KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Three

Is this your company?

Three

Add a Review

Three Employee Reviews about "area managers"

Updated Mar 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 1,236 reviews

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Three CEO Robert Finnegan
Robert Finnegan
153 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice and friendly work environment(in 58 reviews)

  • "Great people and challenging projects(in 43 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "This is really set by the 'tone at the top' - senior management have changed so much over the past year that I honestly can't keep up(in 21 reviews)

  • "Area managers and store managers couldn't run a bath let alone a store you are just a number to them couldn't care less about you(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "area managers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Don’t bother.

      Mar 21, 2020 - Sales Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      SOME of the people you work with

      Cons

      -management that seem to think they’re the bees knees when in reality they’re middle aged, angry, vindictive bullies -they’re currently trying to say they’re providing hand sanitiser and care about the staff and protecting them. LIES -people online might as well not exist -thefts from the company -area managers who couldn’t give second thoughts about anyone or anything but themselves -grown adults back stabbing to get nowhere -“wellness Wednesdays” ie “we’ll send you some healthy snacks and pretend we care about you all and your mental health” -management don’t report serious incidents of their staff being threatened/enduring slurs/being screamed at and worse -systems are useless but you’ll still get investigated for not selling anything even though it’s been physically impossible -mis-selling products left right and centre -using the current corona worries to push tablets onto vulnerable people that will be self isolating -need rescue? No? It’s alright they’ll put it on anyway and tell you the first months free - best loved brand..... by falsely replying to NPS messages - constantly having your job threatened -no work like balance. They’ll say you do but in reality you’ll be in many whatsapp, Microsoft teams and emails that your days off are even bombarded! - no breaks when new products launch even though there is correct staffing.. you don’t need to eat if you work in retail, right? - call centre tries to steal sales from in store Do I need to carry on?

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Three Response

      People Assist Advisor

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We’re disheartened that you didn’t feel able to utilise the internal support available to give Three to opportunity to address the matters you reference during your employment. We value our employees and take concerns of this nature very seriously. I would therefore urge you to contact People Assist or the Companies Whistleblowing hotline to allow matters to be fully investigated and addressed accordingly. Thanks again.

    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Crap job

      Jun 18, 2019 - Sales Associate in Folkestone, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incentives are good and made some great friends

      Cons

      Area managers and store managers couldn't run a bath let alone a store you are just a number to them couldn't care less about you. Unachievable targets

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Lessons to be learned

      May 14, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Advisors team together. Good benefits

      Cons

      Managers and area managers clicky, don’t follow through talk too much

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Has its flaws

      Oct 27, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good attitude towards staff, encouraging personal growth

      Cons

      talks about not hard selling but encouraged by store and area managers

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Strong corporate culture but Three is an embarrassing & frustrating place to work.

      Aug 24, 2018 - Customer Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong corporate culture The people are great Lots of network features to sell with your products

      Cons

      Systems aren't just bad, they're embarrassing. No one does anything to fix infuriating problems such as getting redirected back to the home page 15 mins into a sale, leading to you having to take details all over again. There are random outages during peak trading hours, and sometimes the system will only find 1 customer account even if they have 5. It really feels like the entire backend was coded by a GCSE student. Prepare to lose hair over this and get ready to apologize endlessly for entire 9-hour shifts. During my time with the company, I've seen the most horrendously immoral sales techniques, including a case where an autistic man was told to take out a new phone contract when his phone was broken instead of claiming on the insurance which he pays (£14!) for monthly. I've seen a colleague contact her Area Manager about behaviour like this and she was sat down and threatened not to go to HR by 2 store managers and the area manager. Upper management is completely oblivious to the cartel tactics area managers and their shady cabal of select-few store managers use to conceal the disgusting tactics which increase their rankings on the company superdash. Another colleague of mine blew the whistle on the same store manager and was treated like trash and bullied out of his job. The manager would say things like "if they don't have their ID, just sell them the upgrade and I'll write you up for it, but at least you'll get the sale!". It won't be long until someone goes straight to the press with this. Do you like getting paid? I've been months at a time without receiving a single penny of my overtime hours because of complete incompetencies all throughout the payroll system. As a student driving an hour to work to make some extra money, it leaves me deep in debt when I'm not paid a penny of my overtime hours for months. Then, when it all comes through, HMRC taxes it all because they think you're suddenly Dave Dyson himself with a giant paycheck. Management doesn't understand how much this can affect an employee's credit score and overall finances, and they quite frankly don't care, making you wait another month before they can give you what you're owed. If you don't pay your phone bill, Three will suspend your line. When Three don't pay their employees, they're laughing all the way to the bank while you have to spend on your credit card & overdraft just to live. The double standard here by a company which hopes to be "Best Loved Brand By 2021" is laughable. If your employees resent your brand, how on Earth do you expect to achieve that? By giving out free mini pizzas every 4 weeks?

