Thumbtack "culinary team" Reviews | Glassdoor

Thumbtack Employee Reviews about "culinary team"

Updated Dec 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
98%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Thumbtack CEO Marco Zappacosta
Marco Zappacosta
231 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent vacation time with good work-life balance(in 29 reviews)

  • "The culinary team is amazing (3 homemade meals a day, can't beat it(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are little to no significant cons to working here, other than growing pains are causing parking to become an issue(in 25 reviews)

  • "They don't offer any 401K matching(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "culinary team"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A wonderful place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culinary team is amazing (3 homemade meals a day, can't beat it!), a lot of autonomy, a mission you can get behind and a team that works hard but also has a lot of fun.

    Cons

    I don't have any negative things to say about working here.

    Thumbtack2019-11-14

    Thumbtack Response

    November 15, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    So much love for this review! It's so great to be apart of a team that trusts you and believes in having lots of fun. :) Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts on this platform. We really appreciate the honesty.

    Continue reading
  2. "Wonderful people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thumbtack full-time

    Pros

    - Authentic CEO who knows how to take care of people and also make tough business decisions (not one of the bombastic sociopaths you typically find in that role) - Best culinary team in the Bay Area tech scene - Almost all coworkers are nice to work with and worthy of making personal connections with - Excellent work-life balance. You can make time for life outside work and take generous time off to recharge, travel etc - Great office location in SF

    Cons

    - Frequent major product changes on professionals side make it confusing for both customers and employees - Slower revenue growth than desired - Rank-and-file need more confidence on path to long term success - Good but not magical product; low brand awareness

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2019-12-01

    Thumbtack Response

    December 3, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    We really appreciate you leaving us this review! There's always room for improvement, and you gave some great feedback. We wish you the best in your future career. :)

    Continue reading
  3. "Strong Company with a Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Team Lead in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great benefits - Culinary team that provides breakfast and lunch - Open environment that endorses interdepartmental communication - Opportunity for growth - Great team focused culture with a collaborative environment - Leaders are always looking out for their team members and doing all they can to make sure the individual finds success in the company - No "sales bro" environment , everyone works as a team and looks out for one another. No one is trying to go behind another's back to get the sale. Very honest and collaborative environment - Work life balance is great; when you're home you're home

    Cons

    - Thumbtack is always evolving and bettering their product, so you have to be able to adapt to new sales processes. If you are very strong willed and aren't open to changing your routine, then this might not be the job for you

    Thumbtack2019-10-09

    Thumbtack Response

    October 21, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    "Work life balance is great; when you're home you're home". This is what we work so hard for. We want people to enjoy themselves when they come to work ... and enjoy themselves when they get to go home! Thanks for the love.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work, learn, and have impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great culture (flexible work hours, and friendly people) - Amazing culinary team. Food that manages to be healthy, diverse and delicious. - Impactful projects - Positive future prospects (I might be biased but I think we have a clear edge over our competitors in the long run)

    Cons

    Not much to think of.

    Thumbtack2019-07-17

    Thumbtack Response

    July 22, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    This is what we love to hear! If you ever have anything you think we could improve on, please send it our way.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great Place to Work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture at Thumbtack is Inclusive, open and supportive. Btw, culinary team is awesome.

    Cons

    The only thing is the 401k.

    Thumbtack2019-06-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Listen to your customer and organizational problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Thumbtack full-time

    Pros

    - Potentially a good product but lots of people problem - Good food! thank you Culinary team. - Iterative process - Feedback culture (this depends on the team) - Good benefits

    Cons

    - Slow career progress when your projects have less visibility (even when you work hard) - Leadership talks about the same thing in different words. - Leadership speaks ill of other team members to their direct reports. Not a good culture. This happens a lot in product org. - There is definitely a gender PAY GAP. When a male coworker joined, he shared his salary which was absurdly higher than equal level female peer. - Feedback cycle pertains a lot of criticism rather than recommendation (believe it or not from your managers). This will affect your performance. - When feedback is given to the leadership, usually the next steps/solutions are very unclear and you won't see improvements - Tendency to hire junior-mid level people and promote them to become lead and manager. - Severe lack of soft skills which introduces lots of people problems.

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2019-05-15

    Thumbtack Response

    May 22, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience. We do our best to stay competitive as a company and perform competitive, comprehensive analyses to determine the compensation of current and future team members. We strive to ensure that everyone feels challenged and motivated within the roles. HR has been notified of your feedback.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Life at Thumbtack"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thumbtack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Super engaged team all around- entire org is built on a culture of support. Everyone is always willing to do what they can to help. Awesome Work/Life balance. Amazing in-house culinary team.

    Cons

    Management sometimes makes VERY POOR decisions without really thinking about how that will affect everyone else. Company did not value the recruiting team until it started falling apart. No raises or compensation adjustments. Lots of placating to buy themselves time only to waste the time of the employee.

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2019-05-08

    Thumbtack Response

    May 16, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share that feedback with us. We value our employees and do our best to stay competitive as a company and perform competitive, comprehensive analyses to determine the compensation of current and future team members. HR has been notified of your feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Thumbtack is such an amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time

    Pros

    I have so many pros when thinking about my experience so far at Thumbtack. Below are a few that stand out when I reflect on my time here: - A collaborative, open-minded culture - Humble, intelligent, and kind coworkers - Meaningful work -- an opportunity to help small businesses grow and solve super complex yet interesting challenges - An incredible culinary team that prepares amazing food and meals for Thumbtack employees - A good work / life balance - Transparent management

    Cons

    No 401k matching offered at the moment and more people need to know about and use Thumbtack! Overall, I have so many pros when thinking about my time at this company and so very few cons -- it is an incredible place to work!

    Thumbtack2018-12-03
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Standing on quick sand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thumbtack

    Pros

    The culinary team prepares world class meals Pockets of very smart, very talented people

    Cons

    Conservative approach to risk taking Overstatement of company success Cord team is junior and doesn’t have a vision Some leaders are in stretch roles where they’re failing and no action is taken People like the culture because it’s easy

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2018-11-28
  10. Helpful (4)

    "There are some issues with the cultures that go unnoticed from the inside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - I'm normally not really a big fan of the free food perk, but at Thumbtack, the culinary team really outdoes itself compare to the other companies. - The company makes an effort to be respectful towards LGBT employees. - You realize how much impact you have when you look at the changing lives of independent professionals who use Thumbtack.

    Cons

    - Remember that awkward scene in the movie "Social Network", where Zuckerberg wears his headphone on, and nobody is allowed to approach him because he's in "the zone". Well someone at Thumbtack thought it was cool and turned that into a policy. Now it becomes the norm to have to message the coworker sitting right next to you to ask a question, because they wear their headphones on. - At some point, someone pointed out that employees should clean after themselves and not leave their mugs behind. Nothing wrong with that, but suddenly several employees started jumping the bandwagon, then we'd regularly see some public shaming on Slack, with attached pictures of unattended mugs. To me that's just weird.

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2018-09-11

    Thumbtack Response

    September 12, 2018Social Media Support Manager

    We're incredibly sorry to hear this was your experience and appreciate you taking the time to voice it. Company culture is important. We want to hear when it's working and when it's not. We've shared this with the appropriate teams.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 21 reviews