KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Thumbtack

Is this your company?

Thumbtack

Add a Review

Thumbtack Employee Reviews about "culinary team"

Updated Jul 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 of over 408 reviews

4.0
72%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Thumbtack CEO Marco Zappacosta
Marco Zappacosta
321 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company really cares about employee welfare and work life balance(in 37 reviews)

  • "The in-house culinary team (though they were laid off)(in 23 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "As the company grows there are also some growing pains(in 25 reviews)

  • "They don't offer any 401K matching(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Thumbtack

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Thumbtack and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "culinary team"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A wonderful place to work!

      Nov 14, 2019 - Executive Assistant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culinary team is amazing (3 homemade meals a day, can't beat it!), a lot of autonomy, a mission you can get behind and a team that works hard but also has a lot of fun.

      Cons

      I don't have any negative things to say about working here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Thumbtack Response

      Social Media Support Manager

      So much love for this review! It's so great to be apart of a team that trusts you and believes in having lots of fun. :) Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts on this platform. We really appreciate the honesty.

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Incompetent Leadership, Hypocritical Culture -> Ship is Sinking

      Jul 8, 2020 - Undisclosed 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - When times were good pre-2020, Thumbtack cultivated a culture of transparency, humility, and work-life balance. - All my managers for the most part prioritized my professional development and supported me to do my job in a fulfilling way. - Most of my coworkers were a pleasure to work with. There wasn't as much politics as other companies at my level due to some good operating processes set up. - The onsite meals were great and the culinary team was world-class.

      Cons

      But a company's true character shows when times are tough, and Thumbtack completely failed the test. In a founder-CEO company, the true color of company morals is usually a manifestation of the character of the CEO, and I am extremely disappointed how Marco handled the last few months. While Marco had issues pre-pandemic (most prominently, his inability to put together a good executive team and broker cohesion amongst them), I still believed that his overall capability and moral compass would guide Thumbtack through ups and downs. I was wrong: - The covid layoff was a disaster and you can read more about it in the previous reviews. 3 months later both former and current employees are still reeling. Go compare how you handled the layoff to how Brian Chesky handled the Airbnb layoff, night and day difference. Just go read Airbnb's Glassdoor reviews around the same time frame and you will see laid off employees not nearly as scarred. - The icing on the cake is laying off the entire DEI team. Then when BLM protests happened, trying to claim in a public blog post diversity and inclusion is top priority and that they would prioritize hiring DEI folks, without mentioning that they actually laid off the entire DEI team just a couple months ago. Utter hypocrisy. - A lot of the executive team are not qualified. They can't get along with each other. And they keep leaving or keep getting fired. This again illustrates the incompetence of the CEO: -> 4 CPOs over a few years with the last one getting straight up laid off. I think Marco doesn't know how to have a CPO and needs full control over the product. -> No one on the executive team has stayed for more than 3-4 years. The last few years saw complete turnover of the exec team. The current CTO, who's actually qualified, just quit. -> Unqualified people keep getting put onto the exec team. Just one example, the current head of Design has never worked as a Product Designer, but rather a User Researcher and was in school only a few year ago.

      Continue reading
      25 people found this review helpful

      Thumbtack Response

      Social Media Support Manager

      We appreciate your honest feedback as this is how we grow here at thumbtack. We understand we lost your trust during COVID-19 and how the layoffs were handled. Your feedback has been passed along to make sure we’re building a culture based on trust and transparency. We also take DEI very seriously and hiring that team back is one of our top priorities. We truly wish you the best in your future career and thank you for all the time and effort you put into your position with us here at Thumbtack.

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The most disappointing end possible.

      May 15, 2020 - Product in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The in-house culinary team (though they were laid off) The in-house employee resource group leads (though they were laid off)

      Cons

      Unfortunately, Thumbtack laid off about 250 people. Yes, that’s happening everywhere and it was a necessary business decision, but the way it was delivered was not good. Employees were left scrambling to call their managers and peers trying to figure out what next steps were after being let go. Computers were shut off within minutes (we weren’t told they would be cutoff so quickly, no time for goodbyes) and we barely got 3 weeks of pay and about 4 weeks of health insurance. So many teams, and we’re given absolutely zero details on who they decided to cut. Even executives and long-tenured employees CHOSE to leave alongside those layed-off. I’m not even sure if there’s a recruiting team there anymore but I imagine Thumbtack is no longer a “best workplace”.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful

      Thumbtack Response

      Social Media Support Manager

      We appreciate you being transparent with us and sharing your experience. Having to remotely say goodbye to 250 team members was a decision we had to make due to COVID-19 and it was an extremely hard decision. We support all former employees in their future endeavors, and wish you the best. Thank you for this feedback.

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Wonderful people!

