Thumbtack Reviews

Updated May 18, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 419 of over 461 reviews

4.3
77%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Thumbtack CEO Marco Zappacosta
Marco Zappacosta
332 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

385

57 Comments

Tech

209.6K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Thumbtack~414078
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Thumbtack and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Strong Team and Career Focused Company

    May 18, 2022 - Manager - Business Applications 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Thumbtack really values creating relationships with a strong welcoming, inclusive environment for everyone at work. There is a firm emphasis on empowering employees to take on challenging work that interests and motivates to them grow their capabilities. People are friendly and really want to provide or accept input to generate the best results regardless of whose idea it is .

    Cons

    As a Pre-IPO company we don't have a 401k match or ESPP available to us yet but otherwise the benefits and pay are very good.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Amazing people, culture, and problems to work on

    Apr 26, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Thumbtack is a great place to work. The people are talented, nice, and down-to-earth across the board. I worked there for years and liked >95% of the people I encountered, and I fundamentally believe that our founders are good people who want the best for employees and our users. The business is also incredibly interesting and complex, with hundreds of categories that each have their own types of challenges, and of course all the dynamics between pros and customers. It's super fun to build a product when there's so much complexity. Last thing I'll call out: Thumbtack has a great culture of growing and promoting people internally. I saw so many people grow into more senior roles while I was there, and for the most part, managers at Thumbtack are supportive and reasonable.

    Cons

    Thumbtack has had pretty volatile growth -- sometimes really strong, sometimes weak -- and the company doesn't seem to understand/control the real drivers of the business. I'm skeptical that there's really a vision/strategy that we're confident will drive sustainable growth. Related to volatile growth, there have been many waves of attrition, largely due to some combination of burnout and more attractive opportunities at other companies with better growth trajectories. Attrition then drives more burn-out for existing employees. I'd say this was more a problem for managers, directors, and above, but it affected everyone to some extent.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Thumbtack Response

    Social Media Support Manager

    Thanks for writing such a thorough review. We appreciate the impact you made at Thumbtack.

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best Place to Work!

    May 17, 2022 - Recruiting Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Thumbtack cares about it’s people and wants everyone to feel happy and comfortable. Management is very transparent and will answer any question you have and values differing opinions. Plus you have incredible quarterly retreats, unlimited PTO (but they actually want you to use it), and a week long, company wide summer shut down. I

    Cons

    As Thumbtack becomes bigger and bigger, it can be harder to move up in positions.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work full of mission-driven, intellectual people

    Dec 23, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Thumbtack is a really great company with a very strong culture and an obsessive focus on improving itself. Everyone from the engineers to the recruiters to the operations teams are approachable, curious, humble, dedicated to learning, and fun to talk with. The product makes a difference in people's lives and the opportunity is huge, which makes the environment exciting and the work satisfying. Decisions from hires to product changes to ad buys are made in a very thoughtful, rigorous manner, but bad decisions are owned up to and abandoned quickly. Very little ego or politics within the company, as everyone seems committed to making the best decisions to help the team, and working hard to make that decision making process as analytically rigorous and free from bias as possible. As a start up there are many opportunities for team members to contribute and expand their horizons and leadership offers support for people to figure out and implement new things. I love coming to work here.

    Cons

    The relentlessly thoughtful decision making process means that the company can move more slowly than it perhaps should at times. Engineer hiring has proven to be a major bottleneck due to absurdly high standards for new hires. As a result, teams that could get by with less than world-class engineers are left without any engineering resources at all. Also as a result the product has simple, glaring flaws that go left unaddressed, and there are clearly areas of the company set up years ago that have been given no thought in a while as attention is focused elsewhere. Huge opportunity for new hires to fix these things and help this company realize its potential.

    Continue reading
    180 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Thumbtack is great

    May 10, 2022 - Sales in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits are great & WFH

    Cons

    There is no 401k Match

    1 person found this review helpful

    Thumbtack Response

    Social Media Support Manager

    Thanks for the feedback, we'll be sure to pass it along. We're happy you're enjoying your time at Thumbtack.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great company culture

    Apr 19, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great perks, transparent management, great remote work culture

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Thumbtack Response

    Social Media Support Manager

    Thanks for all of your work at Thumbtack over the years. We're lucky to have you.

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good place to be

    May 12, 2022 - Senior Operations Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, flexibility, fair compensation, and cares about family balance

    Cons

    Fast paced, rapidly changing, remote only work

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Thumbtack Response

    Social Media Support Manager

    Thank you for the impact you've made at Thumbtack over the years. We're happy to hear about your experience.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    happy as a clam

    Apr 11, 2022 - Content Strategist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -work culture is pretty great -clever colleagues that know how to collaborate -decent pay considering it's a small shop

    Cons

    -lots of departures -unclear upper management

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Thumbtack Response

    Social Media Support Manager

    Thanks for the kind words! We're so happy to have you here at Thumbtack.

  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Overworked and underpaid

    Mar 24, 2022 - Trust and Safety Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong sense of community, loved the team.

    Cons

    The expectations Thumbtack had for its employees are unrealistic, to say the least. It felt like no matter how hard you tried, no matter how much overtime you worked, there was no way to meet the standards they set for employee success. On top of that, very little opportunities for growth and development exist. It was hard constantly providing the same feedback about the issues with expectations only to be met with no change and watch everyone around me burn out.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Thumbtack Response

    Social Media Support Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your time working at Thumbtack. We'll ensure that this gets passed along to leadership and wish you the best of luck.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Awesome Place to Work

    Apr 11, 2022 - Marketing Operations Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, diversity, inclusion, benefits, growth

    Cons

    As of writing. Thumbtack is still polishing their virtual work environment.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Thumbtack Response

    Social Media Support Manager

    We appreciate the time you've spent at Thumbtack and the impact you've made. Keep it up!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 419 Reviews

Thumbtack Reviews FAQs

Thumbtack has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 461 reviews left anonymously by employees. 77% of employees would recommend working at Thumbtack to a friend and 79% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 6% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Thumbtack employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Thumbtack. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

77% of Thumbtack employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Thumbtack 4.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.4 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Thumbtack to be senior leadership, culture, benefits and the cons to be management, career development.

Popular Careers with Thumbtack Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Thumbtack? Share Your Experiences

or