abruptly change. That being said, the company will do what it can to make it as easy and beneficial of a change as possible.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtSpot2019-09-05
  7. "Great learning opportunities in a transparent environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtSpot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There's a lot of interesting work underway. The environment gives a lot of autonomy in choosing what to work on.

    Cons

    Like the office space in headquarters though it's a bit spread out.

    ThoughtSpot2019-08-13
  8. Helpful (23)

    "Was a Decent company but lately the values and culture has changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Professional in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best engineering and marketing team in industry. People work so hard in this organization, almost everyone over 10-12 hrs a day. A decent product, much better than the competitors. Great benefits, free lunch and dinner

    Cons

    There is no transparency , everything has been controlled and managed by few people. Bro culture and some leaders can not take criticism. Some of the departments have become very hostile and age discrimination has become so frequent. Employees have repeatedly escalated age harassment / Hostile environment complains to management and it has fallen to deaf ears. Instead people are let go. Leaders edit slack messages after they are caught lying. Some the statements made by leaders.. "At this age you are an individual contributor? You have not made any mark?" "I can replace and fire you in a day" "Some of the engineers order too much of food because they come from poor country like India" If you report any concerns/complaints to management either in person or by officevibe, the employee is let go. Executives in engineering, sales and finance have left, Resignations and firing has become frequent. CEO is just a mediocre, overrated.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtSpot2019-06-25
  9. "Amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything you want in a company in the software space: product that is different, people that hustle next to you and with you, great office environment, identifiable culture, unbelievable benefits, amazing customers that bring you with them from company to company, financially secured!

    Cons

    Product is so unique can be a bit of a education process for the customer because they have never seen anything like it before.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtSpot2019-07-10
  10. "Amazing opportunity and People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Leadership has the strongest IQ & EQ of any company I've worked with. Always promoting personal growth, collaboration, accountability, and learning culture.. Innovative product.

    Cons

    None, Has been a delight working here.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtSpot2019-07-05
Found 114 reviews