      Dec 1, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Authentic CEO who knows how to take care of people and also make tough business decisions (not one of the bombastic sociopaths you typically find in that role) - Best culinary team in the Bay Area tech scene - Almost all coworkers are nice to work with and worthy of making personal connections with - Excellent work-life balance. You can make time for life outside work and take generous time off to recharge, travel etc - Great office location in SF

      Cons

      - Frequent major product changes on professionals side make it confusing for both customers and employees - Slower revenue growth than desired - Rank-and-file need more confidence on path to long term success - Good but not magical product; low brand awareness

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Thumbtack Response

      Social Media Support Manager

      We really appreciate you leaving us this review! There's always room for improvement, and you gave some great feedback. We wish you the best in your future career. :)

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Strong Company with a Great Culture

      Oct 9, 2019 - Sales Team Lead in Draper, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great benefits - Culinary team that provides breakfast and lunch - Open environment that endorses interdepartmental communication - Opportunity for growth - Great team focused culture with a collaborative environment - Leaders are always looking out for their team members and doing all they can to make sure the individual finds success in the company - No "sales bro" environment , everyone works as a team and looks out for one another. No one is trying to go behind another's back to get the sale. Very honest and collaborative environment - Work life balance is great; when you're home you're home

      Cons

      - Thumbtack is always evolving and bettering their product, so you have to be able to adapt to new sales processes. If you are very strong willed and aren't open to changing your routine, then this might not be the job for you

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Thumbtack Response

      Social Media Support Manager

      "Work life balance is great; when you're home you're home". This is what we work so hard for. We want people to enjoy themselves when they come to work ... and enjoy themselves when they get to go home! Thanks for the love.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work, learn, and have impact

      Jul 17, 2019 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great culture (flexible work hours, and friendly people) - Amazing culinary team. Food that manages to be healthy, diverse and delicious. - Impactful projects - Positive future prospects (I might be biased but I think we have a clear edge over our competitors in the long run)

      Cons

      Not much to think of.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Thumbtack Response

      Social Media Support Manager

      This is what we love to hear! If you ever have anything you think we could improve on, please send it our way.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to Work at

      Jun 3, 2019 - Product Analyst in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture at Thumbtack is Inclusive, open and supportive. Btw, culinary team is awesome.

      Cons

      The only thing is the 401k.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Listen to your customer and organizational problems

      May 15, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Potentially a good product but lots of people problem - Good food! thank you Culinary team. - Iterative process - Feedback culture (this depends on the team) - Good benefits

      Cons

      - Slow career progress when your projects have less visibility (even when you work hard) - Leadership talks about the same thing in different words. - Leadership speaks ill of other team members to their direct reports. Not a good culture. This happens a lot in product org. - There is definitely a gender PAY GAP. When a male coworker joined, he shared his salary which was absurdly higher than equal level female peer. - Feedback cycle pertains a lot of criticism rather than recommendation (believe it or not from your managers). This will affect your performance. - When feedback is given to the leadership, usually the next steps/solutions are very unclear and you won't see improvements - Tendency to hire junior-mid level people and promote them to become lead and manager. - Severe lack of soft skills which introduces lots of people problems.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Thumbtack Response

      Social Media Support Manager

      Thanks for sharing your experience. We do our best to stay competitive as a company and perform competitive, comprehensive analyses to determine the compensation of current and future team members. We strive to ensure that everyone feels challenged and motivated within the roles. HR has been notified of your feedback.

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Life at Thumbtack

      May 8, 2019 - Senior Technical Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Super engaged team all around- entire org is built on a culture of support. Everyone is always willing to do what they can to help. Awesome Work/Life balance. Amazing in-house culinary team.

      Cons

      Management sometimes makes VERY POOR decisions without really thinking about how that will affect everyone else. Company did not value the recruiting team until it started falling apart. No raises or compensation adjustments. Lots of placating to buy themselves time only to waste the time of the employee.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Thumbtack Response

      Social Media Support Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to share that feedback with us. We value our employees and do our best to stay competitive as a company and perform competitive, comprehensive analyses to determine the compensation of current and future team members. HR has been notified of your feedback.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Thumbtack is such an amazing place to work!

      Dec 3, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have so many pros when thinking about my experience so far at Thumbtack. Below are a few that stand out when I reflect on my time here: - A collaborative, open-minded culture - Humble, intelligent, and kind coworkers - Meaningful work -- an opportunity to help small businesses grow and solve super complex yet interesting challenges - An incredible culinary team that prepares amazing food and meals for Thumbtack employees - A good work / life balance - Transparent management

      Cons

      No 401k matching offered at the moment and more people need to know about and use Thumbtack! Overall, I have so many pros when thinking about my time at this company and so very few cons -- it is an incredible place to work!

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Thumbtack Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Thumbtack? Share Your Experiences

    or