Thrifty Car Rental Reviews | Glassdoor

Thrifty Car Rental Reviews

Updated Jun 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
Thrifty Car Rental CEO Kathryn V Marinello
Kathryn V Marinello
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "eras muy excelente y sobre todo el horario(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and not much availability for progression(in 3 reviews)

  • "Bias nature, low pay scale, procedures, business tactics, idea implementations(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Brand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Thrifty Car Rental

      Pros

      Now owned by Hertz, but good place to work

      Cons

      dealing with the public is always a challenge

      Thrifty Car Rental2016-10-06
    • "Alright"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Car Detailer in East Kingsport, TN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Thrifty Car Rental full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good condition workers great Boss

      Cons

      Not enough hours no free lunch

      Advice to Management

      Don't micro manage employee's and offer Christmas bonus

      Thrifty Car Rental2019-02-17
    • "Return Agent Representative"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Thrifty Car Rental full-time

      Pros

      Reason get opportunity to meet different kind of cultures and people got opportunity to learned about cars.

      Cons

      Pay is not good but good change for awhile know is time to move to better outlook.

      Advice to Management

      Yes, he is awesome to work but need to moved to better opportunities.

      Thrifty Car Rental2018-03-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "AVOID the McGhee Tyson Franchise Location"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Service in Knoxville, TN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Thrifty Car Rental full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      hmm, pros. get to drive brand new ford trucks since that is all the owner knows how to buy

      Cons

      liars, those set in their ways., back stabbers, everyone is the boss to the new hire their only job is to clean a car and they cant even do that. EGO city. heaven help you should you do the actual job of cleaning the car and think outside of the box, nothing but butt kissers when any form of mgmt is around but backstabbers when mgrment isnt looking. a HORRIBLE HR. the HR needs to be fired and rehired. after they are...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      not that the management will listen. ive talked with the franchise owner. he thinks he can clone ALL locations without consideration of their differences. the co owner. aka "vice president" only listens to the upper "management", not the ones who actually make or break the biz, i am totally ok with them figuring out who i am while i did my best for 8 months only to be made out to be the problem?. YOU are the problem..hence...

      Show More
      Thrifty Car Rental2018-04-05
    • "Great place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Thrifty Car Rental for less than a year

      Pros

      I learned a lot

      Cons

      Long hours and annoying customers

      Advice to Management

      N/a

      Thrifty Car Rental2018-02-11
    • "Damage Claims Agent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Damage Claims Agent in Tulsa, OK
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Thrifty Car Rental full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Management Works with need for time off of work.

      Cons

      Little training was given to employees.

      Thrifty Car Rental2017-09-11
    • "Eh..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Gate Agent in College Park, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Thrifty Car Rental full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      40% off your rental, 9.50 an hour starting out, usually quiet, nice coworkers, you get to meet people from all around the world, great benefits.

      Cons

      I was supposed to get a raise at 6 months, and I haven't, I'm not the only one. People get unreasonably nasty with you sometimes, and some people here like to talk.

      Advice to Management

      The mangers are alright I guess.

      Thrifty Car Rental2017-08-30
    • "Rental Sale Agent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Rental Sales Agent in Newark, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Thrifty Car Rental full-time

      Pros

      Offer Good Customer Service to customers

      Cons

      Pressure Employees to Sale Insurance too much

      Advice to Management

      Be more Friendly

      Thrifty Car Rental2017-08-29
    • "Decent pay with stressful situations"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Counter Sales Associate in Spokane Valley, Spokane, WA
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Thrifty Car Rental full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Bonus on sales and decent working hours. Usually a fun atmosphere at work. Price discount on purchasing a vehicle at the sales lot.

      Cons

      Its a have your cake and eat it too mentality with upper management. Also too many chiefs and not enough indians type of feel with regards to who I have to listen to and what is priority. Lots of jobs are delegated to my position that are not related to my position in regards to my job description.

      Advice to Management

      Keep your word

      Thrifty Car Rental2017-08-18
    • Helpful (2)

      "Backwards Leadership"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Rental Agent in Greer, SC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Thrifty Car Rental full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      You get to drive all the newest cars!... from the front of the lot to the back.

      Cons

      Salary, management, hours, benefits, really everything about this place is a Con. I resigned my position with Thrifty because I had a family emergency (Grandmother fell and was unconscious) that caused me to call out from work, they let me know that any unexcused absence is not okay and that my next one would result in termination. This company firmly believes that they have to be the number 1 Priority in your life.

      Advice to Management

      Begin to care about employees instead of just revenue.

      Thrifty Car Rental2017-04-17
    Found 48 reviews