Thrillist Media Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Thrillist Media Group Reviews

Updated 9 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
23%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Thrillist Media Group CEO Ben Lerer (no image)
Ben Lerer
37 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thrillist Media Group

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers, reasonable responsibilities, productive atmosphere. I enjoyed my time employed here. I felt valued as an employee and knew the company was a good one to work for.

    Cons

    I had to look for advancement elsewhere. I felt I needed a different challenge and couldn't find That within this company.

    Thrillist Media Group2016-11-06
  2. "Best company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thrillist Media Group for more than a year

    Pros

    I work with an amazing team who care about the work just as much as I do, always willing to pitch in and share ideas. For awhile I thought the working hours were 9am to 7pm...turns out that's when the doors to the office open and close. At our last company call the President was very clear that they care more about the work getting done so if you get in early and leave early, or get in later and leave later, as long... as your work gets done, that's all they really care about. While this company isn't really a startup anymore (they've been around 11 years now), it still feels like it is because everyone sits in an open space (except for HR which is understandable). They offer standing desks, yoga balls for chairs, the executive team sits out on the floor with everyone else, you can wear whatever you feel comfortable in (it's a casual environment), managers encourage their employees to share their ideas, and they offer cool benefits like Whiskey Wednesdays and Thirsty Thursdays. Most importantly, there's room to grow! The company has grown tremendously which afforded many employees the opportunity to be promoted internally or move across departments. In the 2+ years I've been here, I've been promoted twice (hard work pays off) and I know I'm in control of my own career path (unlike other places where they dictate where you will go next or what you're allowed to do).

    Show More

    Cons

    I wish there was a learning and development team (they were responsible for providing trainings to employees at my last job) but it's not the end of the world because my manager has offered to send me to seminars outside of work.

    Thrillist Media Group2016-09-15
  3. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thrillist Media Group

    Pros

    Good teams and fun culture

    Cons

    Long hours and crazy deadlines

    Thrillist Media Group2016-07-13
  4. "Account Management / Strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thrillist Media Group full-time

    Pros

    - Work/life balance - Ability to work with multiple departments - Projects that keep you engaged - Learning and growth opportunities - Great management team and support

    Cons

    - Telecommunications Issues - Slow internet

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the momentum in nurturing and rewarding talents.

    Thrillist Media Group2016-06-20
  5. "Supportive and Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thrillist Media Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Ability to move up quickly if you prove yourself - Very supportive colleagues and management - Great company culture - Opportunity to work cross-departments - High quality of work

    Cons

    - Needs better office technology

    Thrillist Media Group2016-05-07
  6. "Writer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Thrillist Media Group

    Pros

    Great and clear cut assignments that pay well.

    Cons

    Assignments are somewhat infrequent so it's difficult to have this as a steady source of income.

    Thrillist Media Group2016-05-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thrillist Media Group

    Pros

    Great, family-oriented team, great core values.

    Cons

    little pay, little to no advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Hire older people, invest in your employees!

    Thrillist Media Group2016-03-20
  8. "Interface Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Interface Developer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Thrillist Media Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working on the Thrillist Tech Team was one of the best decisions I have ever made. The team is extremely talented, smart, and fun to be around. People are warm and welcoming, always willing to help out when you are stuck on a problem. You are writing code from day one that is being deployed into production. Hacker Fridays every other week to work on side projects

    Cons

    I had a great experience at Thrillist - no cons!

    Advice to Management

    Work hard to keep the culture alive, it is a crucial part of the company and the tech team especially.

    Thrillist Media Group2016-02-18
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thrillist Media Group

    Pros

    - Great people working there - upbeat environment - awesome free food - fast paced Everyone was really nice and friendly. Always willing to share ideas

    Cons

    There are no cons, had a great experience

    Advice to Management

    I don't have any advice

    Thrillist Media Group2015-10-21
  10. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thrillist Media Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friends, relaxed atmosphere, great company parties. Customer service is a tight knit group. Everyone is welcoming and willing to help each other out. I worked during the Christmas season and it was intense. They're really busy with calls and chats, and I felt overwhelmed at times. If I felt I needed help, I was always able to find a shoulder to cry on or a more experience CSR to give me advice! I loved my time here.... This job is great for a college kid looking for good hours and money.

    Show More

    Cons

    There's not much opportunity for growth within the company, though I was able to apply what I learned at my full time job.

    Advice to Management

    Be more clear about the hierarchy of the office. CSR IIs help the CSR Is with the day to day, tier two (upset client) calls, not the office executives. I feel like as lon as people know who to go to and for what/when, people would succeed more easily!

    Thrillist Media Group2015-05-04
Found 69 reviews