Thrifty Car and Van Rental Reviews | Glassdoor

Thrifty Car and Van Rental Reviews

Updated Nov 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
62%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Thrifty Car and Van Rental CEO Nigel Spokes  (no image)
Nigel Spokes
18 Ratings
  1. "Temp job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Car Transporter/Cleaner in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thrifty Car and Van Rental part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lot of hours.you get to drive brand new cars

    Cons

    Working in cold weather.fast paced

    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2014-11-15
  2. "Old Sales Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Thrifty Car and Van Rental

    Pros

    Great bonus incentives, and overtime.

    Cons

    No salary, no benefits, no life.

    Continue reading
    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2015-11-07
  3. "Dont"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Valet in Londonderry County Borough, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Drive nice cars from time to time

    Cons

    Management look out for themsekevs

    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2019-11-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Ridiculous company for 2019"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Exeter, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A gymnasium is good to work off your Anxieties. You do get a salary and there is off road parking if you're lucky to be the first in the building. Come early for no extra pay.

    Cons

    What a ridiculous company for the modern working world. How can you operate a company for humans and not have some sort of system in place for the middle management to adhere to. The middle management in this company are running wild and controlling not only the underlings but also the company owners. While the owners go and play golf the middle management think they can do what they like and that includes abusing the staff.

    Continue reading
    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2019-09-01

    Thrifty Car and Van Rental Response

    September 3, 2019Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for providing us with your comments. If you'd like to discuss your concerns further, please feel free to contact us directly on 01392 346003. In the meantime, I would like to thank you once again for providing us with your feedback and wish you all the very best for the future.

    Continue reading
  5. "Work hard, play hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - C S R in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere. Easy work if not repetative

    Cons

    Long hours. Poor senior management

    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2019-07-16
  6. "Don't waste your time here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Colleagues at the branch were fab. Cars were nice.

    Cons

    Don't ever make the mistake of working here. They treat their staff like they treat their cars. UNITS......everyone is a unit. Long hours minimum wage. Not progression. No bonus unless you really really give day and evening to this company. No compassion No empatjy No progression

    Continue reading
    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2019-07-26
  7. "Don’t bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time

    Pros

    This place has Good transportation links,

    Cons

    I work in the high Wycombe reservations department. It’s very dirty and unhygienic, management are basically jus shooting arrows in the dark, I don’t think any of them really know what they’re supposed to be doing. Overall smelly and scruffy office. You will not be rewarded for working hard, there is a constant negative aura about the office. The highest turnover of staff I have ever seen! BELIEVE ME THERE IS NO ROOM FOR PROGRESSION YOURE BETTER OFF AT CHICKEN COTTAGE. I am extremely disappointed and after months of hard work I feel all this time was a waste of my time and talent.

    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2019-04-28
  8. "Fraudulent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Exeter, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary at the end of the month was as good as it gets.

    Cons

    Bad management, Bad company culture, No scruples,Low quality company and moral or ethical standards of providing work to people.

    Continue reading
    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2019-04-28
  9. "Rental agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I worked at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good colleagues and branch management

    Cons

    Low salary not always the chance for progression as a lot of managers stay in post for many years.

    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2019-02-11

    Thrifty Car and Van Rental Response

    February 14, 2019Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for providing us with your useful comments. We send all of our vacancies to the entire branch network on a weekly basis, which provides colleagues with the chance to browse all available opportunities to progress within the company. We also review our salaries on an annual basis, so that they remain competitive. If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact us on 01392 346003. In the meantime I would like to thank you once again for providing us with your comments and wish you all the very best for the future.

    Continue reading
  10. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thrifty Car and Van Rental full-time

    Pros

    Line manager is always very suportive and pushes you to go for promotions.

    Cons

    Many of the managers are young and inexperienced.

    Continue reading
    Thrifty Car and Van Rental2018-10-30
Found 38 reviews