Cover image for Thumbtack
Logo

Thumbtack

Engaged Employer

Thumbtack

Add a Review

Thumbtack Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 456 of over 499 reviews
4.3
83% Recommend to a Friend
Thumbtack CEO Marco Zappacosta
91% Approve of CEO

Found 456 of over 499 reviews

4.3
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Thumbtack CEO Marco Zappacosta
Marco Zappacosta
356 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

494

70 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Thumbtack and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great company!

    Nov 14, 2022 - Sourcer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits and perks, fully remote.

    Cons

    Pay was slightly lower than I expected.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Incredible Place to Work

    Oct 18, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been really impressed by Thumbtack in the less than one year I have been working here. The company truly cares about its employees, offering opportunities to connect on a deeper level in person at offsites and virtually through fun and meaningful events. The company is constantly soliciting feedback to grow and improve as an employer. I feel that my voice is valued, heard, and included in decisions.

    Cons

    I don't have a lot of complaints. No 401(k) match is probably the main con.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Thumbtack Response

    Social Media Support Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We're so happy to hear all of the great things you had to say about working at Thumbtack.

  3. Join the Thumbtack team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Good Company

    Oct 17, 2022 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    PTO and benefits are good.

    Cons

    Management favors certain reps and it’s a boys club.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Thumbtack Response

    Social Media Support Manager

    We appreciate the feedback!

  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    A great company to work for

    Nov 1, 2022 - Software Engineering Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent work life balance Team building activities

    Cons

    Layoffs are rare but difficult

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee

    The Never Ending PIP

    Oct 28, 2022 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Off-sites were amazing. Benefits were also way above average. Specifically the medical insurance and PTO.

    Cons

    There are SO MANY ways to be put on a performance improvement plan and once you’re on one, it’ll take MONTHS until you can feel secure again. Management made a ton of changes at once and the outbound team flopped hard. Managers will tell you to not worry, that they can’t put half the sales team on a PIP and you’ll be totally fine. But then when you don’t hit their unreasonable quota on the month they made some gnarly changes, they’ll fire you. Hit 100% of quota the month prior? Forget about it, doesn’t matter. They’ve been talking about going public for quite some time. In doing so, they need to become profitable. To achieve that, what better way than to greatly reduce staff - especially the sales team that they scaled way too quickly in 2022.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Thumbtack Response

    Social Media Support Manager

    We're very sorry to hear about your experience at Thumbtack. Your feedback is very important to hear and we'll ensure that this gets passed a long to the appropriate teams.

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Solid sales opportunity

    Oct 25, 2022 - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, culture, people Commission potential is good

    Cons

    Salary could be higher A lot of change

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Thumbtack Response

    Social Media Support Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Thumbtack. We appreciate your feedback!

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Best company

    Oct 7, 2022 - Marketplace Trust and Safety Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - remote work support - WFH setup - awesome colleagues and managers - great culture

    Cons

    None so far I've been having a great time with them.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Thumbtack Response

    Social Media Support Manager

    This is so great to hear! Thanks for the impact you've made at Thumbtack over the years.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company Culture, actually live out values

    Sep 23, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company actually lives out their values and stick to them. They get referenced regularly during calls

    Cons

    Still growing pains from start up years

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Thumbtack Response

    Social Media Support Manager

    We're happy that you're enjoying your time at Thumbtack so far. Keep up the great work.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Loving it so far!

    Sep 23, 2022 - Trust and Safety Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Make my own schedule Supportive team

    Cons

    Low pay compared to this role in other tech companies

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Thumbtack Response

    Social Media Support Manager

    We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us.

  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent Culture - Bottom Up

    Sep 11, 2022 - Senior Technical Recruiter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    TT has wonderful senior leadership that lets the team breathe and create with lots of freedom. Communication is very open and thoughtful. It's a low-ego environment.

    Cons

    Downleveling is a theme in tech, in general. Not my favorite part of TT.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Thumbtack Response

    Social Media Support Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of working at Thumbtack. Thanks for all of your hard work!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 456 Reviews
</>Embed

Thumbtack Reviews FAQs

Thumbtack has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 499 reviews left anonymously by employees. 83% of employees would recommend working at Thumbtack to a friend and 79% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 6% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Thumbtack employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Thumbtack. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

83% of Thumbtack employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Thumbtack 4.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Thumbtack to be culture, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be management, senior leadership, career development.

Popular Careers with Thumbtack Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Thumbtack? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Thumbtack Photos

+ Add Photo
Thumbtack photo of: Camp Thumbtack
Thumbtack photo of: Thumbtack's Values
Thumbtack photo of: Camp Thumbtack
Thumbtack photo of: Choose teamwork
Thumbtack photo of: Camp Thumbtack
Thumbtack photo of: Camp Thumbtack
Thumbtack photo of: San Francisco Local Community Event
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Thumbtack Job Seekers Also Viewed

Block Logo
Block

4.0

1,137 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 499 Thumbtack reviews submitted anonymously by Thumbtack employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Thumbtack is right for you.