Three Reviews in Maidenhead, England | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Three Maidenhead Reviews

Updated December 6, 2017
63 reviews

Filter

Filter

Maidenhead, England (UK)

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Three CEO David Dyson
David Dyson
49 Ratings

63 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Also senior management are completely oblivious to how poorly they run the show - in fact they rule by fear (in 14 reviews)

  • The only way we can deal with customer complaints is putting them on the phone to customer service which usually angers the customer more (in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great company and great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Analyst in Maidenhead, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Operations Analyst in Maidenhead, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Three full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great work environment, great team, great place to develop skills and everyone is well looked after. Salary is competetive and company looks after health and well being of their staff

    Cons

    Cannot think of any cons for this great company. There is some outsourcing happening which is not a good decision. Other companies do it as well but three is more employee focused

    Advice to Management

    Do not out source for cost saving


  2. "feedback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Maidenhead, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Maidenhead, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Three full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    flexibility work/life; chance to role swap; new focus on well-being

    Cons

    lack of transparency; poor people policies; organisational change mis-managed

    Advice to Management

    honesty; hire experts not friends; listen to people

    Three Response

    Jan 11, 2018 – People Assist Advisor

    Thanks for leaving your review.

    As a current employee you will know about our goal of being the UK’s best loved brand by our people and our customers by 2021. To achieve this, every part of our... More

  3. "A review of Three in Maidenhead - 2017"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Maidenhead, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Maidenhead, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Three full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The people, perks and being located in Maidenhead. Offices have recently been refurbished and the onsite cafe serves decent food. Being located in Maidenhead also means that you can nip out during lunchtimes to pickup anything you might need.

    Cons

    Three are currently going through an organisational change. This is due to the desire to be the best loved brand by our customers and staff by 2021, and being setup to launch sub-brands and diversify into other areas. This change naturally brings uncertainty however as the company puts people first they're being as transparent about it as possible, provide regular updates and put in support for staff to take advantage of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, keep people (customers and staff) at the forefront of everything you do

    Three Response

    Nov 30, 2017 – People Assist Advisor

    Thanks for getting in touch.

    It’s great to hear you’re enjoying the benefits of the refurbished office in Maidenhead, we know a great working environment can have such a positive effect on our... More


  4. "Best Loved Brand."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trading Performance Consultant in Maidenhead, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Trading Performance Consultant in Maidenhead, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Three full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Ambitions to be UK's best loved brand and they mean it. Employee engagement scores are hugely important and are always looking to make employees more and more happy in their job. Customer promoter scores are also just as important, Three are truly passionate about what matters most and culture is embedded right the way through the business.

    Cons

    Genuinely, there aren't many if any at all.


  5. "Lip Service Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist Role in Maidenhead, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Specialist Role in Maidenhead, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Three full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Fast paced, can be fun and challenging.

    At CEO level the intention is there fulfil its intention to deliver on not just results, but has an understanding of looking after its employees.

    Cons

    Below CEO, lip service is played to ensure the experience for employees is a good one. It's led by those more focused on their own personal agendas.
    Following recent restructure, which were rushed and lacked meaningful consultation periods people were bull dozed in to roles or out the business, It's dressed up as a new way of working, but they lacked the promise to retain great people and retrain them under the proposed heading : attitude trumps knowledge.
    They have managers and leaders poorly qualified in their fields, expecting them to gain respect.
    I think it's s great great shame. A company I loved and was passionate about is going down hill, just because of how it's now chosen to treat its employees.

    Advice to Management

    The Senor Management team are stale. You want to fundamentally change a business and how it works then change the thinking and styles of those leading each function. Otherwise it's likely nothing will change. Other than your atttitionnand costs to hire.

    Three Response

    Nov 30, 2017 – People Assist Advisor

    Thank you for your comments. As a current employee you will know about our goal of being the UK’s best loved brand by our people and our customers by 2021. To achieve this every part of our business... More


  6. "Good company - lots of change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Human Resources in Maidenhead, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Head of Human Resources in Maidenhead, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Three full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good company to work for and lots of opportunities if you're a self starter. Very friendly, but this can something get in the way of having honest conversations

    Cons

    sometimes too frenetic with the change...constant change without ever stabilizing or consolidating whats happening.

    Advice to Management

    Keep leading on employee engagement and wellness. Adopt and flexible working approach (underpinned by trust) across all the org

    Three Response

    Oct 2, 2017 – People Assist Advisor

    Thanks for getting in touch and leaving your review.

    It’s great to read your comments. From your length of service we can see you’ve been on the journey with us to become an amazing company to... More


  7. Helpful (8)

    "Loads of potential but let down by weak management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Maidenhead, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Maidenhead, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Three full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great for those with families, good location, gym next door.

    Colleagues are good and aside from senior/middle management the team culture is good. You can make friends for life.

    Cons

    Culturally not the place for original thinking. Also senior management are completely oblivious to how poorly they run the show - in fact they rule by fear.

    Those that succeed do so not because of talent but because they are good at saying yes.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in talent and learn to retain staff.

    Three Response

    Aug 4, 2017 – HR Manager

    Nothing makes the day go quicker than when you have amazing people to work with! Also, pleasing to hear that our facilities along with our family friendly offerings are giving you a desirable work... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "One of the Better Places to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Props Manager in Maidenhead, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Props Manager in Maidenhead, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Three full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good culture, CEO knows your name and talks to you, flexible working, Wellness Wednesday gives 2 hours to do what you want, pay and bonus competitive, relaxed attitude to what you wear, some good people there. Marketing led challenger brand means it is interesting to work for.

    Cons

    Maidenhead bit dull, but being redeveloped, IT is only now being invested in, it is difficult to progress internally even for some very good people that have been there for years. Director level has some people that aren't good with people.

    Advice to Management

    Employee NPS is a great idea, but what will you do if this is low in some teams - will you link the team leader's bonus to it?

    Three Response

    Jun 29, 2017 – HR Manager

    Really glad to hear that you’re enjoying our Wellness proposition! It’s something we take pride in. Keep an eye on the Wellness Hub on the Intranet for regular updates.

    We’re working on our... More


  9. "Enterprise Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Enterprise Architect in Maidenhead, England (UK)
    Former Contractor - Enterprise Architect in Maidenhead, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Three as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Three are OK to work for, they are going through a large transformation program at the moment which means lots of work will be available.

    Cons

    Because of the Transformation program its very difficult to get any work done on existing projects, all resources have been allocated to the transformation program.

    Three Response

    Jun 29, 2017 – HR Manager

    We know that anyone can disrupt the market (like we did) so we need to be ready to face challengers head on. To do this we need to transform our business model, change the way we work, and take... More


  10. "Change is constant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program/Project Manager in Maidenhead, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Program/Project Manager in Maidenhead, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Three full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Company culture is great and can be a fun place to work if you like constant change.

    Cons

    Change is not allowed to be embedded, therefore processes never get fully defined and people run around like headless chickens.

    Advice to Management

    Take a breath


Showing 63 of 489 reviews
Reset Filters