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Three Response

      People Assist Advisor

      Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. It’s nice to hear you have great people to work with. At Three our employees are our greatest asset. Our systems are so important to everything we do so that’s why there’s a huge amount of great work happening to improve in this area. We’re building the world’s first end-to-end Cloud Network, which will be faster, cheaper and ready for 5G. The rebuild won’t happen overnight but we’ll be rolling out some amazing stuff that’ll provide game changing experiences for our people and our customers. Expectations of managers are high. If you feel stressed or pressurised at work please do get in touch with the People Assist team who will provide further support and guidance. Thanks again.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing company to work for with great rewards

      Sep 19, 2017 - Customer Advisor in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great bonus if you work well as a team Flexible work patterns

      Cons

      Hugely targeted area managers Hard to progress from advisor to management

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      An excellent vibrant place to work.

      Mar 23, 2017 - Retail Store Manager in Croydon, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They invest in people and try and do the right thing and the pay is competitive.

      Cons

      Some of the area managers and top bosses are not realistic in expectations and should try and do the job at grass roots level and show what good looks like.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Going way downhill

      Dec 13, 2016 - Anonymous 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Used to be a great company to work for. I like the network and they have some great deals for customers including AYCE data

      Cons

      Being forced to sell multiple products to customers. Area managers are demanding for results but don't help you to get there, just constantly demand you perform and demand more more more. Managers bully and intimidate. Pay is rubbish, commission slashed each year and goal posts continually moved. Targets increased by ridiculous amounts every month and you cannot achieve without misselling to unsuspecting customers. Goal is to be best loved brand by 2021 but they'll never achieve that because they can't even treat their staff with respect, you're purely a disposable number that they will replace with an 18 year old that they can pay minimum wage. I hate this job more than I've ever hated any job because of the management and change of business. I used to love coming to work! I earn so much less than I used to. Time for a new job in the new year.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Awful company to work for

      Dec 12, 2016 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dealing with some customers can be enjoyable. Beyond management, the people you work alongside are often fantastic. That's about it.

      Cons

      Many store managers and area managers are bullies. They expect you to be a drone and sell things regardless of whether customer wants it or not. Fraud is common & targets completely unrealistic . Staff are treated poorly, constantly threatened with losing their jobs if they don't achieve unrealistic targets. Retail support is appalling, pay is often wrong or you won't be paid at all and be told it's tough, you have to wait until next month regardless of whether you have bills to pay or not. If you value your health, social life and sanity, stay away.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Avoid - Bullying Managers & dishonest

      Dec 7, 2016 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary good for retail, other staff are nice but can't say anything else nice that springs to mind as too many negatives

      Cons

      awful. store manager creepy flirt with girls and bully staff to get sales however and constant threat of sack not hit targest . no work life balance, no dinner time, looked badly on if have a break, managers want you to hide what you are really selling just to boost the numbers, the pressure and stress of working their left me with poor health. area manager wants you to sell multiple products and dusnt care how you do it and first customer knows is after bill and customers then shout at sales staff for it. i left four months ago and still suffer from how i was treated after miscarrage. read comments on here, surveys are ignored, dont get pade proply for hours worked, told to hit targets or leave. simple as that . no work life balance rotas changed no notice, systems dont work. commission taken off staff and made it hard to live on, face fits area managers like you, bad place to work i hated it , now at asda much nicer, pressure pressure pressure sales at its worst nothing like the training makes it out to be

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Three Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Three? Share Your Experiences

    Three logo
    or